We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place, LOVED it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Miranda

Locanda Miranda
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Tellaro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place, LOVED it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Incredible dishes, beautiful atmosphere, perfect service.
There's nothing I didn't like about this place. Best meal we had in Lerici area!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    16
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refined dining and wonderful seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We first dined at this restaurant 12 years ago and have always wanted to return. Our second visit did not disappoint. Set in the lovely, ancient little village of Tellaro, the Locanda Miranda also offers very nice rooms. A family tradition since 1959, the cooking is sophisticated and is inspired by the sea. We both had the tasting menu at 40 euros and enjoyed four wonderful courses.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fivizzano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We live in Italy and we are great lovers of good food. Visited here with two friends for evening meal. Antipasto was 50 euros per person so we expected something very good, the first dish we sent back, it was inedible far too salty, no comment from the staff, three more very tiny dishes followed and they were nothing special. The seafood risotto, again very overpriced was very unexceptional, for al dente read raw! The grilled fish was expensive but good but a very small portion and the deserts were very dull. Bread served with the meal was very stale, totally inedible. Wine was mediocre but the bill was enormous! We ate from the a la carte menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Staplet0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Star food in Tellaro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Locanda Miranda is the kind of restaurant you don't run into too often these days. Located in the small village of Tellaro, it's been run for several decades by the owner couple - becoming of age but still participating actively in the work of the restaurant.

The three fixed price tasting menus seemed to be of great value - ranging from 30-50 EUR. We chose the medium sized, since we wanted to try a variety of dishes, and the one complaint one could have is the size of the menu: you could easily feed two people on one portion (but the food is so good that you won't let anybody even taste).

Locanda Miranda is a seaside restaurant, and hence only serves seafood. Amongst the delicacies was a polenta (maize poudding) with a steam cooked scampi.

The wine recommended was a (surprisingly) cheap local wine, of decent standard. However, if we have the chance to visit Locanda Miranda again, we'll try some more extravagant wine, to balance the complexity of the food, which goes way beyond what you normally get in restaurants in Italy.

As far as I know, the restaurant has a star in the Guide Micheline - something it really deserves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank In_btwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Miranda also viewed

Tellaro, Province of La Spezia
Tellaro, Province of La Spezia
 
Tellaro, Province of La Spezia
Tellaro, Province of La Spezia
 

Been to Locanda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing