We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience, the food reminded me of Germany!”

Gasthaus On The Lake
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Peachland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“a great experience, the food reminded me of Germany!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were out with 7 family members and ate outside on the patio as it was an amazing day. The variety of food was great, the goulash soup, bratwurst and sauerkraut were just awesome and the fact people were able to order nachos and burgers too, made it enjoyable for all! The service was excellent and the building just made it all feel very authentic! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ottomowbeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    178
    67
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great German Cuisine, Overlooking Lake Okanagan!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were visiting Kelowna, and I wanted to take my wife out for a special dinner, so we drove down to Peachland just to eat dinner at the Gasthaus.

It was worth the drive.

The first thing you notice is this huge, log-cabin-styled building.... something you'd expect to see in Austria.

We had made reservations ahead of time, and we were seated in the Fine Dining side, on the deck overlooking Lake Okanagan.

It was a perfect summer evening, and the atmosphere was wonderful.

The service was slow at the beginning but, then again, we were happy to just kick back, relax and enjoy the view and the home-baked bread.

Each of us ordered different Schnitzel platters, and they were extremely good! The red wine that we had with our meal was perfectly matched. It was just one of those great dinner evenings you will remember fondly for a long, long time.

Thank you Gasthaus!

May God Bless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love this place. ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We come every year. Thursdays is all you can eat schnitzel. 20$. Great atmosphere , great food , service is always terrible. ( slow ).
Go , and don't be in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank hbjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
591 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great staff, atmosphere BUT”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This restaurant is super high end and shows evidently in prices though. Staff are friendly and nice atmosphere but I cannot get myself to ever pay $39 for a simple steak dinner. And that was the cheaper steak choice. Wow! I ordered the Schnitzel and NOT the typical veal but yet pork and the pork was super dry and had to ask for more gravy. And when reserving let them know if you have a child or not as we almost got stuck sitting outside in the rain as the person who took our reservation did not ask and then almost fully booked and was a bit of a gong show.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nolpreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Really enjoyed the patio area and the food was very good! We were there during a pretty busy time, but service was friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug_ElaineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus On The Lake also viewed

Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Gasthaus On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing