We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“delightful B+ B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Mimosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelvetrano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Mimosa
Save
You added Villa Mimosa to your Saves list
Johannesburg, south africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delightful B+ B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Jackie was a charming and delightful hostess.Delicious fresh breads and pastries delivered for breakfast on your own lovely patio. Fridges packed with all one needed for a delicious start to the day. Quirky, comfortable rooms with small,well stocked kitchenette. Set in a charming garden amidst olive groves, perfectly positioned for visiting Selinunte and the beaches around Marinella

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvdb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We recently spent a week here and loved every minute of it. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was also well equipped with all the basics, should we have wanted to cook. The house is in a delightful setting with olive trees and orange trees and it was wonderful to sit in the secret garden and enjoy the tranquillity. Jackie is a most helpful host, always willing to advise on places to go or give vital information about the Sicilian way of life. Following her advice we dined in some excellent restaurants, but the most memorable meal was with Jackie, Andrew and Margaret in Jackie's charming sitting room. As well as being so close to Selinunte the villa is well situated for lots of excursions. We went to the ruins at Segesta and the towns of Mazara, Marsala, Trapani and of course Castelvetrano. With more time we could easily have visited Sciacca, Agrigento and Palermo. Perhaps next time!

Room Tip: As my husband is very tall we chose the room with the extra large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lovely base to explore this beautiful region of Sicily; we were able to immerse ourselves in the drammatic history of Selinunte, enjoy local restaurants recommended by Jackie and adjust to the slow pace and the quiet of the region which was still quite warm in late October. Jackie is a lovely host, so many nice touches to enjoy and enlightening conversations to help us engage and appreciate Sicilian culture. We would have liked to stay longer but have been left with an appetite to return. Thanks Jackie.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobShipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had the most amazing 2 weeks at Villa Mimosa. Beautiful villa, beautifully decorated rooms with traditional Sicilian decor. Jackie is an amazing host, warm and welcoming you could not ask for more. Breakfast every morning with delicious breads & pastries, all locally sourced. Off the beaten track, but you see the real Sicily, and still not too far from some beautiful beaches, resturants & bars.

Room Tip: The Demeter room was so beautiful & homely, i would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Absolutely beautiful gardens, with a lovely veranda to sit and enjoy the scenery on warm sicilian evenings. The apartment was quaint with everthing you need, there was fresh fruit in the bowl and we had fresh pastries every morning which was a lovely treat :-) Selinunte is short car drive (approx 5-10mins) which has a stunning beach in a nature park about a 10 minute walk up from the busier beach. The town itself is lovely with an amazing ice-cream bar called Mozarts which I'd say is a must, and there's also the Penguin Bar which we spent many an afternoon in. After my afternoon siesta we enjoyed our late night socialising in Selinunte where the shops re-open for the night and theres plenty of stalls, we visited a pizzeria called Bruno's (Africa) which had amazing made in front of you pizza's in a traditional stone pizza oven (with a choice of chocolate pizza which went down great with the kids) there is plenty of choice for restaurants. I've visited villa mimosa several times and have always been warmly welcomed and looked after. I am looking forward to my trip next year for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie-Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had the warmest welcome from Jackie on arriving at Villa Mimosa on a gorgeous sunny day. Our suite, Demeter (twin bedded) was filled with the biggest bouquet of flowers and a huge bowl of fresh fruit - the fridge and cupboards were well stocked with the basics and by our beds beautiful posies which I assume were cuttings that were taken from the gardens. Outside our front door was a vine covered canope under which we would sit for breakfast and one night, dinner. Villa Mimosa is set in stunning surroundings of orange groves and is the perfect place to stay if you're looking to visit not only Selinute but Mazara del Vallo, Marsala and even Segesta.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hen3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Villa Mimosa is beautiful - the rooms are individual, typically Sicilian in their decor - and extremely comfortable. The little kitchen area was well-stocked and equipped and it was such a delight to wake up to freshly-baked Sicilian pastries - that Jackie so kindly provided each morning. A little off the beaten track - but worth it for the peace, serenity and unique-ness of villa. You'll need a hire car but it's a very easy drive from Palermo Airport. Selinunte is just 10 mins drive away and lovely resort, which appeals mostly to Italians, and the temple ruins are a must see. The beach is great and the little fishing port lively. Every mouth-full of food we tasted here was exquisite - it did help that Jackie told us all the best restaurants to go to, as she's friendly with most locals!

Room Tip: Just ask Jackie which room Amanda & Sam stayed in (the middle one on the ground floor I think!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvetrano
50.8 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
5.8 mi away
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epoca
Il Cuore di Dioniso Dimora D'Epo...
#3 of 12 in Marinella di Selinunte
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Althea Palace Hotel
Althea Palace Hotel
#7 of 19 in Castelvetrano
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baglio Vecchio Agriturismo
Baglio Vecchio Agriturismo
#6 of 19 in Castelvetrano
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
6.4 mi away
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
#2 of 16 in Castelvetrano
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Sogno Charme e Relax Selinunte
Villa Sogno Charme e Relax Selin...
#1 of 10 in Marinella di Selinunte
5.0 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mimosa

Property: Villa Mimosa
Address: Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Castelvetrano
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mimosa is set in olive and orange groves a short drive from the wonderful archaelogical site of Selinunte and several beautiful beaches. Three studio apartments open onto a shady pergola at the back of the house. A larger apartment, with a balcony, is located on the first floor. Each has a fully equipped kitchen, stocked with breakfast requirements and shower room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Mimosa Sicily/Castelvetrano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing