We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahalgam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location of this property is very good because right in front of the river a couple of metres is the river. The snow clad mountain view in front of the huts is worth seeeing. Each hut costs generally 7000 Rs. Each hut has two double bed rooms with attached toilets. Geysers are available in the washrooms.However the heating appliances during winters is not sufficient.Cleanliness of the rooms and bedding is not upto the mark.A small covered verandah in front of the hut is also available for relaxing.TV is not available in each bedroom but one TV common for both the bedrooms. 6 to 7 people can stay in one hut.Food is not available in the hut.However if told in advance breakfast could be arranged by the staff which is brought from the market.One more good thing is the market is at a walkable distance. Ask for bottled water and dont try the water supplied by the staff.Try the head massage and body massage which are 100 Rs and 300 Rs respectively through the staff.Do not buy any stuff from vendors or hawkers who come to the huts to sell their items as they sell items at exhorbitant prices which are not worth.Overall a average stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvv_leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

The only thing going for these huts is the location. Its beyond doubt one of the best places to have a hotel. Situated high up, it offers great views of the mountains. There is lots of space between the huts where you can sit, relax or play. Thats where the good part ends.

The huts are located on an incline and anyone with the least bit of health issue will have difficulty climbing.
The moment you enter the huts, all the excitement of the location is gone. The place is shabbily maintained. The paint is peeling, the bathrooms unclean and leaking (there is not even a health faucet), the beds creak. The electric blanket is hardly effective. We had booked 4 2BHK huts. Half of them did not have a functioning gyeser or tv. the electric heater did not do any good to make the place warm. The bedsheets and bed covers appear as if they havent been washed in ages. We were given only 1 towel per room! they said they dont have any more!!!

there is no restaurant attached to the place. Forget room service. Each hut has one attendant attached to it, who you have to call on his mobile for anything. Half the time they dont pick the calls. The food they make on order is pathetic. Its best to eat all the meals out.

electricity goes quiet often here. the power back up that they have runs only a couple of lights. On a couple of nights when there was no electricity, we had no heater, no blanket, no hot water. We froze through the night. its a nightmare to stay here.

There is no light in the compound. Moving from one hut to the other, or just walking up to your hut after sunset is impossible. You need to have a torch to help you out.

When you arrive, you have to hire coolies to take your luggage to the rooms and pay them separately. The attendants will not help you with the luggage at all!

All in all, save your holiday and book elsewhere. The location is not worth the nightmare of staying at JKTDC.

If only the government improved things here, it has the potential to be the best property to stay in.

Room Tip: Hut 206 has been recently constructed and is slightly better than the others. If you HAVE to stay at...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funkypratik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Though property is located at a very good location. But overall service has not been great. Housekeeping is not upto the mark. I would not say it is value for money. Beds are not warm in that kind of cold.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepakRathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

we stayed in hotel alpine (JKTDC) at aru valley for 2 nights during November 2013.... definitely it is the only well maintained property of JKTDC... i experienced that since i have stayed in all JKTDC properties in gulmarg, yousmarg, sonmarg, srinagar during our JK trip last year... hotel alpine (JKTDC) at aru valley provides very warm hospitality, perfectly located in serene area.... you can very well cover pahalgham places from aru itself... if you stay in aru valley, you can save around 1500 bucks which you have to pay for taxi to visit aru valley... if you ve a booking at hotel alpine, it is not mandatory to hire a taxi from pahalgham stand that means you can reach upto hotel in aru valley with your taxi that you might ve hired in srinagar or somewhere else.... hotel alpine has a nice suite room at reasonable cost... i will surely recommend that room for your stay in aru valley.... All rooms are well maintained... very friendly hotel staff of all the places we ve stayed in JK...plan for at least 2 nights stay here... you will undoubtedly enjoy walking around the tiny aru village along riverside and scenic valley... if you plan for trekking, many routes start from here about which the hotel staff will guide you well... am adding some pics of room and hotel... enjoy your trip in the lap of nature....;)

Room Tip: Go for the suite room... only one available... worth for the money... perfect for couple....
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sivathejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Situated in the lap of the mountains,on the lush green slopes of Pahalgam, a stay in these huts will be enough to relieve you of any headache.We were 13 people and had booked two 2 BHK huts.There were 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms,1 big siitting cum dining area with a TV in each with a big veranda.We were provided with two attendants who would wait upon us during our 3 day stay.They were very friendly..always apt to have a chat with us or play badminton.There were very obedient too and would listen to all our needs.Although they were unknown to khichdi they still helped us to make it when we craved for it.The rooms were quite cozy and there is effecient hot water supply.The picturesque 360 degree view of the mountains including the snow capped ones will fill your eyes with happiness and make you feel beautiful like themselves.Cold nights were overcomed by the bed-warmers and we had a deep peaceful sleep.You can have a walk on the lush green slopes whenever you are little melancholy.You may bump into a horse among many others who like to stroll in these areas thinking it to be there home.If you are a nature lover...this is your 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rishi_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in winters and were allocated 2bhk huts. It's better if you have your own car or ask the taxi person to come to your huts after visiting the TRC office at Pahalgaon. You have to visit the TRC office first. Moreover, try to reach there by evening since, the office gets closed after 6 pm I think.
Rooms were clean with basic facilities. Hot water was available and electric blankets/ beds were functional with some delays. The caretaker of huts helped us out with food and snacks. We could not find kitchen in our hut but, I think it was adjacent. The caretaker helped with plates/ utensils.
I find the JKTDC huts and food at Gulmarg better as compared to Pahalgaon. Pahalgaon huts are bit more lonely and independent :). However, if you want to experience nature and spend sometime in the proximity of mother nature then, this is the place.
Do carry basic things like lighter, matches, torch/ small emergency light, electric kettle etc. In case you can tip the caretaker then, he will help you out with everything.

There will be no problem with your luggage also, as they have coolie's and other helpers who can take it to taxi stand at reasonable cost.

Pahalgaon is again colder but, our experience was good staying at JK tourism huts.

Room Tip: Huts closer to market are nice option.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amit_luvs_Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

JKTDC Pahelgam means

1. Best location- Virgin green meadows in front of the cottage but 2 mins walk from Pahelgam market n taxi stand. U enjoy the serene nature but have all amenities at stones throw distance.

2. Comfortable rooms with bukhari ( fire place ), electric blower and electric blanket.

3. Spacious rooms with large living room, modern toilets with WC, kitchen (in 1BHK) bedroom (s) and balconies with magnanimous view.

4. Good personalised service of Nasir Bhai.

5. Food by caretaker is expensive. You can buy food from mkt, keep it warm in front of the blower till u eat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boudhayanghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
32.4 mi away
Hotel Himalaya Discover Resort
32.2 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 22 in Pahalgam
625 reviews
33.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 22 in Pahalgam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 mi away
Pahalgam Hotel
Pahalgam Hotel
#3 of 22 in Pahalgam
514 reviews
33.0 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#8 of 22 in Pahalgam
289 reviews
32.3 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts

Address: Pahalgam, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Pahalgam
Also Known As:
JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts Pahalgam, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing