We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good hotel”
Review of Hotel Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mountview
Ranked #5 of 96 Pahalgam B&B and Inns
India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quite a good hotel”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were a large group and had 5 deluxe and 1 suite rooms. The location of the hotel is superb and is in the market. It's right next to Hotel Pahalgam and most shops and places to eat are easily walkable. It faces the river and has a lovely view with a garden. The food is very average though the staff is superb.
The location was a big deal to us since the other hotels in Pahalgam don't have anything within walking distance. In addition, only Pahalgam tourist body approved cabs can take you sightseeing.

The deluxe rooms are very good and the 4th floor ones have renovated bathrooms which are better than the 2nd floor. The suite was only a 1000 more and was amazing. It has incredible views with a lot of space. They have very few suites so take that into account.

The hotel staff is excellent. The hotel itself is a little dated and they need to renovate it in order to charge a higher premium. It has a pool table, billiards table, table tennis and carrom facilities which we used.

Other: The Bhaisharan meadow is incredibly gorgeous! Trout Beat and Cafe Log Inn are good though the trout at Senator Pine and Peak (a great hotel) was better and cheaper! Dana Pani is the go to place for veg food.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the 4th floor (4xx etc.) The suite rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngoenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    155
    54
    8
    19
See reviews for
182
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed from 1st October to 3rd October, Room No is 110.Good view View is good. Make sure to do good bargaining before check in. Take only room, MAP was no-no. Non veg was very bad. We told the same to the hotel manager too. It was not cooked properly. Recommend don't take food option while staying in this hotel.
Be ready for lots of change, once check out.. Lot of people will come to you but they won't come whn you dial the room service no.

Room Tip: Take back side room. If pocket allows suite or else take room near to suite. We took room no 110, ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinsarna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was having no reservation and reception was very helpful to provide me accommodation at reasonable rate. All around are smiling faces. Location is excellent and lucky to have wonderful sunset photos from hotel garden. Out side the hotel pure vegetarian restaurant is DANA PANI. Good food. Will visit once more in winter at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dedacain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The views from the hotel are excellent, you can also get photo shoot done in traditional Kashmiri attire in the hotel premises. Hotel is located in the market area and is convenient for shopping, hiring taxi etc..
The service from the staff are very ordinary and the food was below average.

The food was below average, may be as it was complimentary.
The charges for tea / mineral water are very high (basically anything on the menu is not value for money)

Everyone expects tips in Kashmir, from stewards, waiters, taxi drivers, pony owners etc. seems like they have become habitual.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pahalgam was last stop on our week long Kashmir Trip. We enjoyed the whole of Kashmir but in my opinion this (Pahalgam) is the place which is truly worthy of Great Mughal Emperor Jahangir's historic words "Gar firdaus, ruhe zamin ast, hamin asto, hamin asto, hamin ast" meaning "If there is ever a heaven on earth, its here, its here, its here", such is the scenic beauty of this place. And Mountview is a hotel which gives you the best chance to enjoy this scenic beauty.

We selected this hotel after going through many reviews and understanding that Pahalgam (infact whole of Kashmir!) has very few good hotels to offer. The property is located right in the center of Pahalgam Main Market towards the River Lidder and that is perhaps its USP. The hotel offers one of the best views of the Valley from its lawns and from its room's glass windows. I must admit that having traveled to almost all the hill stations in Northern India, none can beat this scenic beauty, trust me.

Coming to the hotel's infrastructure, the rooms are spacious but a bit old. Their main Staircase is rickety and carpets are a bit worn out. In fact, as suggested by other travelers too, entire hotel needs renovation. However, Lawns and the reception area are well maintained. Another small issue is that a lot of ponies start from a place very near to the hotel, so you might get unpleasant dung smell during or after Amarnath Yatra period, as place gets full with ponies. But don't read too much into this criticism, it is still a decent place to spend time.

Didn't try food so can't say much about that but it is on a slightly costlier side. One can have delicious food at Dana Pani Restaurant (Pure Indian Veg) or Trout Beat (Serves Veg, Chinese and Fish) which are few steps away from the hotel.

Staff is courteous but like most of the hotels in Kashmir region don't expect a very professional approach from them.

Hotel also has facility for indoor games such as Billiards, Pool, Carrom, Chess, etc but their views from rooms and three lawns at different elevations won't allow you to think of anything else!!!

In all, select this hotel if you truly, completely, hundred percently want to enjoy Pahalgam without having too much expectations on the room.

Room Tip: Choose room on top floor towards the River for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaibhav_kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I booked through Agoda for one night and found the experience comfortable. I was allowed early check in and staff was friendly and trained. Also room service was quite fast.

Although there were not huge variety in breakfast and dinner, but the quality and taste were quite good.

Just an advise to the Management - Please don't let the staff sit on the floor in the galleries and also near the guest rooms, as it feels a bit awkward and makes the hotel environment un-professional.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a Mountain View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Experices_Sharing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

stayed here in Sept end 2013. The hotel is nicely located - bang next to the market ; yet is peaceful and has great view. Rooms are nicely done, neat and amazing view (stayed on first floor). Interior are preety nice, bed comfortable, and toilets are reasonably clean. Staff not the not great- food is hopeless. However, since it is bang in the middle of the market- lots of food option as close as 50Mts.
Worth every penny in off season (managed to get great discount )
Taxi stand is closeby (100Mtrs), if one is planning to stay here for more than 2 days then no need to retain a cab that one gets from srinagar.

Room Tip: I found first floor to be better -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachujkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 22 in Pahalgam
621 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 22 in Pahalgam
295 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#9 of 22 in Pahalgam
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
0.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#7 of 22 in Pahalgam
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Himalaya Discover Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountview

Property: Hotel Mountview
Address: Main Market, Pahalgam 192126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mountview Pahalgam, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing