We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality pub food”

The Miners Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Garforth
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good quality pub food”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised. The philly cheese steak sandwich was actually better than I expected. Good service, Good quality food and good sized portions. Will be back...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLucy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    13
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food at The Miners :-)”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First of all I must point out that, even though Tripadvisor describes The Miners as a restaurant, it is in reality a pub which, in my opinion, serves fantastic, tasty, and good value food. There is also a great range to choose from, enough to satisfy most tastes, and not too many choices to be overawed with. They also have a varied and changing specials board.

My family and I have eaten here many times and we have all always had an enjoyable experience. I get the impression that if anything is not satisfactory, all it takes is an honest (and obviously polite) comment, and your concerns/comments will be dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner.

If you are ever in Garforth, (or are just passing through) and need something to eat, be it a meal sandwich or snack you can do no better than to call in and see what they have to offer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Smashing posh pub grub!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visited The Miners in Garforth with a couple of friends. The food was top notch and well worth the slightly higher than expected prices.
For starter I had the garlic mushrooms which were served in an ample portion and well presented and for main I had the beef and ale pie which was DELICIOUS! and also well presented with the pie being a large slice placed ontop of a bed of mash and a moat of peas.
I finished off with the hot chocolate fudge cake with custard which was also a nice large portion which went down very well indeed.
The only downside was that the Gents were a little bit on the dirty side but I suppose you cant be held accountable for other customers dirty toilet habits!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just visited with family but was pretty disappointed with the food. We ordered a chilli jacket potato at just under £6. Jacket potato was microwaved, therefore not really a jacket potato and had large cold lumps in it. Also the chilli was incredibly spicy. I adore spicy food but this was full of chilli seeds and jalapeños and was just in general very average. Mr partner ordered the pulled pork ciabatta sandwich. Portion was pretty small and the sandwich incredibly dry as very limited sauce on the pork. Staff were helpful and pub very well maintained but the food was well below par and not very cheap. Quite disappointed really.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacsgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
608 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good pub
plenty of psrking
tasty food, good portions
i had the big bobber burger, it was big and tsdty, good quality burgers
good service
we will be going again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miners Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Garforth, Leeds
 

Been to The Miners Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing