We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of Pahalgam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pahalgam Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Pahalgam
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel, Every thing was so perfect, The Rooms, Staff, The food. I was with my family & children in the hotel during the peak season , The place was flooded with people, but the hotel managment is so good we had the best time at the hotel. Usually during peak season people fact a lot of problems. But the service was great. The hotel has a very good restaurant , the meals are superb. I liked this hotel very much. a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roddie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    156
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
249
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2009

One of the best hotels in Pahalgam! Very friendly staff...

Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GauravChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

FIRST: THE LOCATION.
Right next to River Lider, every room of the hotel opens into a beautifully landscaped lawn, which adjoins the flowing white water river a little below, completely surrounded on all sides by the mighty snow capped mountains. This scenic view along with the crisp sound of the flowing river and of course, a pleasant weather, confirm your presence in paradise.
Visit Pahalgam and stay here for complete luxury and a ture taste of Kashmiri hospitality.
The only other bettter star rated hotel in Pahalgam tooo falls short of this hotel at least in terms of the location.
The ROOM
Though a few rooms are not so well furnished, and the hotel staff does try to fit you in one such rooms upon arrival, on insisting you do get the better ones. All the rooms have an old world charm complete with wooden furnishings, and are large enough.
FOOD is an absolute delight, with morning breakfast, lunch, evening tea(served on the lawns, where u can have it sitting amidst nature in the cooler evening weather) and dinner being sumptous and varied.
STAFF, though old, is very helpful and a take complete care of your needs making you feel @ home

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRATIKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

we stayed there for 3 nights in 2007 and it was pure bliss.
the hotel is located right on the river bank and the rooms on the ground floor are the best. the staff is very friendly though a bit old .
the food is great specially indian..the chinese is so so .

it has a old world charm about it which is what makes it great.

Some rooms are old and some are renovated. choose your room as per your taste. the garden in front of the rooms are well kept and room service is a bit slow but who cares as we all have lots of time when we are on a holiday.

go for it as it is the best hotel in the town.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank letstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Excellent Property in Pahalgam, Kashmir

1) Wooden Rooms add to the warmth of the whole place
2) Located next to the river
3) Breath taking view behind the hotel
4) Large and comfortable rooms

Downside
1) Not much available on the food menu.
2) The hotel should do something on their drainage, there is a slight smell in the few of the outside areas around the hotel.
3) Slight expensive

Overall a good experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — expensive and smell in few areas around the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maneshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

A great hotel you can get at a decent price if you travel during off season. Location is central to the small town of Pahalgam.

the best part is that the hotel is located next to a flowing river that makes the view even better. Excellent food!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We arrived Srinagar Airport, and it was just awesome, right from the time we landed. The scenic beauty, the weather, everything.
Hotel had arranged the pick & drop for us, & it was on time & car was very nice.
We reached Pahalgam, after a 2 hours lovely drive.
The hotels entrance was different from other hotels nearby, the wooden carvings, was just a class. Well greeted, we were transfered to our rooms. We had choosen two suites. But, after seeing them, we had shifted to room.
The hotel offered us a package in MAP, i.e. Breafast & dinner inclusive. The USP of the hotel is food. Mr. Khan's hospitality at the restaurant was top of the world.
The rooms were neat, but not worth it. I suggest you should never opt for suite over there. The simple reasons being, Kashmir is very cold. A suite has a living room & a bed room. But, the Bukrah(Heater) is present only in the living room. Even, the television is not availabe in bed room. But, on the other had, your normal room, has the heater & TV in your bed room. So its nice & cozy.
We were there for 3 nights, the food options which we chose for diner were North Indian, Gujrati, & Kashmiri. We are veg, but Kashmiri Veg was also very fantastic. They served us in Kashmiri Utensils. Kashmir Cuisine is must try.
We liked Chandwari, where we found snow & sledge over there was just too good.
We also went to Aru Valley, which did not the comments we received from the localities. I think it is no sense at all to go to that Place. Overall I think, 3 days & 2 nights, is very much sufficient to spent a quality & relaxing time in Pahalgam.

  • Liked — Kashmiri Cuisine
  • Disliked — Rooms & Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ashbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 20 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
1.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 20 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#6 of 20 in Pahalgam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Resorts Pahalgam
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise Inn
Hotel Paradise Inn
#18 of 20 in Pahalgam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahalgam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahalgam Hotel

Property: Pahalgam Hotel
Address: Pahalgam, Pahalgam 192126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahalgam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pahalgam - the valley of shepherds is situated at a height of 7200 ft and about 100 kms from Srinagar (nearest access to the airport) sprawling amidst the confluence of River Lidder, Pahalgam is Kashmir's most popular & picturesque resort. Pahalgam hotel and Pahalgam are synonymous, established in 1931 and spread in about 2 acres, the hotel has acquired a name for its rejuvenating ambiance, hospitality and a wholesome tasty cuisine. There are 20 suites and 25 double bedrooms located in different blocks, with a splendid view of the River Lidder and snow-clad mountains. Filmgoers recognize the hotel instantly as it has been very popular with the industry - a number of movies have been shot in the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pahalgam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahalgam Hotel Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing