We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right across from the beach”

Gasthaus On The Lake
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Peachland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Right across from the beach”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was a short drive from the peachland castle and recommende by two of the owners of the castle. great service,food and drinks

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ogopogoseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    181
    69
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incompetent service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After having a great experience at this restaurant as part of a large group in the summer of 2011, we decided to stop there upon our arrival in the Okanagan a couple of weeks ago. When we (my wife and I and our two sons - aged 19 and 15) arrived, we were seated by a staff member at a nice corner table and given menus. We ordered drinks and were then informed that we can't be sitting there because we were in the "bar" section. The owner, Werner, even came over and told us we couldn't stay, and when we asked why his staff had seated us there in the first place, he said it was a mistake. So we gathered up our menus and coats and were relocated to a closed-in outside patio area with an overhead heater above us- so our heads were hot and our feet were cold. There was one table open and the rest of the space was occupied by a single group of about 15 who must've been given the indication that they would have the room to themselves because there was this incredible awkward silence when we were brought into the room and seated. We ordered an appetizer (Bruscetta) and our meal. 20 minutes later our meal arrived, and the server then realized the appetizer had been missed. We told her not to bother with it anymore, but the owner again showed up to apologize and promised to send it out at no charge. Halfway into enjoying our meal the Bruscetta arrived. We didn't really want it anymore and it was sub-par, served with crusty hard toast. We then received our bill only to discover that we had been charged for the appetizer. It was only after we paid with our credit card that the mistake was noticed and she then refunded us the difference in cash. This restaurant needs some considerable improvement before it's worthy of your hard-earned money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second chance”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Ten years ago Gasthaus was one of our regular lunch stops on the way back from Kelowna. The staff and food was outstanding. Earlier this year we were not happy with the food and the service was slow. We went again yesterday but were not happy for the second time. The servers were more interested in talking amongst them selves than paying attention to the 'few' tables at 1:45 in the afternoon. The food was very bland and not worth the price. Time to frequent the Blind Angeler just down the road.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 624RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“wonderful”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really liked the atmosphere of building and the service was excellent! I ate enough for 2, love german food!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
980 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Mmmm....Thursday night Schnitzel Buffet on the pub side.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Four of us went to the pub side of the Gasthaus this past Thursday evening and three of us had the Schnitzel Buffet. For $19.99 all you can eat schnitzel prepared fresh and served piping hot. The schnitzel arrived on a large plate (almost filled it) and in a brown sauce. I was disappointed when I saw the brown sauce on the plate but not when I tasted it as it was delicious and complimented the meat well. The other things are at the buffet: potatoes, sliced fresh red beets and yellow beets, a light cabbage salad, cooked red cabbage - but the most amazing sides were the spatzle and a gorgeous creamy mushroom sauce - so good it's making me hungry as I write. My partner and I only shared a second schnitzel - it's filling. And you must save room for the included desert which is also made and served freshly prepared. The most amazing apple fritters decadently fried served with ice cream and whipping cream. My only minor criticism is for some of the serving utensils at the buffet which made it difficult to pick up some salads. Service and atmosphere always good. In the courtyard there is a small Kristkindle Markt which you can check out until Christmas (open to 8pm I think - check the website).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus On The Lake also viewed

Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Gasthaus On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing