We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Histrionic hotel with stunning views”
Review of Pahalgam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pahalgam Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Pahalgam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Histrionic hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Was staying the hotel for two nights in April, the hotel is partly under renovation. Rooms are really nice, the views are breath taking. Located on the high street it's easy to step out for shopping and it get to the horses that take you up to the mountains. There are two restaurants attached to the hotel, the coffee shop that really a nice with good snacky food and the trout restaurant that is worth the travel, it's amazing!! The hotel offered an all meals inclusive package and the food is good, however it can slacks from time to time. Overall the hotel needs to renovate the bathrooms, in house restaurant and possibly work on improving facilities for guests. Staff in the restaurant were friendly, the room service staff were a bit old and sleepy.

Room Tip: Please go for rooms with the view, you have the river passing the property that is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arjunonholiday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    156
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
249
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staying here takes you back in time . This hotel started in 1931 and still has a rustic and antique feel . We stayed in suites overlooking the lider river and snow capped mountains . The views and location are a treat . The food is superb with a homely touch . But the rooms are disappointing . Bathrooms are devoid of health faucets , door bells do not work , linen is not clean ,... But the only reason for its houseful board is ,it is still the best hotel in this town .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In my entire Kashmir Trip in April'14 I stayed at 4 different hotels and this was the costliest non 5 star property ( I stayed at the Lalit Palace for a night ). I would have ideally not given a 3 but am forced to on some basic reasons outlined below.

First the Pro's
1 - Location - I don't think there is any better location than this in the vicinity
2 - Room Setup - All rooms overlook the magnificent lawns , river and the snow capped peaks ; every room has a great indoor balcony ; so you need not even step out into the cold to enjoy the views.
3 - Food - Contrary to a recent review ; I think the food is quite fabulous ( over priced yes ; but fabulous in taste and variety )
4 - Service - Very prompt
5 - Options - The Cafe Log Inn is a great place to chill out over coffee ; again a bit overpriced but the food is good.

Now the reasons why I would rate this hotel average ( was really torn between 3 and 4 but have to give a 3 ) is you do not expect to pay 14K a night ( I don't believe the breakup given by the management above ; 5K for food ???? The Lunch was 1K per person and Breakfast surely cannot be priced the same so 3.5K for food ( Breakfast and 1 major meal ) is more believable ) and not have the following basic amenities:

1. No Bed Warmers - Even hotels ranked 10 in Srinagar have bed warmers ; why the hotel wouldn't have any beats me
2. No 24 hour heating
3. No kettle in rooms ; fair enough coz you serve Tea in the rooms on order ; but then why charge for it which is anyway made right next to your rooms by local assistants
4. Every block of rooms has dedicated assistants / helpers which is awesome but they are over zealous to "clean your room" ; always hanging about the rooms ; really irksome when you are on the ground floor which was the case with us

On the whole, this is a great property but the culture needs to change a bit. I know film stars regularly stay at the hotel ; but c'mon guys this isn't a 5 star property ? please take a look at the rates you charge. I would be ok with the rates even if you can please have 24 hour heating ; bed warmers and please have the decency to have some complimentary stuff. Maybe I am to finicky about these things but a more than cursory look when we complained about the water leakage in the bathroom would have still convinced me that the money was well spent.

Having said that I think I would still give this hotel a try next time I am here ; hopefully these minor things would have been sorted. Hope you take this review constructively.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevantBhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

At 14K a night [incl breakfast and one meal ] this hotel can at best be described as avoidable. A great location has been wasted by non existent maintenance, primitive toilets, bad food and above all inept management. The sheets on the beds were at least 2 feet shorter and when I brought it to the notice of the owner, his reply was " Yes they are as we have changed the mattress " !!...which made me wonder if there is a law that both can not be changed together. One word of advice ....Avoid this one !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajaykoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzaffar_Nazir, Guest Relations Manager at Pahalgam Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear guest in ref to your review kindly note tripadvisor is a forum to give your genuine reviews of the property and suggestions. If you recollect when the met our managing partner at first you complained about the rates, let me clarify our rates are inclusive of meals and the breakup of the same is as follows, Room only rates 7,500/- Meals 5,000/- per couple all inclusive service charges & government taxes 2,000/- approx. therefore we hope you will be able to understand the breakup up of rates & we are not charging equivalent to Taj or lalit who's rates are on CP basis. Also note we are in the process of changing our mattresses & since our linen supplies come directly from bombay dyeing we have ordered the same for which we regret the inconvenience caused. At last i would like to apprise the reviewer that his wife again met our Md at dinner & told him that they have been recommended by Ms Dolly Jain, a frequent visitor to the hotel who's group has been coming to the hotel consequetively for last 5 years, was very happy with the hotel specially the food and where again we apologized for the linen problem.
We hereby leave it the our esteemed guests to judge the review where the reviewer is giving us terrible on all parameters when he himself is saying in subject A great location!
Thanks & regards
Muzaffar Nazir
Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Mystical location overlooking snow capped mountains. Centrally heated rooms. Great service. Very warm staff especially Mr.Khan took great care in preparing the most succulent kashmiri vazwan for us.
Would strongly recommend a stay in for 3 nights atleast at this property. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors overlooking the snow capped mountains. 52-53 No.s are good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHANNA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We staid in this charming hotel for 3 nights with friends to do some hiking. We were a bit disappointed at first by the mediocre reception area , but soon were charmed once installed in our suites with a fabulous view over the river. It's a perfect spot to start the numerous treks possible in the area. The suite was spacious and comfortable , with an old fashioned feel to it , but offered all comfort needed. We recommend a full board stay , as the food is delicious! To top it all , the staff all over the hotel was attentive to all our needs and very helful. We shall have a fond memory of this place and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I came to Pahalgam again after 27 years. As before this time also i stayed at "Pahalgam Hotel" with my family. This property is some how the best property in Pahalgam to stay. We opted for all inclusive. I found about the property as good as it was. Their staff, rooms, service, food everything was too good. Lastly i'll say i have no hitch to stay here again n again when ever i'll come to Pahalgam..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram0451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 20 in Pahalgam
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
1.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 20 in Pahalgam
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#7 of 20 in Pahalgam
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya Discover Resort
0.5 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Resorts Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahalgam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahalgam Hotel

Property: Pahalgam Hotel
Address: Pahalgam 192126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahalgam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pahalgam - the valley of shepherds is situated at a height of 7200 ft and about 100 kms from Srinagar (nearest access to the airport) sprawling amidst the confluence of River Lidder, Pahalgam is Kashmir's most popular & picturesque resort. Pahalgam hotel and Pahalgam are synonymous, established in 1931 and spread in about 2 acres, the hotel has acquired a name for its rejuvenating ambiance, hospitality and a wholesome tasty cuisine. There are 20 suites and 25 double bedrooms located in different blocks, with a splendid view of the River Lidder and snow-clad mountains. Filmgoers recognize the hotel instantly as it has been very popular with the industry - a number of movies have been shot in the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pahalgam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahalgam Hotel Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing