We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Experience!”
Review of Marine Dynamics

Marine Dynamics
Book In Advance
More Info
$180.44*
and up
Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
More Info
$361.82*
and up
Private Tour: Cage Dive with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kleinbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Marine Dynamics shark tours is the industry's leading white shark cage diving operator - dispelling the myths about sharks one client at a time. Not only can you expect a 5-star service start to finish, Marine Dynamics shark tours contributes directly to local white shark research by being the primary sponsor to the accredited non-profit, the Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics is the preferred operator for National Geographic, Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, the BBC, South African Tourism and many more internationally recognized organizations. As you will see from our reviews, our staff are not only the most knowledgeable in the business but equally the most passionate about great white sharks and providing you an excellent experience you will never forget. Marine Dynamics operates out of The Great White House in Gansbaai, South Africa, where you will be treated to our 5-star hospitality underneath South Africa's only privately owned Southern right whale skeleton! Our custom-built vessel, Slashfin, was launched in 2010 and comes with all the modern amenities expected in a top quality vessel. Marine Dynamics guarantees a marine biologist, a videographer, and best value for money on every trip.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

WOW WOW WOW What an exhilarating experience and professional staff and excellent service! We booked our Shark Cage Diving experience with Marine Dynamics who picked us up from our hotel in a van, along with others. We took the three hour drive to Kleinbaai and were greeted with a light chicken salad for lunch, while we watch a safety/informative video on sharks and the dive itself. After registering our wet suit sizes, we were given life jackets and a windbreaker and headed to the boat. The team and the volunteers were so helpful and friendly, ensuring that everyone was comfortable and assisted those who were seasick, also advising us where to sit and what to do to avoid getting sick. People would go into the cage 8 at a time for around an hour, while we were able to sit back enjoy the weather, the views of the sharks! The water was quite murky so we got much better views of the sharks from outside the water then from in.

The team so was sweet, when we went in we gave them our camera to take pictures for us and they took amazing shots and videos! Both my prof camera and my phone.

When we got in, I told them I was a feeling a little scared and they helped calm me down and I went in, the rush was amazing, the water seeps in between you and the wet suit and then the worst is over, then you anxiously await the shark, we stayed in for an hour and if felt like 10 min, we wanted more and more!

It was so amazing! When we got back to shore they offered us some soup and hot beverages, while we watched the video that one of the crew had taken, which you can buy the link for later.

I would advise you to either get an iPhone underwater case or buy an underwater camera (which they sell) to take some underwater pics, even though the water is not so clear.

Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Great shots and an excellent review!!! Thanks so much! We don't just love Great Whites, we love happy clients just as much :) Glad we could give you such a rad experience. Hopefully see you again soon!

Cheerio,

Sanchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,207 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

My son and I went with trepidation these fears were soon dispelled by the excellent staff who were fantastically experienced great fun and enthusiastic .

11 sharks seeing the fiercest predator it's more about learning that great whites are just amazing animals who deserve much more respect than they are given by nat geo

Loved the whole day marine dynamics are the people to use if u want to go shark cage diving nobody else take my and my sobs word for it

Thank Jeffybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thanks for your awesome review!!! Well, you're spot on! You definitely got the bigger picture about Great Whites :) Good to know our guests leave educated and become proud shark ambassadors! Hope to see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Sanchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a shark diving tour in our hotel in Cape Town. It was confirmed the night before with the travel desk at the hotel. The morning of our dive two operators showed up to pick up guests. Our supposed operator did not have us on his list. The other operator, which was Marine Dynamics, called the lodge to see if they had room for us. Luckily, they did and they invited us along. The driver Hima cared enough to call and saved the day!

The Great White Lodge and the staff are great. The breakfast is also very good. The boat and equipment was in excellent condition and very comfortable. And the crew on board was professional and very experienced and knowledgable with the sharks.

The view of the sharks from the boat is amazing. Lower and top deck. They provide wet suits (the water is very cold) and towels. And being in the cage so close to the sharks is amazing! We always felt very safe.

After you get out of the water hot chocolate is provided which was very nice. There is also sandwiches, snacks, water and juice on board.

After the dive they provide hot soup (very good!), bread, water and juice at the lodge.

I would HIGHLY recommend this company.

Also, if you get Hima as your driver you are very lucky. He stopped in Hermanus and we were able to view and take pictures of the whales from the beautiful coastline. We also stopped at other scenic points on the way back to Cape Town. Hima is the best!

Thank you Marine Dynamics for a wonderful day!

Heather & Diane ~ USA

Thank Heather_04170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

All smiles this side... Thank you for your great review and recommendation!!! Hope to see you again soon!

Cheerio,

Sanchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

In short, one of the best days of my life!! Great, knowledgeable staff, and the shark dive itself was spectacular. 14 sharks in total, I had 3 times in the cage and it was simply incredible. Couldn't recommend this company and trip highly enough :)

Thank MattyMesz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your great review and recommendation!!! Wow, 3 times in the cage?! That's just awesome! Thank you for choosing Marine Dynamics. Glad we could assist in one of the best days of your life :) We hope to see you again soon!

Cheerio,
Sanchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was really the top of our trip.. We experienced a very good boattrip until we met the sharks.. We saw them very good from the deck and were guided very well by the experienced crew! Very nice view from the deck.. The cage itself was thrilling! They really came very close.. All the equipment was in a perfect condition! Back to the coast we stopped at rock full of seals and 2 whales made their breaching near to us.. Really amazing closure of our trip. We can really recommend this company/adventure!

Thank Jordi-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for the awesome review and recommendation!!! It's great that you got to see some whales too! We offer a 5 star experience and we try to educate our clients about these beautiful creatures. Remember that your choice makes a difference and booking with Marine Dynamics won't disappoint you. Hopefully we get to see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Sanchia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Dynamics also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Marine Dynamics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing