We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encounter with Jaws (probably not that original)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Dynamics

Marine Dynamics
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.65*
and up
Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kleinbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Marine Dynamics shark tours is the industry's leading white shark cage diving operator - dispelling the myths about sharks one client at a time. Not only can you expect a 5-star service start to finish, Marine Dynamics shark tours contributes directly to local white shark research by being the primary sponsor to the accredited non-profit, the Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics is the preferred operator for National Geographic, Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, the BBC, South African Tourism and many more internationally recognized organizations. As you will see from our reviews, our staff are not only the most knowledgeable in the business but equally the most passionate about great white sharks and providing you an excellent experience you will never forget. Marine Dynamics operates out of The Great White House in Gansbaai, South Africa, where you will be treated to our 5-star hospitality underneath South Africa's only privately owned Southern right whale skeleton! Our custom-built vessel, Slashfin, was launched in 2010 and comes with all the modern amenities expected in a top quality vessel. Marine Dynamics guarantees a marine biologist, a videographer, and best value for money on every trip.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Encounter with Jaws (probably not that original)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Great day out, accompanied by very enthusiastic and knowledgeable volunteers, crew and marine biologists. Saw an abundance of Great White sharks, even managed to go in the cage twice because my wife was very apprehensive, which the crew could see and were very reassuring. At no time did we feel unsafe or in danger, could not fault it at all, even our driver Hima went out of his way to take us for a bit of whale watching on the way back to the hotel. If your thinking of doing a shark cage dive, look no further than Marine Dynamics

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Oh wow, thank you so much for your brilliant review and recommendation!!! We all love what we do here, even Hima the driver :) That's why you can always expect the best from us. We hope to see you again in the future! Great shot by the way!

Cheerio,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,216
    192
    61
    24
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super fun and science-smart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great Sunday morning in the cage! The morning started off with breakfast and a nice prep talk, and then we zoomed out to sea on their custom boat. Their tour guides are active conservation scientists working to understand and protect these animals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bryan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Awesome! Thanks for the great review! We strive to educate our guests about these magnificent creatures and know that by choosing Marine Dynamics, your choice made a difference. Hopefully see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Well organized and professional from start to finish. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and the boat seems well designed.

This was a second time for me and the first for my friend. Lots of sharks, and lots of fun. I would highly recommend this company and activity. Good work preserving these magnificent creatures.

My only suggestion would be to have a better selection of things to buy in the gift shop.

Helpful?
Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review and recommendation!!! It's always great to have clients back for the 2nd or 3rd time. You sadly just missed out on our new stock in the gift shop as it just arrived today. Hopefully we see you again for your 3rd time with a fully stocked gift shop :)

Cheerio,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great whites up close and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We chose Marine Dynamics based on the excellent reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. These guys are pros, and the entire booking process and day trip was seamless. Pick-up at our hotel was on-time. We were given lunch before the dive, a sandwich and chips snack on the boat, and then hot soup after the dive. There was an introductory video on great whites that was informative. The boat that they used was built specifically for shark diving. The set-up and equipment were all great, and everyone saw lots of sharks that day. There was a marine biologist on board that provided additional information and answered questions. We saw 8 different great whites. On the day prior to our trip they saw 13 great whites. This was a fantastic experience, highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djl485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
What an excellent sum up! Thanks for the awesome review & recommendation!!! So happy we lived up to your expectations. We love happy clients :) Please do visit us again should you ever come back to South Africa.

Warm regards,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cage diving with great whites.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time seeing the great whites. Visibility in the water was limited but still the experience was brilliant! The staff were all enthusiastic and really helpful. Really we couldnt have hoped for better.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks for the great short and sweet review!!! Our crew takes great pride in their work as they are all very passionate about their work and our sharks :) Do visit us again!

Cheerio,

Sanchia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Dynamics also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Marine Dynamics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing