We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Kellerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kellerwirt
Ranked #3 of 16 Oberau B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Having visited the Kellerwirt many times over the years, this year I went to celebrate my sister's birthday ( a milestone). She organised a long weekend which was marvellous. The rooms in the new wing are spacious and comfortable, the staff are all very friendly and at the top of the tree is Hans Keller, a wonderful host who always has time to chat with the guests. Breakfast is good - typical continental style but in the evening the restaurant provides extremely good quality traditional fayre combined with a good wine list. Any trip to the mountains does bring the risk of poor weather however, provided you accept this, the Kellerwirt is a great place to stay and explore the Wildschoenau as well as the Tirol. In good weather it is hard to beat the view from the pool towards the Hohe Salve Mountain in the distance.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have view towards Niederau, those on the other side look towards Auffach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    12
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N. Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a lovely Gasthof in the middle of the village and one were you feel part of the familly.
We went with Inghams who were excellent especially the rep - Lisa.
THe main points are:-
1) Rooms in the main part have a lot of character but no balcony whilst those in the annex are roomy, well furnished and have a balcony/terrace but could be anywhere. If you go for the second option then ask for a room facing down the valley.
2) Food is OK to good. I think it depends if it is the chefs night on or not but locals say it is the best food in the valley.
3) If you go as a couple then expect to share a table with another couple. This is standard practice in Gasthofs and even some hotels in Austria.
4) The church bells are very loud, only metres away and start with a 60+ peel at 6am!!
5) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hestitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydOfMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

As frequent visitors to the tirol over the last 20 years,After reading the reviews we expected
a great deal more from the hotel Kellerwert.In our humble opinion it is 3* at best.
Breakfast OK but dinner left much to be desired Drinks were overpriced being cheaper at the far superior 4* hotel nearby (some of the Kellerwirt guests dined there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Makes you feel good when you are greeted by 'welcome home' and are genuinely remembered on your 2nd visit.
Once again a great holiday, thanks to Hans and team. Quiet (except for the church bells), good food and not too much rain!
The peaceful Wildeschon valley suits all levels of walkers, from a stroll to Jakis ice creams to walking up the mountains. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The Kellerwirt seems to have changed drastically since 2010. Breakfasts were good, but the evening meal was disappointing to say the least. The salad was basic (not even lettuce one evening), the soup good and filling, although there was no bread with either. The main course (not that it was all that substantial) seemed to be based on pork most evenings, usually with chips or rice. Several evenings the meat seemed to consist of fat more than meat and had it not been for the soup we would have left the table feeling hungry. It seemed to be a drastic exercise in cost cutting! The staff were superb and our room was spacious and clean. What has not been mentioned is that the church bells ring at 6.00 a.m. every morning and as our room was opposite the bell tower it meant that we never slept through the 60+ chimes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatandChrisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We booked a guided walking holiday for 1 week staying at the Kellerwirt. The hotel was clean, traditional and served wonderful food. The guided walking tours were moderately challenging but were the best part of the holiday (apart from the wine tasting evening with Hans which was hilarious!). Our only negative comment would be that the mattresses and pillows would benefit from an upgrade, but don't let that put you off - it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Mine host most accommodating, and stafff all most willing and helpful with any queries.
Food - large varied breakfast and adequate choice of lots of very good food for dinner. Free packed lunch basic but ample.
Part hotel modern and part old. We had large excellent room in the old part, fortunately away from the church clock (which doesn't strike in the night) and the road.
Mine hosts free wine tasting enjoyed by all attending.
Walking wonderful and weather warm with occasional thunderstorm in the evening.
Can't wait to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnabergele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberau
0.1 mi away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
0.8 mi away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fertinghof
Fertinghof
#4 of 5 in Oberau
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pension Schwaighof
Pension Schwaighof
#12 of 16 in Oberau
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Pension Starchenthof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellerwirt

Property: Kellerwirt
Address: Oberau 72, Oberau, Wildschonau 6311, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Oberau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oberau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kellerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellerwirt Hotel Oberau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing