We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly place”
Review of Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Resort
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location is just awesome...one can hear the gushing of river liddar at all times...service needs to be better though...the mud huts are comfortable...they provide you with electric blankets...a real comfort..

Room Tip: Its a small place..all thr rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakunNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

For nature lovers this is an ideal place. The owner of this resort Mr bakshi is very helpful and helped us all through even when we were at srinagar. I booked it earlier but inspite of my personal preference we could not checkin because my family preferred normal hotels. This one is the best location, although the rooms are not 5 star but the location is a 7 star. Those who prefer to sit in natures lap, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed in the Mud Huts of this resort. The hut size was little small but the bed was comfortable. The size of the bathroom was ok, the place was entirely green. The restaurant is costly. The view from the room was very good, lushgreen garden with beautiful flowers and river Lidder flowing along the resort. The staff was helpful. The website mention on Trip Advisor needs to be updated, the website is http://www.theislandresort.net. Please see the pictures attached to this review for more information.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anirudh_1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It was an amazing experience. Surrounded by Hills on 3 sides, on the bank of river lidder, it gave us a wholesome experience of nature. The sound of river flowing by your resort, wind shaking the trees, it seemed nature embraced us.

Rooms were made of mud - amazing experience. One can also avail luxury tent houses there. The resort was full of variety of flowers.

Having food on jetty, just over river lidder, was an awesome experience.

But there were some negatives also, like food was very expensive, also very oily. You might want to caution them in advance. It was slightly far from the main market and the taxi stand, so you need to have a vehicle of your own.

Overall, It was an amazing experience there. Will strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for mud room, the mild fragrance of mud makes it worth staying there.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank agarwalsaurabh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We budgeted three nights for Pahalgan, out of a total of six night trip to Kashmir. That was thanks the visions of a perfect idyll by the Liddar river, and the promise of the stay in Laripora village, some distance away from the town itself, a bit 'far from the madding crowd' that descend on any hill town. We did the usual research, rounding up the usual suspects, and then going over the list, balancing various factors, the biggest among them being a small family run place, away from the crowds, someplace we would be left alone, and get some personalized service.

We found it - purely by the accident of my wife's sharp eyes - in Island Resort, run by the wonderful Mr. and Mrs Bakshi. We could not have asked for better hosts, and a better place to stay.

Island Resort is located bang on the edge of the Liddar, in Laripora viggae, and the owners have thoughtfully created a small machan kind of sitting space right on the edge of the river. The rush of the river, and the loud thunderous noise it makes, are just a few feet BELOW where you sit, and the sight is superb. On our second day in the resort, when every single guest had left for their excursions, my wife sat by the river from ten in the morning till four in the afternoon. It ranks way up there as one of our most beautiful moments of the entire Kashmir trip.

If the view was not enough, the biggest draw from us were the cottages made from mud, and covered with strong sheets, taurpulin, giving it at totally different experience from any hotel made of concrete. It took us just one quick look at the cottages to make up our minds to stay at this place.

The other wonderful part of the place was the care and attention given by the Bakshis. When we started looking for places in Kashmir, we waned to find a family run Inn. We were told that in Kashmir, there is no practice of Bed and Breakfast places. Island Resort turned out to be the next best idea to a Bed & Breakfast. The Bakshis were wonderful company to spend time and talk to, and their attention to detail and supervision of the resort was simply amazing. We found them up and about and attending to the resort work from early morning to late night. Not only that, Mrs. Bakshi is a wonderful cook, and we managed to persuade her to share some of her home made food with us. The Palak Rishta we ate was the best of Kashmiri cuisine in our entire Kashmir stay.


This is the place to stay if you are looking for peace, quiet, and a small personalized - "no tv in the room" - no frills, no loud noises, no crowds kind of place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

if you donot get any other place to stay in pahalgam you have to stay at island resort & bakshi cottages with very highly priced & with very poor services & hospitality where you you won't get hot water or hot tea even after paying so much.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravindragandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Ethnic huts, luxury tents, a great riverside location, warm hosts and a well-developed campsite makes for a great camping experience especially for a group of friends with families. The host organizes and participates in bonfires, barbecues with live folk music on request.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaWAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#7 of 22 in Pahalgam
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 22 in Pahalgam
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Himalaya Discover Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 22 in Pahalgam
296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Resorts Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort

Address: Laripora Pahalgam, Pahalgam 19126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Pahalgam
Price Range: $64 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Resort offers you the very best in luxurious living as you enjoy your holidays in the lap of nature. Choose from exotic, ethnic mud huts or luxurious tents. All set in scenic surroundings between breathtaking Himalayan streams. You also have the best of amenities like homemade cuisine, running hot and cold water, attached toilets with latest conveniences and comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Resort Pahalgam, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing