We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”
Review of Lord Gascoigne

Lord Gascoigne
Ranked #16 of 16 Restaurants in Garforth
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hungry Horse LS251PX
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I last went to this place for food in July where I had a bacon and cheese burger and chips. Food was perfectly fine and tasted very nice. Staff are very friendly and I also had the added bonus of the fit guy with the lip piercing serving me again, he is yummier than my food I got. Will definitely be going back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joxlee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    40
    17
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a perfect place for lunch”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

called in for a bite to eat and was happy to see a menu that caters for all tastes
my order can in quick time and was hot and fresh.the staff checked all was ok and were very helpful and friendly. there were children eating and playing outside but it was quiet enough inside to enjoy my meal. happy to go again anytime

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The pub itself is nicely decorated and there is ample seating areas plus outside seating. The food is typical pub food and not over priced. There is a park outside which is good for the kids to play, only downside there are bushes which back onto peoples gardens and the kids tend to disappear into the bushes!!! Friday and saturday evenings are busy where locals visit to drink and is advisory not to take children later on, latest they can stay is 9pm. Staff are friendly and approachable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average Local Pub”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We ate here on Fathers Day this year and understandably, the place was busy. We were lucky enough to get a table right away so got some drinks from the bar and ordered the food when ready. We then had a wait of over half an hour for our food to arrive. A member of staff did come over at one point and apologise and told us our food would be with us soon, and it did turn up not long after that.

I had a chicken and bacon salad, a healthy option, so was disappointed to find the bacon was really streaky and fatty, and there wasn't really a lot of food on the plate overall. By contrast, by boyfriend ordered a chilli wrap thing that was huge - ridiculously big - although there seemed to be a lot of beans and not so much chilli in it. Somebody else in our party ordered a burger that was burned on the bottom.

Overall, it's a cheap and cheerful local. My expectations weren't high and rightfully so. I'm not sure if it might have been better on a 'normal' day, i.e. not a probably busier than usual Sunday.

On the plus side, there's a big beer garden that's great for kids and it is a very large pub so lots of tables inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The beer garden is excellent. It is all shut in so small people struggle to get out. It has two climbing frames/slides for the under 5 's and the over 5's. the food is standard pub grub. It is a 1 minute walk to Garforth train station as well for a visit.
The staff on a Saturday lunch were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyforeigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Gascoigne also viewed

Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Gascoigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing