We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“childhood dream fulfilled”
Review of Marine Dynamics

Marine Dynamics
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.71*
and up
Cage Diving with Great White Sharks from Cape Town
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kleinbaai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Marine Dynamics shark tours is the industry's leading white shark cage diving operator - dispelling the myths about sharks one client at a time. Not only can you expect a 5-star service start to finish, Marine Dynamics shark tours contributes directly to local white shark research by being the primary sponsor to the accredited non-profit, the Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics is the preferred operator for National Geographic, Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, the BBC, South African Tourism and many more internationally recognized organizations. As you will see from our reviews, our staff are not only the most knowledgeable in the business but equally the most passionate about great white sharks and providing you an excellent experience you will never forget. Marine Dynamics operates out of The Great White House in Gansbaai, South Africa, where you will be treated to our 5-star hospitality underneath South Africa's only privately owned Southern right whale skeleton! Our custom-built vessel, Slashfin, was launched in 2010 and comes with all the modern amenities expected in a top quality vessel. Marine Dynamics guarantees a marine biologist, a videographer, and best value for money on every trip.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“childhood dream fulfilled”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

i´m fascinated with sharks since i´ve been a little child and the great white has always been my favourite. thanks to those guys, i got the once in a lifetime chance to get up close with those majestic creatures, the true ruler of the oceans. i will never, ever forget it, even though the visability was very bad. so if you get the chance to go there, do so in wintertime, the staff told us, visability is way better then. anyway. worth every euro, or better rand, spent on it. not to forget: i don´t know if this is true, but we´ve been told, they´re the only provider giving you diving shoes. with a water temperature of roundabout 13° celsius, a thing, you´ll be thankful of after 5-10 minutes in the water ;) thanks guys, great job, keep up the good work, loved it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mallexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
What an excellent review! Thank you very much for your comments - yes, wintertime is definitely the best for visibility, which just means you have a great excuse to come back again! Cheers! Michelle, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    200
    62
    25
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mdumbi, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mind opening experience”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

As quite an adamant surfer with a mixed opinion on how this adrenaline rush activity can affect my sport and after many debates on the issue I decided to go give it a go.
Firstly I think it quite wise to do your research in finding the operator that actually really cares about the area and the animals here. These dudes will just blow your mind in all their research and there is no better way than conservation through utilisation. And the boat they use is much bigger than the other operators (cool for people suffering from motion sickness).
Ones in the water with these majestic fish one can’t help but feel totally blown away. The way the sharks are treated and attracted to the boats are all very well controlled and they are not fed!!! I guess the debates will always continue but my view has been changed forever and I would defiantly come back!!!
The crew is quite fun and being from the wildcoast I really appreciate the fact that they employ people from the really rural parts of our country, these guys really go the distance to making a difference.
Shark diving with this operator will most definitely be one of the biggest highlights to your travels!!!
Thanks guys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for your great review Johann! You've made great points that I hope future shark cage divers take to heart! Cheers and see you again soon! Michelle, MD. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best days of my life”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the most amazing things ive ever done. We drove directly from the airport and we were running a little late. The staff held up the boat and waited for us. They had breakfast waiting for us too. Every single person we encountered were the nicest and most courteous people I have ever met. Right in the harbor we saw a Whale and a pod of dolphins. We got to the point where they drop the seal decoy and within minutes the great whites were coming. Most of them were average, about 10 feet or so....until a 14-15 foot female hit the decoy. I was terrified even from the boat.. We got in the cage and the water was a bit cold, but other than that it was amazing. The 14 foot female came back while we were down there, what a sight up close. I highly, highly recommend this if you are in South Africa. It was a once in lifetime experience. We even got to see Seal Island and Dyer Island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Themanwith1i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your awesome comments! We're definitely more than just shark cage diving during whale season, we're so lucky to be able to see whales, dolphins, seals, penguins and great white sharks all in one trip (sometimes!). Hopefully we'll see you again soon, but next time stay overnight in Gansbaai so there's no rush! :-) Cheers, Michelle - MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most unreal experience!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have gone shark cage diving with Marine Dynamics 3 times already.
Every time I was greeted by the most friendly people in the industry (compared to other operators), and a warm, 5-star breakfast. The orientation video and talk is very informative and I feel like I have learned something new about these incredible creatures every time.

No matter the weather or the visibility, I have always ended up having a great time. Nothing has ever come close (for me), to looking such an incredible natural predator in the eye, in it's own environment. The experience is indescribable. For an experience of a lifetime, look no further than Marine Dynamics. It'll stay with you for the rest of your life. And like me, you'll want to do it again and again and again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks Hannes, what a great review! Thanks so much for your kind words and your repeat business, we very much value your patronage and comments! We'll see you again soon for time 4, 5, and 6! See you again soon, Michelle - MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“World Class”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wow. What an amazing opportunity it was to encounter these beautiful majestic animals.
We were taken care of extremely well by their world class fun, energetic and knowledgable crew!
I do encourage people to visit these beautiful creatures as well as the lovely crew.

Hope to see them again soon

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineDynamics, Public Relations Manager at Marine Dynamics, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments, and I am definitely sending this to the crew - they are lovely creatures too! Hopefully we'll see you again soon. Take care, Michelle - MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Dynamics also viewed

Gansbaai, Overberg District
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Marine Dynamics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing