We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up your game.”
Review of Lord Gascoigne

Lord Gascoigne
Ranked #16 of 16 Restaurants in Garforth
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Hungry Horse LS251PX
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up your game.”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Shocking, never have I been to somewhere as drab. Not Bad if you're using it as a venue before Leeds, but for a meal. No thankyou.
Don't accommodate atall to allergies due to 'stock levels' and when confronted the bar staffs response was 'we're a pub not a rester aunt'
Tables never get wiped, bar in inches full of dried up beer. Needs a good clean and some caring staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    36
    41
    17
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This could/should be way better :-(”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We come here most weeks as it's close and is the easy option. However as the Miner's, next door, has recently upped its game, our New Years resolution is to go there from now on. Yes the gascoigne will still be good in the summer with its fab garden, but the increasing 'Don't give a monkeys' attitude of the bar staff and kitchen is enough to put us off at least until the sun comes out.

Helpful?
2 Thank Originaltigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quick tea with the kids”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We come here fairly often with the kids for tea and if you're just after a burger or something with chips it's fine and does the job. Came last night and enjoyed what we had, chicken skewers, gammon and eggs and hot dogs, clean plates all round. The only gripe I have with this pub is the men's toilets which are often so disgusting my little boy insists I take him to the ladies instead!! Not good in any pub but especially not one that serves food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Storrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food and service foul”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We called for tea at 8pm we ordered the chilli nachos for starters, it was like the cheese had been melted hours ago and left to go cold the chilli was and threw on, horrible. We then tried to order lasagne it was sold out, we tried to order mixed grill it was sold out, we tried to order fish n chips it was sold out! We eventually ordered the steak from the 2 for 8.49 menu. Food came before we finished our starter it was cold and steak was over cooked although we asked for it medium. The chips were cold and looked as if they'd been cooked before and left to go cold then reheated. A terrible experience. No wine glasses and the place was empty will not return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good this time”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

The service was reasonably quick, I had a burger and chips - it got served with skinny fries instead of the normal thick chips, but I preferred this as the skinny fries were much nicer. The only complaint I have was that the burger meat didn't seem to be of a very high standard. Afterwards I had pudding, it was a warm chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream on top drizzled with chocolate sauce and marshmallows and Maltesers round the edge - very delicious. The cleanliness of the pub was of an acceptable standard I couldn't really see anything dirty although in the toilets the toilet floor could've done with a mop as it looked a bit filthy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joxlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Gascoigne also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Mirfield, West Yorkshire
Shipley, Bradford
 

Been to Lord Gascoigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing