We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Steak”
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Garforth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Steak”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant does not look the greatest from the outside but the food is just great - the steaks are mouth watering and excellent value for money - I had the gammon with two eggs on top it was to die for - all tasted really fresh and well presented - the service was spot on from the moment we walked in to the good night on the way out.
All in all a really pleasant place to go and have a relaxing meal - on the Wednesday evening it was not over busy but constant and the people around us were equally pleased with the sevice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iswifty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    219
    89
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Under staffed kitchen & front of house - disappointing expeience”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited in June 2013 during a trade show visit. We were staying across the road at the nearby Holiday Inn. Having had a good experience the previous year at this restaurant, we returned hoping for a similarly good night out.

It was not to be.

The place was very busy when we arrived. We had attempted to book by telephone but no one answered the call. We arrived therefore unannounced and were told there would be a 30 minute wait for a table. An hour later we were shown to our table and after ordering starters and main courses, the starter arrived some 20 minutes later. After clearing the starters, we waited another hour for the main course.

Patience being exhausted, we asked how much longer we were to wait and considered departing. The food arrived and we were told that there were only two chefs on duty in the kitchen, despite the fact that the place was heaving with customers. A similar shortage of waiting staff was explained to us by a very harassed , but courteous lady who we recognised from the previous year's visit.

Food was average, but not inspiring and the duty manageress took the time to apologise to us at the end of the meal and did not charge us for the starters, due to the delayed service.

Our message to the management t of this place is GET YOUR ACT TOGHETHER. Do not expect a small team of hard working staff to cope in these sort of circumstances. The trade show that we attended is an annual event and creates a lot of extra trade, so please make sure you have sufficient resources to meet demand. Your staff were tested to breaking point on this occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lunchtime”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Although familiar with the pub I'd not visited since it had become a Miller and Carter. I visited with a group of friends for taking advantage of the lunchtime menu. The food was really nice and good value for money. The service was efficient but relaxed and the atmosphere good. All in all a very pleasant place to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food... ok service.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A group from my work went out for a meal. We had a large table and plenty of room for the 10 of us. Our table was ready when we arrived and we were not rushed at all through the night.

Great service by the waitress however the service at the bar was a let down. It was a friday night and only one memeber of staff on the bar all night. We had to wait 15 mins to get a drink. We could have had drinks brought to the table but we didnt want them added to the bill so chose to go to the bar.

The food was very good and greay value for money. Before the main was served the waitress bought out a side salad for one of our party but was sat there for 20 mins before the main was served. So was wasted. Overall a good night out but maybe wouldnt go on a weekend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“miller& carter the old george selby road garforth leeds ls25 1nb”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

we went to Miller & Cater the old George for a meal, we were introduced to the table, the friendly waitress came to see us with nice smile asking us what we wanted to ordered. My husband asked for gluten free menu and she brought one for him. Three of us ordered salmon and my husband ordered spare ribs plus drinks. She brought the dinner to us, the meal were delicious . Then she brought the dessert menu and we told her to wait for five minutes to settle down, She came around with nice smile again, we ordered the dessert also delicious. We all really enjoyed very much. We would like to go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing