We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunnng cottage in breath-taking grounds- magical.”
other travelers have booked this property
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mohill, County Leitrim, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Salmc2014
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunnng cottage in breath-taking grounds- magical.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled in stunning grounds with endless points of beauty Gramarye Cottage offered an incredibly peaceful escape from every day busy living. Rolling lawns with an abundant array of impressive shrubbery were literally breath-taking. An adventurous spirit I forgot I possessed was awoken whilst exploring the forests impressive grounds. Dormant memories of childhood sprang to life when surrounded by flowers and berries I was once so familiar with.Little pathways, quiet seating areas, a quaint stone bridge, gentle sounds of the rambling river, a chorus of tunes from a variety of birds all added to the magical experience. Then when you enter the cottage itself you can feast your eyes on all the age old authentic features of a traditional Irish Cottage. The beautiful half door, the cool flagstone flooring,the old fashioned kitchen stove,little dressers with fine bone china,handcrafted patchwork quilts,stone walls,blanket boxes,oil lamp and rocking chair. Such minute attention to detail transports you back to a time long since forgotten and yet our holiday also somehow managed to provide us with all the comforts we are accustomed to in 2014. Warm rooms, hot water,spotless fully equipped kitchen and an amazing welcome package that made the experience utterly perfect from beginning to end. We will most definitely return to Gramarye Cottage again. It was such a fabulous place.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
878Emma
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely escape from the world! My best advice is to pack some Potato gratin and then stop in the butchers in Mohill for amazing steak and one of the shops one the Main Street for banana cake. The cottage is great for just chilling out with good wine and food, enjoying peace and quiet. It's also a good base for exploring the north west. We've been here twice and hope to make it a regular visit!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2014
I'm so pleased you've enjoyed staying at our cottage. Thanks for tips on local produce we will definitely be trying them out. We've made a few improvements to the gardens since you stayed last so I hope you visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian l
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic hideaway”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in this fantastic quaint little cottage for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Everything was spotlessly clean and all the bed linen and towels etc were so fresh. perfect place for a quiet get away.

if I had to make one suggestion it would be to install a nice luxury bath.
this is not a criticism - far from it. if it was my place its about the only thing I would do

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and tranquility
Liked least: no tv or internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your liking. It really is a hideaway. I totally understand your suggestion on a luxury bath. A roll top free standing bath is on my wish list. It would be the icing on the cake!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nora470
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE PERFECT GETAWAY”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to chill out and relax this is the perfect cottage . My husband and i stayed here for a weekend it was so peaceful and the gardens are great to stroll around or just sit and listen to the water or the birds things we tend to forget about in the busy world .also great roads for cycling and Carrick-on-Shannon isnt too far if u want a bit of night life. . The cottage has all you need and there was a lovely welcoming package .A beautiful unspoilt area. thanks to Kerry and also to Rebecca and Mike who were very helpful .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage and area
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2014
I am delighted you had such a relaxing stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We've made a few improvements to the garden since your visit which I'm sure you approve of when you return. I'm thrilled you are coming to stay again. The area has so much to offer no doubt you'll get to explore further. Enjoy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwalsh186...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect quiet getaway with everything you need.”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at this property on two occasions and cannot recommend it enough. Although it's off the beaten track it's easy enough to find, and the first impressions are very good, with a beautiful landscaped garden, trickling river and its own private wooded area as a backdrop. The silence is blissful.
Once inside, the cottage does not disappoint. It has been tastefully decorated throughout with great attention to all the details you would hope for in a traditional cottage. Bedroom windows look out into the garden. A log burner in the sitting room is perfect for sitting around in the evenings over a drink, or if the weather is good you are spoilt for choice for places to sit and enjoy the outdoors.
We used the cottage as a base for exploring the surrounding area on foot, driving and on bicycles and looked forward to heading back after a day out for a relaxing evening by the fireside. We also enjoyed cooking and eating some great meals in the lovely kitchen.
If you're looking for a quiet getaway location, you won't find better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to 'get away from it all'
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishgal2...
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful, relaxing escape nestled in the countryside.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in this beautiful cottage as I had a wedding in Lough Rynn Castle which is only a short drive away. Everything about the cottage is beautiful and the ambiance of the gardens is breathtaking. Extreme care and beauty has been put into every aspect of the cottage and surrounding gardens. I had only planned to stay there for one night but we enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay an extra night to really benefit from staying there. The owner Kerry was very easy to deal with and she was very accommodating. I highly recommend people to stay there as it is so easy to unwind and relax there. I hope to go back again during the summer.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rioghnach...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful quaint cottage, would have loved an extra night!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in September for one night and would really have loved to stay another night to take full advantage of this beautiful setting.

Gramarye is a beautiful cottage with such a quaint homely feel, from the flagstone floor in the kitchen to the handmade quilts on the beds. It is a perfect place to go for a break from the rat race as you can't help but unwind completely when you are there. Beautiful gardens for during the day and a lovely open fire to relax in front of with a glass of wine in the evening.

I hope to get back to this lovely cottage again and explore the area more and would definitely recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The property and area have so much to offer I agree one night is barely enough time. We'd love to have you stay again for longer.
We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing