We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
newmarket, suffolk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not Bad at all”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have to say that I was not looking forward to my stay last night, but all was fine. Reception was efficient & polite, room was clean & tidy - the pictures werent to my taste but you cannot suit everyone! Gym & pool were small, but no major issue. All in all, no regrets & would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chappers1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and experienced great customer service throughout. We look forward to you returning to the hotel again in the not so distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    238
    209
    82
    69
See reviews for
139
204
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Got to hotel, lovely fancy reception. Seemed like a lovely place! Until we were told that you walked, down stairs along 3 corridors and up more stairs! What an old fashioned, horrible hotel past reception!
Room was naff, telly was size of a house, room freezing really old fashioned! Poor room, walking to room the smell of smoke was terrible!
Breakfast was fantastic! The only good thing about hotel! Just seemed really busy and ram packed waiting for breakfast!
Overall poor! Shame after staying in holiday express in Edinburgh the same week, and was great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claggernufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, albeit disappointing, following your stay with us. We take all feedback extremely seriously and will be looking into the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fab all round- othing too much trouble- especially in the restaurant where staff worked quickly without compromising frindly helpfulness. Nothing was too much trouble! Thanks- fab!! Requested alternatives to fixed menu and chef cooked it with a cheery smile!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay, it is wonderful to hear from guests that they have had a great experience and our staff have gone out of their way to ensure your needs were met. We hope that we can welcome you to our hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Truth be told, I wasn't expecting much from this "town outskirts" Holiday Inn.

We stayed here (4 people, 2 rooms) to attend a family gathering in Leeds. This was the only hotel that we could find that accommodated our small dog.

Bad points? Well, the hotel is a victim of its own architecture and age (70s/80s?). The rooms are a bit small and the bathrooms are tiny.

Our exec rooms were nice though. Well maintained and spotlessly clean. The beds were magnificent. The rest of the furniture was tired. It's also a long time since I've seen a CRT TV in a hotel like this!

The rest of the hotel was clean, the staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful.

Breakfast was fantastic. One of the best Holiday Inn breakfasts that I've had in a long time.

My advice is not to dismiss the hotel on the basis of some of the reviews here. I'm not saying that they're inaccurate, just know what you're going to get. This is a good hotel of its type...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay here and it was great to here you enjoyed your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the room you stayed in and that you enjoyed your meals..”one of the best breakfasts you had in a long time…”. It was also pleasing to hear that you were given great service from our staff. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Reading some of the other reviews here on TA, my wife and I were a little dubious about checking in. However we needed a room for one night, following a conference my wife had, attended just outside of Leeds and this hotel was conveniently located. I am a Priority Club member, and we are fairly loyal to Inter Continental and Holiday Inns, although we haven’t stayed in one, in the UK for about 8 years.

Yes, the building is perhaps in need of an upgrade but in our opinion the fabric is not quite as dire, as some reviewers have made out. In our opinion, this is an average Holiday Inn. It is not the staffs’ fault that it is not up to a high standard!

All the staff, we encountered were friendly and generally efficient. Check in was painless, although I was asked whether I wanted Wi-Fi, but it wasn’t made clear to me whether this was complimentary or £10 a day as advised on the printout, for the password and log in. It so happens I wasn’t charged.

The main public areas are well presented and the décor is acceptable. Our room on the ground floor was on the small side but had acceptable décor, although the bathroom and shower were slightly past their sell by date. All areas were clean. The TV is still one of the old fashion type, with only the five main terrestrial channels and not a brilliant reception.
Some reviewers have complained of a musty smell in the corridor and yes there is a damp problem on one of the walls, which had been stripped of paper and appeared to “drying out”.

The food for the evening meal was served promptly (we stayed on a weekday) and was acceptable and freshly cooked but not outstanding. My wife did have rather frayed table napkin which really shouldn’t have been on the table! The breakfast (hot/cold buffet) was again acceptable.

Although we didn’t use the swimming pool or gym, they did appear, from looking through the corridor windows, to be on the small side.

As a warning for the disabled, there are no lifts in hotel. Access to the ground floor rooms have a number of flights of stairs with wheelchair stair lifts on the side of the staircases. Although the hotel might comply with the DD Act, it is not entirely user friendly in this respect (at least three wheel chair stair lifts to the ground floor). There are notices beside the lifts, to refer for operation, to a member of staff! It could be a bit of a palaver?!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments follwoing your visit to the hotel and we hope that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was better than expected and breakfast was serviceable but the entire hotel has slightly unpleasant dank odour - it's in desperate need of refurbishment. We opted for the dinner and room deal but the evening meal was horrendous - blatant microwave-from-frozen food slopped lazily onto a plate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrescoMaughr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the hotel. Please be assured that all our food is freshly prepared in our kitchen so we are sorry to hear of your disappointment with your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I haven't stayed here but i have used the conference facilities several times and always been underwhelmed. The rooms are just a bit drab to be honest but the bar area is much improved and staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJLJinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our hotel. We are constantly looking to improve and update our facilities here and are grateful for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garforth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
1.1 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
1,946 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth

Property: Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Address: Wakefield Road, Garforth, Leeds LS25 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Garforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth Hotel Garforth
Holiday Inn Garforth
Garforth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing