We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic accommodation well priced”
Review of Be Dream Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Dream Hostel
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
651 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“basic accommodation well priced”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Ok we are seniors so not quite the clientelle the hostel caters for. Our room was sparsely decorated. Apart from the twin beds there was a small table, then some drawers for clothes and some hanging space. Funny shower where you had to re activate it every six seconds ( I kid you not). Air conditioning nice. We slept well. Ok there were noises of kids laughing etc late at night but hey its a hostel.
Breakfast - well, there were rolls, butter, orange juice, instant coffee, tea, chocolate pop somethings (disguisting) and no cups or plates. You had to use serviettes for the rolls and glasses for the coffee. Small kitchen if you want to cook.
Loud music was played in the mornings when I felt most of us wanted peace and quiet.
There is a launderette and 4 computers so not too bad really.
We paid about £50 a night. Go for it, its OK and people are friendly.
Main problem in Barcelona are the pick pockets. My wife had her passport taken and all ID. We met people who had far worse experiences than that i.e. due to fly out, all money and cc taken etc. Continual stream of people in the police stations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    52
    36
    16
    20
See reviews for
13
54
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fortuna, California
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Best Hostel I've been to. Friendly and helpful staff, clean, entertaining, descent food.

Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank raqrelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

This was a really great hostel experience! The staff was fantastic, the lodging was nice and clean, and the food provided was good. The big downside was how far we were from main barcelona, but for me at least this fact was negated by the great beach nearby to the hostel that wasn't packed with tourists.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zvance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We Loved it here, close to the beach, lots of young travellers all staying there, I liked the layout and the staff, the guy with the dreadlocks is Amazing, very helpful. Free internet in the main area downstairs, room was good, right across from Pep Ventura metro station. Big kitchen where you can cook for yourself or put food in the fridge, lots of people around. Air con struglled a bit bcoz of where it was placed in the room, but all in all would definatly stay here again. Great Place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

this hostel was amazing! everything was perfect, no issues whatsoever!

it is located a bit far from the main sights but the metro station is across the street so getting to and from is no problem. the staff was so nice and helpful...and super cute :) the hostel/room was super duper clean. there was lady there every day scrubbing the floors or the couches or the tables, etc. the common area was large and they had plenty to do. the free wireless only works on the first floor so if you are upstairs you cant surf the internet. they also have computers, ping pong table, games & books for you to use. also, the have a chill-out room with hundreds of movies for you to watch :) the kitchen is large and open pretty much all day. also, they serve free breakfast every morning which consisted of cereal, juice, & toast.

barcelona dream hostel is great for people on a budget that want a real youth hostel expirience. i will def stay there on my next trip to barcelona!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The Dream was one of the last places we stayed at on our trip in Europe. By this stage we were fairly tired having been from Paris, Amsterdam, Germany, Prague, Italy, through the South of France and eventually to Barcelona.

This place grew on us. The more we stayed, the more comfortable we felt. However, if we had our time again, we probably would have treated ourselves a bit more with a better location and better rooms, in a place that's closer to the action. Having said that, good places in Barcelona can be fairly expensive.

The facilities, rooms and breakfast were all ok. Not luxurious as one would expect of a hostel, and perhaps if this was the start of our journey we would have been happier. But at the stage we were at, we were probably after a bit of comfort. It's great for younger travelers, particularly youths, independent travelers and not bad for energetic couples.

Positives:
+ Information about walking tours and other activities widely available. Staff were also friendly enough.
+ Kitchen which you could make use of.
+ Reasonable breakfast - cereals, breads, juice.
+ Free wireless internet, however, only seemed to be available in the lobby - we seemed to be out of reception in our room. Other computers are available although they are very popular.
+ Reasonable distance from the shops, ATMs and metro station. Didn't have to walk far.
+ Close to the beach (so we're told - we didn't explore for ourselves).

Negatives:
- Really, really loud surroundings (perhaps paper thin walls, kept hearing motor bikes), not the place to go for a good night's sleep.
- Rooms look like hospital rooms. We had a couple room.
- Shower that attempts to save water, but ends up being extremely annoying - goes in 1 minute spurts. You have to rent towels as well.
- You have to pay up front, and they won't let you up unless you pay. You can't even put down a deposit and pay the rest 5 minutes later. This could be tricky if you turn up at night like we did with luggage and no cash. Luckily we had enough Euros on us.
- Location not the best to see the main part of Barcelona. Probably a 20-30 minute ride, which adds up when you're trying to see lots of things but you're tired as well.

As an additional tip - if you're traveling to this place via metro here, go via Sants station. Don't try to be too clever and go via Parrallel. Parrallel is a nightmare when you've got luggage and you're trying to change on to the purple line - too many steps, long distances and no lifts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank russ90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

the hostel is situated in a suburban area but all sights can be reached easily via undground, station is 5 min walk away. air-conditioned and clean en-suite roomswith comfy beds and bg security lockers, hammocks and sofas outside, good kitchen and okayish breakfast. friendly staff. beach is not as close as it was advertised, but only a 15 min walk through town. don't expect too much there, but for just having a short dip into the mediterranean sea it's fine. all in all, its just the perfect and affordable place to stay in barcelona!

Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank raven1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badalona
1.0 mi away
Rafaelhoteles Badalona
Rafaelhoteles Badalona
#1 of 4 in Badalona
671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#390 of 513 in Barcelona
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
Ibis Barcelona Santa Coloma
#1 of 1 in Santa Coloma de Gramenet
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,782 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#183 of 513 in Barcelona
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Dream Hostel

Property: Be Dream Hostel
Address: Ave. Alfonso XIII - 28 B, 08912 Badalona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Badalona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Badalona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Be Dream Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new, modern and intense hostel just 5 minutes walking from the beach!Our hostel was a primary school we have completely reformed and made into a truly unique hostel- full of personality, natural light and a positive vibe.Help us decorate by making a painting at our arts-n-crafts table, find a new T-shirt at our clothing exchange, or just relax in one of our hammocks outside. Be Dream Hostel invites you to be creative during your stay in Barcelona and offers you the perfect place to both relax and make friends to go out with during the Barcelona night.We are located just 15 minutes away from most of Barcelona biggest attractions and monument by metro (Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas…) Our hostel has a big open dining room, a large kitchen and many common rooms with sofas for chilling out. Our dorms are mixed with 2-12 beds with personal lockers for each traveller, A/C, heating, mirrors… We also have private twin and double rooms with bathroom ensuite for those looking for more privacy. All our rooms let the Barcelona sunshine in!! They have big windows with nice neighbourhood views.For us, the most important thing is that our travellers see and begin to understand what “Barcelona” means and represents to the people who live here.Our staff- Barcelona locals and travellers like you that never left- is always ready to give you a “locals perspective” on where to go and what to see. Barcelona is a metropolitan city like no other.People come from all over the world to see Gaudi’s buildings, abstract and beautiful, Picasso’s artwork, or to enjoy the beaches and Mediterranean Culture. But we want you to see more! We want you to feel the Barcelona vibe.Do you want to dream? Barcelona is a never ending dream !!!Come to catch your dreams with us at Be Dream Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Dream Hotel Badalona
Be Dream Hostel Badalona, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing