We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Can't wait to go back.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buisson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Ecole Buissonniere Provence
Ranked #1 of 3 Buisson B&B and Inns
ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it! Can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in so many B&B's before however this was a really unique and personal experience. John and Monique were very welcoming, warm, and friendly. John showed us what we could do each day and set us out on great itineraries with maps, parking details, and helped us find what we were looking for. This was a beautiful part of Provence which seemed slightly less touristy than other parts with very charming villages, beautiful walks, and great markets. John even went out of the way to search for a ferme-auberge meal for us and make us a reservation due to our limited French. Breakfasts were very nice with eggs, bread, cafe au lait, homemade jams and fruit salads by John, cheese, and more. We'd wake up to jazz and other great music played at breakfast. Wood fires in the evening, appertifs occasionally, and John's delicious 'sirop.' Rooms were clean and cozy with the wood beam ceilings and nice decor. They have a lovely garden with an aviary and fish pond, and a summer kitchen that we'd use for making our own meals after shopping at the markets. There was another couple there who come twice a year and have been for the past 10 years. We hope we can too. All in all, we can't recommend staying with John and Monique highly enough. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtrekker2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at L'Ecole Buissonniere for a weekend with our family members. Since it was an impromptu decision to drive up for the weekend to meet our relatives we were only expecting to share a nice weekend with loved ones. In the end, the choice of lodging was so much more than just a place to sleep and added greatly to a fantastic weekend. The hosts of the charming L'Ecole Buissonniere are warm, gracious, helpful and just simply lovely - a perfect match for the surrounding beauty. The B&B is charming and relaxed - the room was clean, comfortable and pretty. The location is close to everything interesting depending on what you feel like doing. There is nothing to complain about if you stay here unless you are allergic to relaxed happiness.

Todo está preperado con cuidado, el hotel es con encanto y los dueños son muy amables. Disfrutabamos mucho el ambiente, la gente, el desayuno - todos. No puedes quejar por nada aqui - es bueno, bonito y con buen precio. Vamos a volver sin dudas!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckfarfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

My wife, son and I stayed here for two nights on our most recent trip to Provence. They could not accommodate us on our preferred dates, so we altered our plans to arrive two days later. Am I glad we did! This is the restored French country farmhouse you always read about. The pictures of what this place looked like 20 years ago, compared to today, are amazing. John and Monique have done a fantastic job. Our room was very spacious for Europe, with a loft for my son and windows front and back looking over the courtyard and the vineyards that cover the Rhone countryside. The bathroom was spacious and nicely appointed. All in all, this was one of the nicest places I have stayed in Europe, and at a very fair price.

Meeting John and Monique--and their cat Minny and dog Arsen--was a large part of the attraction. We were welcome in the living room, where John always had music and a large, aromatic fire going (burning old grape vines) and offering us an apertif that he had made. This was really appreciated, as the weather was pretty cold and rainy for that time of year in southern France. John--who is a Brit but has lived in France for decades--was a delight to talk to because he has done many interesting things in his life, and knows the area so well. He has a great, dry sense of humor, which we quickly took to. Monique--who has very good English--gave us some excellent recommendations for dinner. It was great fun to hear them "discuss" the relative merits of the various restaurants in the area. Both restaurants they sent us to turned out to be among the best we've experienced in a country known for cuisine. And, since they called ahead for us each night, we were treated like important guests when we arrived. No pretense, just comfortable all the way around. Oh...and John's breakfast was very nice, served in the lovely dining room.

We intend to go back to Buissonniere, in large part because of John and Monique, but also because we want to have a chance to just hang out, swim in their pool, and picnic in their courtyard, where they have a "summer kitchen." And the area has some lovely wine villages (and wineries) where you can easily lose yourself for a few days--even hiking between some of them (weather permitting!). It is only a few minutes by car from Vaison la Romaine, but you feel very removed from the hustle and bustle of tourism. This is the way to go!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed 10 days at this excellent B&B, we chose it because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. John and Monique have restored this 300 year old farmhouse to perfection. Our hosts were wonderful, Monique came to our rescue when we became lost in the dark on our way to the farmhouse, thank you Monique. Every morning John made us a delicious breakfast - try his cheese omelete, and was happy to advise us on trips to the surrounding area, he is a fund of useful information. It was altogether a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We wanted to stay in a farmhouse in Provence and this was the quintessential stop. Our hosts were perfect and the other guests were also friendly. We did not want to leave. We stayed in two different rooms, both very comfortable. We enjoyed breakfasts out in back, snacking on cherries anytime, and the outdoor guest kitchen where we could store our food and prepared a simple dinner picnic one evening.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francefan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

What can we say that other posters haven't said already? L'Ecole Buissonnière is a charming and delightful B & B near Vaison-la-Romaine, an old Roman village in the Cote du Rhone wine region. John and Monique spent 20 years restoring this old country farmhouse, a la Peter Mayle (John is British and Monique is French so the analogy isn't perfect but you get the idea). What gracious hosts they are, serving a great country breakfast with big guest rooms and and engaging conversation. Staying here was truly a highlight of our travels in France and we can't wait to go back! La vie est belle!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kinnick4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

From the moment we arrived at L'Ecole Buissonnière, we felt like we were invited into a home with friends. We were greeted graciously not only by owners John and Monique, but also by the other guests who were enjoying a glass of wine in the garden before heading off to dinner. It seems to be a tradition at this B&B for the new guests to receive a lovely greeting, glass of wine and interesting conversation. It truly feels like you are staying with a friend or relative. I could talk about the large, clean and comfortable room (it was) the lovely breakfast (also true) and the formerly rustic (ask to see pictures!) old farmhouse the couple have meticulously transformed over the past 20 years into a beautiful French farmhouse and inn. But what I would like future guests to know is that what you get at L'Ecole Buissonnière is a feeling of welcome, French country charm, lots of good laughs and gracious hospitality and kindness from Monigue and John. This is like no other travel experience. As a bonus, John is British and Monique speaks English fluently, so there is no language barrier. This is a stress-free place to unwind, enjoy John's collection of jazz and classics that floats from the livingroom, and relax while planning your next exciting day in Provence. With the reasonable rates they charge and the service and kindnesses they provide, John and Monique offer a value unmatched.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKS73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buisson
3.8 mi away
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
Les tilleuls d'Elisee
#1 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Burrhus
Hotel Burrhus
#2 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hostellerie le Beffroi
Hostellerie le Beffroi
#3 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Domaine de Cabasse
Domaine de Cabasse
#1 of 2 in Seguret
88 reviews
4.2 mi away
L'Eveche
L'Eveche
#2 of 18 in Vaison-la-Romaine
164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Jour et la Nuit
Le Jour et la Nuit
#1 of 18 in Vaison-la-Romaine
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ecole Buissonniere Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ecole Buissonniere Provence

Property: L'Ecole Buissonniere Provence
Address: quartier les Pres | D75, 84110 Buisson, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Buisson
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Buisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the northern boarder of Provence ... this old farmhouse decided to offer resful holidays and pure happiness in an atmosphere of easy going Provencal way of life .. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Ecole Buissonniere Provence Hotel Buisson
L'Ecole Buissonniere Provence Buisson, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing