We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a place we come back to again and again. It provides total relaxation and pleasure. The staff are so pleasant and nothing is a bother. You are made to feel totally at ease. The grounds are lovely and the whole castle is beautiful . We have stayed in different rooms throughout the castle and they have all been of such a high standard and comfort. I would highly recommend Lough Rynn. I am already trying to decide when I can book in again.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 991 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

All I can say is wow! We stayed here for a night in March and we were not disappointed. The first view of the property is amazing, beautiful grounds in a stunning location. We were shown to or room by the wonderful staff- the room was huge with a beautiful ensuite (with underfloor heating!) we ate from the a la carte menu. The food was gorgeous and there was loads of it. The wait staff couldn't have been more attentive. The sleep quality was great, the beds comfortable & rooms warm. Breakfast was great, continental & hot breakfast- huge selections of fruit, cheeses & pastries. Overall, we had an enjoyable experience here, lovely walks around the gardens and a peaceful night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just back from wonderful 3 nights at Lough Rynn. Very positive experience except for location of our room. Room 212 might as well have been on the corridor for the sleep that we got for the three nights that we were there. After the first night we were told that the problem was a wedding party that were now gone and that for the next 2 nights there were Germans so the problem would not re-occur. Yes the loud voices and singing did not happen again however each time a person walked along our corridor our room shook. We went for a rest but sleep was impossible, and no such thing as a lie in as guests that left early woke us up as soon as they left their rooms so unfortunately we did not have a good rest in this hotel. We would note however that "Aidan Brady" was the most wonderful asset that the hotel has, his knowledge of the area, his wonderul personality would bring anyone back to this hotel, The wonderful restaruant staff "Zolton" in particular was fantastic, Food the best ever we have had. All in all a beautiful hotel but please do not stay in 212 as it really turned a fantastic break into a straight to bed when we returned home.

Room Tip: do not stay along the corridor that has room 212, ask how to turn on the heating in the bathrooms as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandsinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

this must be one of the few period house hotels where guests don't stay in an extension. The rooms are all located in orginal buildings and retain the character of the house. it is not just an overnight stay it is an experience to be savoured.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColletteMayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our son and his wife organised our return visit to Lough Rynn Castle for a one night stay and evening meal. Our first stay for their wedding in October 2010 was a delightful experience and we enjoyed our second visit immensely, almost 2 & ½ years later.
Our room was a standard double, comfortably furnished, providing plenty of tea / coffee, bathroom requisites, king size bed, well appointed modern bathroom – no bath but with “rain” showerhead, etc. The only real difficulty was with the air conditioning, which was left on through the night. I tried to switch it off, but without success. The ready availability of clear instructions on how to do this, without having to ring reception in the middle of the night, would have been helpful.
Our evening meal in the Sandstone restaurant was superb (all opted for the set menu as distinct from the a la carte). While awaiting our meal we were served with a complementary selection of home-made breads, dips and salmon tasters, all of which went down very well. For starters, 2 of us had the smoked trout – absolutely delicious. The ladies had soup and pasta – most enjoyable.
For the main course, I had the shank of lamb, my son had the steak and the ladies had chicken – all served with a selection of vegetables – top class. This was followed by a reasonable dessert menu, tea and coffee.
Breakfast was superb – with n excellent selection of buffet items and served cooked breakfast – all first class. Free morning papers were provided and, as it was raining, this gave the opportunity to while away an hour or so in the beautifully wood panelled and peaceful main reception room.
Finally, as regards location, the hotel is within easy reach of Dublin, about 20 minutes drive from Longford and well signposted. And even though the following morning was showery, we enjoyed our walk around the beautiful grounds, lakeside and walled garden – thanks Lough Rynn for the use of your umbrellas and for the courteous and welcoming treatment afforded us by your staff.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning to be turned off, if visiting during colder months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for a one night stay in December 2012. This was our second visit, we were unsure if it would be a smagical as when we first stayed however it truly was. We were late arriving and therefore running late for our dinner reservation but staff were fantastic and there was no hurry in the world. We stayed in a suite and the room was amazing, even though I thik I spent most of my time lounging around the bathroom, it was gorgeous with a shower steam room and a huge bath and a massage table.
Dinner was once again fantastic, we had the steak special for two people and it was excellent. As it was himselfs birthday I had preordered a cake and they brought this out along with two glasses of compliemtary champgane to wish him a happy birthday. Cake was divine!!

This hotel truly is a little gem, and would highly recommend. I was just sorry we had not booked for the second night!! Oh and a special mention to the amazing Christmas tree in the lounge was spectacular!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights last week to celebrate my birthday. We had a big room with a view over the garden towards the lake,with beautiful furniture, a huge, very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom with both bath and shower. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Sandstone restaurant on the night of my birthday, and the food we got on the second night in the Baronial Hall was just as good, and great value to boot. The breakfast was sumptuous on both mornings, and the staff in the restaurant as well as in the bar were very friendly and talkative, which we really appreciated. The castle interior is simply wonderful, with all the period furniture, the heavy drapery, ornate ceilings and walls, and paintings. Comfortable couches and chairs in each downstairs room, roaring fires, and peace and quiet made for a perfect environment for reading and relaxing. And even in February, although spring is only just on its way, a stroll around the estate and gardens is wonderfully soothing. On top of all this, the weather was great, a bit chilly, but gloriously sunny -- the only thing that Lough Rynn can't claim credit for :) Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohill
19.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
11.1 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
260 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.6 mi away
Carrick Plaza Suites
Carrick Plaza Suites
#4 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
162 reviews
23.4 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Address: Lough Rynn, Mohill, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Mohill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mohill
Price Range: $125 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rynn Castle is a 4 star deluxe hotel set on an estate of 350 acres. The Hotel comprises of 44 bedrooms, an AA Rosette Award Winning Restaurant and caters for functions up to 320 persons. A Victorian Walled Gardens takes you to the shores of Lough Rynn, natural woodland, meandering walk ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rynn Castle Estate And Gardens
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Hotel Mohill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing