We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby, disgusting... Hostel standard.... 5 star prices”
Review of Hotel Loch Altan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Loch Altan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grubby, disgusting... Hostel standard.... 5 star prices”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I'm writing this review in the hotel while sitting on the bed afraid to touch off the itchy blanket covered in someone elses hair...
I went to go for a shower and more hair (not mine) stuck to the tiles... While showering the tray started to fill up because the drain was clogged... Reached for my towel and found it on this plastic shelf thing covered in dust.... Was afraid to walk into my room on the carpet because there was stains all over it.
Just before I hopped on this bed I had to pull off this satin dated bed cover that looks like its never been washed... I go to turn on the tv- no channels.
Nightmare of a place... I've stayed in hostels nicer than this...
Anyways I'm going to try to sleep. It'll be hard because all I can hear is Joe Dolan songs being played very loudly downstairs...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LellikellyxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    81
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
56
123
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We used Groupon for this trip, and the value for money was excellent. The friendly staff from the 1st phone call to the bar/restaurant staff, to checking out, was wonderful, so helpful and pleasant. The food was very good both in the restauarant and at the bar. Great music and craic, fabulous weekend. Thankyou to all concerned. Also recommend the Glamour Beauty Salon just down the road.Fab!

Room Tip: Choose a corner suite if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always do their best to make all our guests and customers feel welcome and make sure that they are well looked after.
We were also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food, our kitchen staff work very hard to make sure that our guests and customers get delicious food on every occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Seán McElwee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for the Gallagher Gathering last week which was centred on this hotel. Food was ok but service was poor and no reflection on the staff serving dinners or bar tending. They were simply overrun and required so much support which was clearly lacking and with limited management attention. One waitress must have served over 100 meals on 11th September 2013- so unfair but she kept smiling and is a credit to herself. Bartender overworked too but how this hotel can welcome people from all over the world with a skeleton staff is disgraceful and a poor reflection on hotel management.

Food was ok but spoiled by delayed service through poor staffing levels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Óstán Loch Altan. We regret that your experience was not a very pleasant one on this occasion. On that Wednesday evening we anticipated serving barfood to approximately 60 people between the hours of 5-9pm which is not higher than the usual Wednesday evening number. However, we did not anticipate the huge number that came, just over 120 people and the majority of them came between 7.30-9.00pm.
It is very difficult to judge how many customers may arrive for barfood on any particular day. We try and anticipate the demand. We got it wrong on this occasion and we apologise for your bad experience.
We hope that you will come back soon and that we will offer better service on that occasion.

Seán McElwee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came here on a Groupon Deal and checked in without a hitch even though when had asked for a lough view room was given one looking out at a raised felt roof - but moved when asked. To be fair the receptionist was new. The ladies cleaning the rooms were also more than helpful in assisting us to relocate.
On entry to the room it was like entering a time warp, though it appeared clean and indeed was that. I entered the bathroom and while clean, it was extremely basic and sterile and would remind one of a school dorm bath suite. No toilet roll holder and a shower curtain rather than a screen. I turned the shower on, which runs from the mains supply and while powerful enough there was no hot water at 2pm!!! I also heard grumblings from she who must be obeyed and she couldn't get the television to operate! I went to the reception and the receptionist called upon the older of the two charming cleaning ladies who informed me there was no hot water in the hotel. She said she would contact the maintenance man who was in Dungloe and he apparently told her this was a frequent occurence, as it had to do with a faulty trip switch - the moral of the story for the hotel is get it fixed properly! We were told that there was also a switch that needed to be turned on to receive satellite TV. Eventually we received some channels and had a faulty remote to work with! Approximately 2 hours later the water also started to become warm. To be honest the same thing happened the following day with the hot water and I am convinced it is the hotel owner trying to save a few pennies at the expense of guests comforts.
The corridors and landing areas of the hotel and if the room we stayed in is anything to go by need a severe make over as they are grubby with stained carpets and scruffy paint work. The latter has nothing to do with cleanliness and is outside of the scope of the cleaning staff. It is an issue the owners need to address.
To cap it off the beds have quilts and brown scratchy blankets like those one would remember from the 50's and 60's. Seriously there is a need for the hotel to be brought into the current era.
Breakfast in the hotel while limited was of a decent quality and once again staff here were pleasant.
On checking out the receptionist said 180 euros please and I was dumbfounded not because she had made a slight error not knowing that we had been on a Groupon deal, but from the sheer fact how this shoddy hotel could charge a rate of 90 euro a night for a double room with breakfast when you would only pay roughly the same for the Radisson Blu or Staton House hotels in Letterkenny, which are of a far far superior quality to the Ostan Loch Altan.
A poor experience and only one, which was bearable because of the staff who any of whom we had contact with were pleasant, helpful and courteous. It is the very reason we have given the hotel a 3 overall because of the staff. Had it not been for the latter a one or a two would be the order of the day. This could be a great hotel in a lovely location if an effort was put in to modernise and spruce it up! OMG ditch the prison style blankets!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is with regret that we learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and that your experience was not up to your expectations.

As regards the bathrooms we pride ourselves on their cleanliness and we are pleased that you agreed.

Most hotel bathrooms that we have used have a curtain along the bath and it is regarded as much safer for the guest and is more effective at preventing water overflows. As regards the hot water it is timed as is the case in most hotels for obvious reasons. Our hot water is timed to be warm for 14 hours each day, we feel this is reasonable and compares favourably with most other 3 star hotels. We wonder if even the 5 star hotels could afford 24 hour hot water supply.

We are constantly maintaining the premises and we have a full time caretaker and painter so we feel that the premises is in good overall condition most of the time.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. The vast majority of our satisfied guests keep telling us that the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our hospitality more than compensate for any of the physical shortcomings that the building may have.

We hope that your next visit to us will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and can highly recommend it. As others have commented, bedroom furnishings are a little dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and everything very well maintained and clean. We ate in the bar on one night and despite it being very busy with locals (always a good sign), service was efficient and food was much better than what is standard for bar food. Breakfasts were also very good. There was a nice ambience to the hotel, very relaxed and all hotel staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and always met us with a smile and warm greeting this despite being frequently rushed off their feet. This is a basic hotel in terms of facilities but for the price we paid, it was fantastic value for money. I have paid much more for a lot less in Donegal. As long as guests are realistic about what they get for the price they are paying, they will not be disappointed.We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think only 2 rooms have lake views so this is not a hotel where you should expect stunning views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome your positive comments about our food and service, we have had a very busy season and it is always our intention to give the best service even during the busiest times.

Our staff work very hard and always make a point of making all our guests and customers feel welcome.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived in Gortahork and decided to call here for a late lunch.We went into the lobby had a look around.One stone faced waitress walked straight past us without a sideways glance.The receptionist just sat there without even looking up to greet us or ask if she could help.We turned around and walked straight out.This cold reception would ensure we never return.If you are looking for Donegal hospitality avoid here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We were surprised and disappointed that you found our hotel unwelcoming as the staff in our hotel continually come out on top as regards the quality of the service and the friendliness and the hospitality that they offer our guests. Your experience is certainly the exception.

We regret that you were disappointed on this occasion but we hope that your next visit to us will be more rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself & 4 other went stopped at the hotel for dinner a number of weeks ago.
Overall it was very disappointing.

The service was awful - long waits and a mix up with our order.
The food was cold & had to be sent back.

We told the receptionist when paying that we weren't fully satisfied and she told us that there were 2 weeding at the hotel that weekend & that everybody was burned out - not the response we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We regret that your experience with us was disappointing. We have had a very busy season and we admit that there were occasions when our food and service was not up to it's usual standard as our staff were under a lot of pressure. However we coped very well most of the time.

We hope that you will return and that your next visit will be more rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
21.2 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
18.3 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
418 reviews
18.3 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
296 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
14.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loch Altan

Property: Hotel Loch Altan
Address: Gortahork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Altan Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing