We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu”

Gasthaus On The Lake
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Peachland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
West Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice! Pleasant staff. Enjoyed the soup and salad bar.Great service, great food and a kids menu.
They started us off with pretzel buns which were great.
I love traditional German cuisine and you can't go wrong here. I ordered the Gasthaus Pan
Pork roast, smoked pork chop, bratwurst, pork tenderloin, potato dumplings and sauerkraut. The combination is great giving you a little bit of everything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rrodica6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    186
    70
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a homely place. People seem to know each other, but travellers are welcome. There is a resident cat Schnitzel that helps create the down-home atmosphere. The food is very good and the location is unbeatable - right on the lake. Prices are reasonable too. I have been here twice and both times my order was very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were being served at another great restaurant, and the waitress quietly suggested that if we were going to be around for a while, we should try this place. Looking back on it, now, we should have left a bigger tip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F6Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Pork Hock good as Germany”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a birthday dinner there in the pub on Saturday night and it was very good. I have eaten there 3 times now and think it is as good as any restaurant in Vancouver. The helpings are bigger! I thought it deserved a good report since all 3 times over the last couple of years I have eaten there have been of excellent quality. The service is friendly and prompt. We had eaten out on the lakefront terrace in the summer and the view of the beachfront and lake if ideal. Having eaten both the Wiener Schnitzel and Pork Hock traditional German plates there you cannot wrong with either. My wife had the vegetable cabbage roll and loved it. Well done.....!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KellyRoyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, cool building, poor service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for some drinks and appetizers in the spring. It was pretty busy for a Sunday afternoon in the off season. Beautiful restaurant with a ton of character I can only imagine how much fun it is in the summer and how packed the large patio must get. With a great view and easy access for both drivers and pedestrains (right along beach ave). Food was great and everything on the tables around us looked excellent. Drinks came in various sizes perfect for light to seasoned drinkers, selection was good. Our service was very poor which was too bad. We had to asked for every refill and always waited with an empty glass, the wait for the bill was as long as the wait for our drinks and food and our waitress walked passed us twice with the debit machine in her hand before stopping to receive our payment. Besides the slow service it was a nice experience, good food, great atmosphere, great location and friendly staff. We'll probably be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MP-Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus On The Lake also viewed

Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Gasthaus On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing