We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brown Woolen Scratchy Blankets!!!”
Review of Hotel Loch Altan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Loch Altan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Came here on a Groupon Deal and checked in without a hitch even though when had asked for a lough view room was given one looking out at a raised felt roof - but moved when asked. To be fair the receptionist was new. The ladies cleaning the rooms were also more than helpful in assisting us to relocate.
On entry to the room it was like entering a time warp, though it appeared clean and indeed was that. I entered the bathroom and while clean, it was extremely basic and sterile and would remind one of a school dorm bath suite. No toilet roll holder and a shower curtain rather than a screen. I turned the shower on, which runs from the mains supply and while powerful enough there was no hot water at 2pm!!! I also heard grumblings from she who must be obeyed and she couldn't get the television to operate! I went to the reception and the receptionist called upon the older of the two charming cleaning ladies who informed me there was no hot water in the hotel. She said she would contact the maintenance man who was in Dungloe and he apparently told her this was a frequent occurence, as it had to do with a faulty trip switch - the moral of the story for the hotel is get it fixed properly! We were told that there was also a switch that needed to be turned on to receive satellite TV. Eventually we received some channels and had a faulty remote to work with! Approximately 2 hours later the water also started to become warm. To be honest the same thing happened the following day with the hot water and I am convinced it is the hotel owner trying to save a few pennies at the expense of guests comforts.
The corridors and landing areas of the hotel and if the room we stayed in is anything to go by need a severe make over as they are grubby with stained carpets and scruffy paint work. The latter has nothing to do with cleanliness and is outside of the scope of the cleaning staff. It is an issue the owners need to address.
To cap it off the beds have quilts and brown scratchy blankets like those one would remember from the 50's and 60's. Seriously there is a need for the hotel to be brought into the current era.
Breakfast in the hotel while limited was of a decent quality and once again staff here were pleasant.
On checking out the receptionist said 180 euros please and I was dumbfounded not because she had made a slight error not knowing that we had been on a Groupon deal, but from the sheer fact how this shoddy hotel could charge a rate of 90 euro a night for a double room with breakfast when you would only pay roughly the same for the Radisson Blu or Staton House hotels in Letterkenny, which are of a far far superior quality to the Ostan Loch Altan.
A poor experience and only one, which was bearable because of the staff who any of whom we had contact with were pleasant, helpful and courteous. It is the very reason we have given the hotel a 3 overall because of the staff. Had it not been for the latter a one or a two would be the order of the day. This could be a great hotel in a lovely location if an effort was put in to modernise and spruce it up! OMG ditch the prison style blankets!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is with regret that we learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and that your experience was not up to your expectations.

As regards the bathrooms we pride ourselves on their cleanliness and we are pleased that you agreed.

Most hotel bathrooms that we have used have a curtain along the bath and it is regarded as much safer for the guest and is more effective at preventing water overflows. As regards the hot water it is timed as is the case in most hotels for obvious reasons. Our hot water is timed to be warm for 14 hours each day, we feel this is reasonable and compares favourably with most other 3 star hotels. We wonder if even the 5 star hotels could afford 24 hour hot water supply.

We are constantly maintaining the premises and we have a full time caretaker and painter so we feel that the premises is in good overall condition most of the time.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be helpful. The vast majority of our satisfied guests keep telling us that the friendliness of our staff and the quality of our hospitality more than compensate for any of the physical shortcomings that the building may have.

We hope that your next visit to us will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Loch Altan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 260 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and can highly recommend it. As others have commented, bedroom furnishings are a little dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and everything very well maintained and clean. We ate in the bar on one night and despite it being very busy with locals (always a good sign), service was efficient and food was much better than what is standard for bar food. Breakfasts were also very good. There was a nice ambience to the hotel, very relaxed and all hotel staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and always met us with a smile and warm greeting this despite being frequently rushed off their feet. This is a basic hotel in terms of facilities but for the price we paid, it was fantastic value for money. I have paid much more for a lot less in Donegal. As long as guests are realistic about what they get for the price they are paying, they will not be disappointed.We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think only 2 rooms have lake views so this is not a hotel where you should expect stunning views o...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome your positive comments about our food and service, we have had a very busy season and it is always our intention to give the best service even during the busiest times.

Our staff work very hard and always make a point of making all our guests and customers feel welcome.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and we wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived in Gortahork and decided to call here for a late lunch.We went into the lobby had a look around.One stone faced waitress walked straight past us without a sideways glance.The receptionist just sat there without even looking up to greet us or ask if she could help.We turned around and walked straight out.This cold reception would ensure we never return.If you are looking for Donegal hospitality avoid here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank lucytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We were surprised and disappointed that you found our hotel unwelcoming as the staff in our hotel continually come out on top as regards the quality of the service and the friendliness and the hospitality that they offer our guests. Your experience is certainly the exception.

We regret that you were disappointed on this occasion but we hope that your next visit to us will be more rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself & 4 other went stopped at the hotel for dinner a number of weeks ago.
Overall it was very disappointing.

The service was awful - long waits and a mix up with our order.
The food was cold & had to be sent back.

We told the receptionist when paying that we weren't fully satisfied and she told us that there were 2 weeding at the hotel that weekend & that everybody was burned out - not the response we were expecting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We regret that your experience with us was disappointing. We have had a very busy season and we admit that there were occasions when our food and service was not up to it's usual standard as our staff were under a lot of pressure. However we coped very well most of the time.

We hope that you will return and that your next visit will be more rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel staff friendly and rooms clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent with a good variety, however, restaurant left a lot to be desired, tables were not as clean as one would expect and the food quite bland.
Overall, we all enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and that your room was to your satisfaction.

We are very disappointed that you found the tables in our restuarant to not be as clean as you would have expected, this issue has been dealt with and should not be a problem in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon and we wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is situated in a beautiful part of donegal-with fabulous views surrounding it. Reception area is comfy and welcoming. I found the bar and dining area to be on the basic side,but clean and bright. Our bedroom was quite small, with an unfortunate view of a felt roofed section and not the lake which we had hoped for.bedroom basic but clean. Shower only in bathroom-on the small side and not much elbow room, but a nice hot power shower nonetheless. Both bathroom and bedroom very clean and well looked after on our two night stay. We ate breakfast only-a nice menu choice and a lovely, well served meal.The staff in the hotel were very helpful, polite and friendly.Gortahork is a very quiet village, with just the hotel and another small bar across the road. Not many options for dining or entertainment. Nice atmosphere in hotel bar though, and there was live traditional music on one evening (excellent musicians!)
A quiet, simple hotel with basic facilities, friendly staff and a good breakfast menu. As there is not much happening in Gortahork (at the time of this review anyway!), would recommend that you bring your car/bikes and a plan for sight seeing and touring in the surrounding areas

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, with only a view of a roof.....make enquiries about other options when boo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PayandSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very fortunate to have such beautiful surroundings and it is disappointing for you that your room did not have a suitable view, unfortunately during high season we do not have the ability to give everyone our best rooms.

We welcome your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel, our housekeeping staff work particularly hard to keep the hotel looking it's best. It is always our intention to give all our guests and customers a warm welcome and to be friendly and helpful and we are pleased that you found this to be true during your stay.

We hope that you will come to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but called in for a meal - 4 adults and 4 children. Have to say the service was very poor - food average. We arrived and requested the set menu i.e. bar food - 2 courses for 13.90 euro but left 90 minutes later having had a disappointing main course and no desert. No one approached us to take a desert order - it was poor enough waiting with 4 kids on mains for close to 45 minutes - then to be completely ignored, along with others in the dining room was just too much.Needless to say we only paid for the mains but the experience left us far from satisfied and driving into town to buy the children ice cream etc. etc. Also have to say I was disappointed to be told that Wi-Fi was only available to residents! It wasn't as if we had just called in to use the Wi-Fi! Rarely submit reviews but this experience left us all feeling less than happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank TGM1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We regret that your experience was not up to your expectations and hope that your next visit will be more satisfactory.

We serve a lot of bar food particularly at the weekends and the very nature of bar food service unlike the restaurant, is that people walk in from the street and expect quick service irrespective of how many more have arrived at the same time. We had a particularly busy season as regards guests availing of bar food this year and we have to admit that there were several days when our resources were stretched to their limits. However, we coped very well most of the time.

As regards WIFI it is for the use of residents only so as not to overload the system. In many cases it is children and teenagers that demand WIFI and could spend hours accessing social media sites while on the premises thereby interfering with those who are using the service for more pressing reasons. We make no apologies for this policy. However, there are times when we make exceptions for genuine reasons.

We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
6.2 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
27.3 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
306 reviews
10.3 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
225 reviews
35.7 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loch Altan

Address: Gortahork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Price Range: $54 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Altan Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing