We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD STAY. . BUT A BIT EXPENSIVE.”
Review of Hotel Woodstock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Woodstock
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Pahalgam
Reviewed May 30, 2013

we chose a room without food option.The check-in was ok.The room was clean,linen was very good.The toilet was also clean,but we need to take bath by standing in the bath-tub,whirch is too narrow to even hold a bucket.We got hot-water all- through.From the room,we had a good view of the mountains and lidder.But what was closely visible,was a shed of the next block.We tasted only tea and kehwa,which was reasonably good and for the other foods,we visited dana-pani,which is 4 or 5 buildings away.Overall the stay was pleasant.But wi-fi WORKS ONLY IN LOBBY,BUT THAT TOO IS VERY WEAK.AS THE TELEPHONE CONNECTIONS ARE NOT GOOD,THE CREDIT CARDS DID NOT WORK WHEN WE CHECKED OUT.Housekeeping generally does a good job,but frontdesk is not very informative,other than organising taxis.

Room Tip: The hotel would give 2 or 3 options.but generally they all appear to be the same if it has a mountai...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Woodstock
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 192 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

I visited this hotel with my family on may 23rd. We had 3 rooms and all of them were in bad shape. Dirty carpets, shabby bathrooms ( one of the bathrooms had only hot water coming which almost caused my mom to burn her, no cold water to make it usable- she had to use the bathroom in my room to take a shower). on complaining the housekeeping was clueless as to how can it happen.

There were many other hotels in the market area which seemed much better than woodstock.

The only good part was the back of the hotel, where the river was flowing which was really calm and cosy to hang around in the evening.

The food was okay, and the service was decent enough. The front desk was helpful to call a taxi immediately for the sighseeing and they tried to explain me all the places.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajmavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our Kashmir trip in may 13 for 2 nights.Its a very good hotel with clean,tidy & spacious rooms.River flowing thru backyards.snow caped mountain view from our hotel room was excellent.service was also good. food was not up to the mark tastewise & qualitywise. but overall good hotel.room heater was in good comdition & room was warmer.also 24 hrs hot water in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagnihotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had booked this Hotel thru Distant Holidays - Srinagar and they gave us an image of one of the most Expensive & Best Hotels of Pahalgam.

We all Doctors (6 Families with Kids) stayed for 2 Nights in Hotel Woodstock. We had the worst Experience of this Hotel on Day 1 from the time we entered the Hotel at 5.30pm.
I was first stopped even before entering my Room for the confirmation of the age of the Children, which took almost 45mins for Mr.Ibrahim to speak to the Distant Travel agency for the confirmation that 4 children were around 3yrs. After which Mr.Ibrahim himself apologised for stopping us abruptly as there was a miscommunication. He promised us a luxurious stay, good service and enjoyable holiday.
But,
As we entered the Room at 7.pm, Right from Expired Mineral water bottles in the room (Bisleri - Expiry 2012) to Stinking towels to the waiters who expected tips as they transferred the luggage in the Room to disturbing Restaurant Manager who kept on knocking door and disturbing all us continuously for asking us the Menu of Dinner in the Night, inspite of we requesting him to give us sometime as we have just checked in.
But we all could understand that PROBABLY they wanted to prepare the Menu as per our choice and taste so as to keep their Guests Happy. But when we saw the Menu for the choice, we were shocked. Such and Expensive Hotel worth of around 10k per day with Extra Bed and Meals was devoid of Starters and hardly any choice of curry s.
All we had was 1 Soup, 2 Veg Gravy s, (with Hardly any choice) and 1 Non-Veg only. We had to actually ask the Manager for Sweet and he noded saying he will check out as to what is available for the Day.
There is no concept of Salads, Starters, Kashmiri Biryani/Pulao, Choice of Sweets/Ice Creams at all in Hotel of such Price and Quality (as they say) and they have policy of Charging Rs.1000/- per day for a Child below 3yrs JUST FOR FOOD WITHOUT EXTRA BED.

(Im sure we get a Buffet of more than 35-50 food items for around Rs.350/- which includes 5-9 Salads, 4-5 Veg and Non Veg Starters with Soups, Biryani, 4-5 Currys (Veg & Non Veg) and choice of Deserts in almost all Average 3 Star Hotels & cities in India.)

Well, the main Embarrasment for us started when we came back in the evening after we came back from the Market. There were series of things that went thru...
We asked for Extra Glasses in the Room for few of my Friends who wanted to have Drinks.
- After 45 mIns we were told that there are no Glasses as the Hotel was running Full.
- One of the Kashmiri old Waiter brought dirty 4 glasses with all his fingers in it, which now not even done in a Chai/Coffee Hotel.
- We were Replaced with new Bottles of Kinley and Towels. (BUT THIS TIME THE EXPIRY OF KINLEY WAS MAY'13)
- We were told by Restaurant Manager continuously that the Food will be served only till 10.15pm and we were not informed earlier up to 11pm. when we went out.
- When we send our Children and mothers to the Restaurant, it took 40 mins for them to arrange for tables and Food on the table and the time was 10.15pm.
- No SERVICE, POOREST Quality of the food was served on the table with missing Glasses, Spoons, Napkins and hard Roti's with hardly 1-2 waiters shuttling and laughing on the screams of Mothers for Service.
- When we all of them were informed and enetered the Restaurant, we were shocked to see watery Chicken Curry, Watery Dal and only ONE or TWO Bowls of it in between 23 people.
- We all lost our Cool as there was no Service, no Waiters and the Restaurant Manager was missing. He came in 10 mins after we started shouting and complaining. We were served with new Bowls of Dal and Gravys with a little thicker Curry and Garnations. That was the time when Mr.Ibrahim entered the Restaurant. We all complained him and showed him the Cheap quality of Service and Food even when the waiters were laughing around him. Missing Glasses, soiled plates, different size of Finger Bowls, missing Cutlery.
- Mr.Ibrahim after so many complaints tried to show his temper on us, but later Apologised for all his Service and Behaviour. We wanted to leave this place and complain it to our Tour Manager Tasleem ( Distant Tours), but he promised us abd convinced us for a better service the next day or would Resign if we were not happy.
- We all spoit our mood and went back to the Room.
- At about 11.40pm in the Night, we were served with a tasteless simple sweet in a Small Bowl which could dip only Half in it (very less quantity) for which we were asked the number of sweet Bowls required many times. ( they know the number of people and maybe do not wanna serve double)

2nd Day
Next day Morning and Night we were served Breakfast & Dinner BUFFET in a Shabby Hall on the 3rd Floor which is neither a proper Hall nor a Restaurant.
But as per the Promise of Mr.IBrahim we were taken CARE OFF.....JUST TAKEN CARE OFF.
with the same Tasteless Menu (1 Soup, 2 Veg Gravy s, (with Hardly any choice) and 1 Non-Veg) only served in a better way ( No service as it was a Buffet)
Since we were served in a proper form with a little presentable way than the previously, we all decided not to spoil our Trip and take it in a Stride.

WE WERE TOLD BY THE MANAGEMENT :
- NO HEATERS WORK FROM 10PM TO 6AM WHEN THE GUESTS ARE ACTUALLY IN THE ROOM AND NEED HEATING.
- NO KNOBS PROVIDED FOR BATH TUB TO STOP WATER AS IT WILL STOP WATER/BLOCK THE OTHER ROOMS WATER.
- NO ENTERTAINMENT OF ANY KIND IN THE HOTEL LIKE CARROMS, POOL, T.T or GAMES ETC.

I have given a very comfortable Review on the Visitors Book in the Hotel as i did not wanted to disappoint them before leaving. Moreover i was given this Book just while departing and cudnt write in detail. But all my Friends wanted this to be know to the Management as well as OUR TOUR OPERATORS ( DISTANT TRAVEL - SRINAGAR) who were the main organizers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taufiqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in Pahalgam for 2 nights at Woodstock. The location of the hotel is excellent with best of both worlds near the market and next to a flowing river. Rooms are spacious and reasonably clean. It is an old hotel, so some of the things that you may expect from a good hotel are absent (e.g. heated bathroom - which would be needed if you are traveling in winter or onset of spring). The staff is great and makes up for some things like lack of a good heated restaurant (dinner is served at the room itself because of this) or a coffee maker in the room. View from the room is awesome because of the hotel location. Overall great experience if you are willing to compromise a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shvkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very good aminities and location, this hotel has. Good Liddar reiver view from the window. Esspecially out room was on 3rd Floor, so the view was just a awsome. The perfact start for the tour to Heavan. The best thing of the Hotel is Danapani restaurant is very near. You can get good pure veg Jain food. The Manager Mr. Sajid Said has help us a lot for our Jain Breakfast. He specially suggest us for the Jain Breakfast. But a little bit professional behaviour of the desk manager of this Hotel has. They are not supporting for child charges of 5 years of age.
Over all we had good experince of the WoodStock. We lived from 20 to 23 April'13.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the garden view side where you can look Liddar river
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaishil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you are looking for a option with even little bit of luxury then this is NOT the place..... A hotel from old world who has not kept with the changing times..... Locations is good but then other things are a big let down.... We opted to stay here but after staying for a night we checked out.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AM_Pune_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 22 in Pahalgam
625 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 22 in Pahalgam
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#6 of 22 in Pahalgam
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
0.1 mi away
Pahalgam Hotel
Pahalgam Hotel
#3 of 22 in Pahalgam
514 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kolahoi Green Resorts Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Woodstock

Address: | Pahalgam Bazar, Pahalgam 192126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range: $64 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Woodstock Pahalgam, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing