We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - top service”
Review of Apparthotel Talhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apparthotel Talhof
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberau
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - top service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited Talhof for three nights and had a very enjoyable stay. Great locaction -.many potential routes for walking. We had a flat with two bed rooms, kitchen (which we did not use) and a nice living room, and several balconies. Rooms were clean and well maintained.

Hotel can offer an excellent swimming pool.

We had excellent service. The familiy running Talhof was just fantastic and helpful.

Breakfast is good value. The kitchen offers a good choice and the meals were well prepared.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired43Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have just returned from family ski trip over New Year 12/13 (2 adults and 2 children aged 7 & 6) The hotel is located in the Wildshoenau Valley in Roggenboden. Roggernboden has it own couple of button./t bar lifts with a red and blue run but the main slopes (either Auffach or Niederau) are a 10-15 min bus ride away.

Ski school was arranged at the hotel and very conivenently met in the morning on the slopes behind the hotel which made it very easy for us with the children. Ideal for beginners however for the more intermediate skiers you may need to go to Auffach.

The appartment we stayed in comprised of a reasonable living space, separete double bedroom ensuite and separete WC. It was well decorated, clean, adequate kitchen faiclities and looked right out on to the beautiful mountains. Ideal for a young family.

The hotel has fabulous faiclities and the restaurent served good quality traditonal food and very resonably priced (we did not choose to go B&B or half board). The only draw back being the hotels location is 1.5km from the nearest village and so if you do not have a car (though you can walk to Oberau) you are pretty stuck at the hotel or use the free bus. As Roggenboden is 1km off the main road there are only a select number of buses which come via Roggenboden (I think 5 a day).

During our stay Franz and his family could not be any more helpful, re-enforcing the famous fantastic Austrian hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBBONLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

not easy to get, but then you are in 1 of the best hotel you can find. Swiming pool, kids room, ping-pong, sauna, spa, garage, everything is there. Well done, really a nice place to go if you want to visit austria. We were coming back from Oktoberfest, maybe it's a bit far from munich

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank caminante7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We travelled with SAGA to see the passion play, the hotel is in a good location, good clean air, very good views of the mountians. The staff were very helpful and polite we could not have been looked after better. The meals were very good and well presented.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montyringwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Quiet place with everything we yould possibly need around, if you want to stay away from the crowd in the Alps, go there, its still an excellent place to visit if you dont have to hike at 3000 metres. Cant say about skiing possibilities, but summertime is great in there. Excellent for a relaxing weekend with a great staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberau
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
2.6 mi away
Hotel Wastlhof
Hotel Wastlhof
#4 of 11 in Niederau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fertinghof
Fertinghof
#4 of 5 in Oberau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#3 of 11 in Niederau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Staffler
Hotel Staffler
#1 of 11 in Niederau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apparthotel Talhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apparthotel Talhof

Property: Apparthotel Talhof
Address: Roggenboden 190, Oberau, Wildschonau 6311, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Oberau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oberau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apparthotel Talhof 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the scenic mountains of the Kitzbühel Alps, the family-run Hotel Talhof enjoys a quiet location on the Roggenboden plateau in the Wildschönau Valley. Guests enjoy free access to the indoor pool and the modern spa area, as well as free WiFi and free use of the underground car park. Spa facilities include a sauna, a steam bath, an infrared cabin, a relaxation room, and a massage room. The Talhof Hotel also features an à la carte restaurant and a large children's playroom with a climbing wall, adventure castle, PlayStation, and many games. Hotel Talhof is surrounded by green fields in summer and offers direct access to hiking and mountain bike trails. In winter, it is located directly at the ski slope and next to ski lifts, a ski school, a toboggan run, winter hiking trails, a cross-country ski run, and a stop of the free ski bus. The Wildschönau Card is included in the rate. This card offers many free benefits, activities and discounts in every season, including free use of local cable cars in summer and the ski bus in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Apparthotel Talhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing