We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in Badalona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rafaelhoteles Badalona
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badalona
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in Badalona”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here July 28th - Aug 4th booked at short notice having read all the reviews - which were very accurate and useful! Whole holiday worked really well for us. Loved 'feel' of Badalona, particularly the promenade and narrow shopping streets. If you don't mind a few 10-15 min walks to beach, shops, Metro or mainline station then hotel position is fine. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Found the reception staff friendly and v helpful. Room was average size on 7th floor. Wardrobe space fairly limited. Our bathroom was enclosed not one of the glass partition ones (which I would not have liked!). Motorway noise was not a problem. Thought buffet breakfast was really good 7.30 - 10.30 daily. Tended to use the Metro to get into Barcelona rather than mainline train, but you could use either. Found both v easy and safe to use. Def buy T10 ticket as it's excellent value. Spent time on beach at Badalona - busy but great and on several Barcelona beaches. Would recommend both the hotel and Badalona as excellent value for money. From airport caught mainline train R2 to Clot and then Metro (purple line L2 i think?) to Pompeu Fabra in Badalona - v easy and covered by T10 ticket.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJMO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    314
    107
    31
    15
See reviews for
92
240
22
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Rafael in Badalona is a great hotel for business or pleasure. The location is not terribly near to the airport or center of Barcelona, but the short walk to the beach and the shops and restaraunts of Badalona is great. The room is large and very nicely appointed. I had a nice side view of the Mediteranean Sea and Barcelona. The resteraunt is good for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Request a room on the mediteranean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudson1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week, sunday-sunday with my friend.
We got a room in the third floor, even though we asked for a room with a view?!? (And when a lot of other tourists came one or two days after us, got rooms up in the 11th and 12th floors, I must admit, I got a bit irritated.) We asked for twin beds and so we got. The hotel has one balcony, which is on the 14th floor, (the hotel has 15 floors) but it is only for special occasions? Helloo??? Silly.. There were no places outside the hotel to sit and chill either. And when I asked why it’s not open, the lady in the reception told me "it doesn’t matter, because it is not allowed to smoke there anyway"?! and i don't even smoke!! If i wanted so badly to smoke, i could just do it in the room, because clearly it was allowed to smoke in there... And remember, it is not allowed to bring your towels to the beach; you have to bring your own. This is not written anywhere nor been told, so you got to figure it out yourself, and if you are as stupid as we were, and ask for new towels, you will not get any new one anyway... Just a comment that you are not supposed to bring them to the beach and that the guest only get one set of towels per day.

Some of the staff was nice. We asked for directions and they gladly helped us with that. We also wanted to order pizza (pizza-girls) and they took our order and called them, very very nice! We appreciated that, so thank you girls! :) :) When you are working in a hotel, you cannot forget your smile at home! Bring it every day! : ) (Housekeeping and breakfast employees)

It is a new hotel, so everything was fine in the room and in the lobby area, the shower was big and good, the bathroom was fine as well, did not like the glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom, but since the curtain was there, it was no problem. A lot of people say the hairdryer are rubbish, the one we got was absolutely more than fine. The beds were okey, have had better, have had worse. The breakfast was fine, we got there just before everyone else, so that was nice. I love croissants, so I just ate that, but they had a typical continental breakfast. But very expensive, 14 euro for breakfast, 9euro is more than enough when you are a guest at the hotel and considering the size of the breakfast. We did not have breakfast included, so we only bought it for one day, which was fine because there are so many other places to eat breakfast. But the breakfast area was nice and pretty.

The hotel is close to the metro, and close to the beach, we chose the hotel because it was close to the beach and cheap. When we were lazy we took a taxi from the metro to the hotel, around 3.80 euro, cheap! Around the same from the hotel to the beach. Remember to see the shopping street in Badalona too, we didn’t see it before the last day, and then it was too late for us to go shopping there. A lot of stores!!

Over all, I will not come back here again the next time I’m going to Barcelona. It was a bit too far from Barcelona, and boring to take the metro all the time. And the little extra service was missing.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yolosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here with three other friends for three nights. My friend booked this hotel last minute, so I didnt have the chance to have a look at reviews online.
The hotel is about 15/20 mins away from the airport, it is right next to the motorway, but it is very quiet. The hotel itself is very business like. We were told our room would have a balcony, unfortunately it didnt, only a large window. The room has a partician, it has a see through bathroom area, but you can close the curtian so its not much of a big deal. The room had no coffee/tea making facilities but a mini fridge which was expensive. The hair dryer was rubbish, and there was no proper soap. I did not like the shower gel in the shower but the shower itself was nice. The bed was comfortable, however I did not like the duvet which was provided.
The staff were very friendly, and the hotel itself was very quiet. The view is not very nice, just the motorway and you can see the sea from far. The breakfast was very dissapointing, not a wide variety of food, I expected it to be better than what it was. They served cold boiled eggs which was very strange.
Badalona beach is a 20 min walk from the hotel, the beach was beautiful. It was full of local people rather than tourists, but Badalona itself was mainly full of residentials. The metro is about a 10 min walk from the hotel. It takes around 25 mins to get into Barcelona city which is the "Universate" stop. Single ticket costs 2 euros, but day ticket costs 6.95 euros unlimited. Once in Barcelona city, its another 15 min walk to Las Ramblas where the local shops and few clubs are. We decided to go to a club called Jamberee which plays R&B and Hip Hop music. Drinks are expensive, costing 10 euros for one vodka and coke, however they dont measure the shots, and the shots were huge! Make sure you eat before you go out because there is nothing to eat after a night out, no local takeaways.
Overall the hotel was pleasant, a cheaper than staying in Barcelona city. However if you dont mind walking or travelling on the metro/ catching taxis, then its worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSKK86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel was fantastic, high class in decor and the rooms were very comfortable. Yes its right next to the motorway but it never affected your sleep. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful when it came to answering questions, giving out information etc. The breakfast buffet was very comprehensive, full of both hot and cold food & also had good a good time range so you did not feel you had to get up really early to eat.

The local beach was a 10 min walk away & was lovely. Lots of little bars and restaurants litter the seafront as well as the local high street which had a good choice of shops.

The local metro station was also a 10 min walk away. It is very easy to get around barcelona using the metro system. We bought a 2 day travelcard for 12euros and it was perfect. The train station staff were helpful and the metro system is very much like our underground system so its easy to use. We used this to travel to barcelona & with the metro running 24hrs on fridays and saturdays we really didnt feel out of touch staying in badelona.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A very modern hotel, immaculate. Lovely rooms and good size. We found the staff to be very helpful. Great buffet breakfast. Had an evening meal which was excellent by any standard. Do reasonable priced tapas as well. No noise inside or outside the hotel.

Not overly touristy, nor many english. Various sized groups from couples from all over right upto large american school groups.

Internet laptop free in lobby and I think free via network cable in your room (if have laptop). Wifi was not free (8 euro for the day or 2 for an hour - how much is an inernet cafe I suppose).

Had a gym, but didn't look at it! Had lovely terraces, but locked off for 'security reasons' I guess recent news around drunks jumping off.

No scenic views as in residential area.

Next to motorway so great for transfers to an from airport. 10 min walk to metro (Badalona Pompeu Fabra), very frequent so no need to worry what time you need to leave to catch one - you could jump a taxi to and from the metro if you wanted to. Not particularly scenic walk, but seemingly safe as main commerical roads - a supermarket can be found on the way where you can grab cheap snacks and drinks for your room. Metro say 30 mins from nearly all the stops need to see major tourist stuff, but 20 mins from the centre.

15 mins away is the badalona promanade and it also has its own mazy shops and streets (quite decent as well, less tourist tat). Bars, tapas and restaurants can be found here.

No drink making facilties in room, didn't bother me but if you are a 'cuupa' type person it might.

We went as a couple and don't mind, infact quite like the not being in the tourist centre but more in amongst real locals. Suited us fine and the price was excellent for the hotel, but maybe not for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefamilywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel as we went to the moto GP in Catalunya. The hotel is relatively new and stands 15 floors high. Situated next to a motorway in a residential area of Badalona, 20 mins away from Barcelona to the west. The view is not the best, we were on the 14th floor and could just about make out the coast. The motorway is constantly busy until the early hours, although surprisingly noise from the motorway was not really a problem. We stayed in a double room which was well furnished. Big bed, decent shower and toilet all seperated by smoked glass partitions. The mini bar is outrageously over priced, as to be expected really, so we did not go any where near it. (€3.50 for a packet of chewing gum). Breakfast is a continental style buffet serving sliced local meat, salami, cheese, fresh fruit, pastries, toast, yoghurt, fruit juice, tea, coffee and a spanish spin on the english breakfast were all available between 0700-1030 hrs during the week. Parking was probably my biggest gripe with this hotel. Charging €15.00 (Inc 8% tax) a day, it cost me €60.00 to park for 4 nights. so just be aware of that when budgeting. Overall, a pleasant hotel, clean rooms with comfy beds, serving a good breakfast. The centre of Badalona is only a 10 minute walk away to the sea front, restaurants and shops. No pool and no Spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javiergrao, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Rafaelhoteles Badalona, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear guest:
We really appreciate your comments. They are very useful for us for improving our work. We will study your proposals.
We hope to welcome you in the near future in Rafaelhoteles Badalona.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badalona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miramar Badalona
Hotel Miramar Badalona
#2 of 4 in Badalona
185 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
#1 of 1 in Santa Coloma de Gramenet
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Solimar
Hostal Solimar
#3 of 4 in Badalona
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#179 of 513 in Barcelona
546 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Arrey Alella
Hotel Arrey Alella
#1 of 2 in Alella
30 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafaelhoteles Badalona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafaelhoteles Badalona

Property: Rafaelhoteles Badalona
Address: Avinguda Navarra 6-8, 08911 Badalona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Badalona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badalona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rafaelhoteles Badalona 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rafaelhoteles Badalona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafaelhoteles Badalona Hotel Badalona
Rafaelhoteles Badalona Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing