We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable, hot, bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fira Congress
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were placed at this hotel by our airline after a flight cancellation. We were extremely disappointed in it. At first glance, the hotel décor looks crisp and modern, but on closer inspection, we found it to be dirty and uncomfortable.

Walls were very dirty and scuffed. The “king” bed was two twins (made up separately) pushed together. Just rolling over in bed caused them to scoot around noisily on the uncarpeted floor. The mattresses (no springs) were on top of a metal platform frame, not comfortable. The linens had unsightly yellow stains. The windows were very dirty. Wi-fi did not work in our room. This was reported to the staff, who were unable or unwilling to do anything about it. It did work in the lobby. Apparently it was not working in other guest rooms, because we saw a number of people in the lobby and bar using their laptops. An information card in the room said that the sodas and water in the frig were complimentary, and the website advertises a “free mini-bar”. Our frig was empty, no minibar. The weather was quite hot while we were in Barcelona, and our room was very hot. The A/C only works if your room key is inserted in a slot by the door, so if you leave, the room heats up. Upon returning, the A/C took hours to cool the room, and even then it didn’t get very cool. We had the fan set to high, but could not hear or feel any air circulation. By the time we got up in the morning, the room had cooled all the way down to 25.5 C (about 78 degrees F). There was no A/C in the hallways, it was very hot outside the room. Lights were ridiculously confusing to operate. We asked for extra pillows. After one hour, no pillows. Second and third calls went on hold. Fourth call was answered, pillows finally arrived after 15 minutes more. The walk-in shower and vanity area are open; there is no door that can be closed for privacy and no shower curtain or door. There is a shade that can be closed on the glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom areas, but no door. There is no tub. There is no desk or work area in the room.

Aside from the room: the spa looked very inviting and we hoped to try it out after dinner. Dinner is served much later in Spain than in the US. The restaurant did not begin serving until 8pm, if I remember correctly. The spa closes at 9, so we missed our chance to try it. The food and service in the restaurant were abysmal. Our airline had contracted for our meals. The hotel offered us a very limited buffet, serving us exactly the same meal for lunch and dinner (salad, pasta, potato, fruit and pastry for dessert) only exchanging lukewarm chicken at lunch for lukewarm pork at dinner. At lunch, the buffet was set up in the usual order: salad, entrée and sides, then dessert, and right next to dessert was a table full of wine glasses and quite a few open bottles of wine. So as I proceeded down the line, I thought, wow, wine with the buffet is a pleasant surprise! I started to pour, and a waiter ran up and literally yanked the bottle right from my hand without a word, and then he started rapidly gathering as many bottles into his arms as he could hold. I was speechless! A waitress followed him, drew an imaginary line in the air with her hand between the dessert and the drinks, and emphatically stated, “the buffet stops here!” It would have been quite comical if it hadn’t been so rude. We were not given any drink other than one liter bottle of room temperature water to share. I asked for a bit of ice and was told no by our waiter! NO to coffee or tea as well.

The location is terrible if you are a tourist. There is a shopping mall about a 10-15 minute walk away, and there were several restaurants there. These were the closest retail or food establishments we found. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away. There are zero tourist sites nearby. Hopefully you do not have mobility issues if you stay here, or you have the budget to take a cab wherever you need to go.

I rarely write such a uniformly negative review but our experience here really was not very pleasant. I’ve been trying to think of something positive about our stay: the room was fairly spacious by European standards. The bathroom was clean. They provided a shuttle to the airport which ran right on time, and since we left before the restaurant opened for breakfast, they gave us a sack breakfast. I’m not sure if this was part of the contract with our airline, or part of the hotel’s standard service. We did feel secure here, the location seemed safe enough though it was a bit deserted right around the hotel. Overall, Fira Congress was a place to stay overnight and we were glad to be on our way early the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luckybeckyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 702 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked this hotel post cruise from Barcelona. We were a party of nine. Telephoned reception on arrival to Barcelona for the shuttle bus. Shuttle bus is found at the end of Block B Just before it says Block C, terminal 2. Check in fast and friendly. Have to insert room key in to lift to make it move. Very secure. Rooms were great. We had two interconnecting rooms. Electric Black out blinds. Shower very powerful. Toiletries included toothbrush, soap, shower gel and body lotion. Free water in fridge. Location was good an excellent shopping centre is about 5 mins from hotel. (Go out front door turn right, right again, cross a road and the shopping centre is on the left). Breakfast was a bit steep at E15 and no reduction for kids. We had breakfast in Ikea. On route to shopping centre but don't cross the road and turn left.
Overall recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute and were very happy. The rooms are very modern and the hotels location is only €10 out if Barcelona. The breakfast had a wide variety of food. My only concern was not enough toiletries in the washroom, showeroom. Free shuttle to the airport and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Keep the blackout blind down to get that perfect nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKateNI19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights and my daughter and family for 2 nights . this was mid-july . i was already in barca . arrived at hotel 12,15pm . got checked in right away . bearing in mind its a 3pm check-in . the room was wow . the gym/jacuzzi area wow . my daughters flight was 2 hours late but arrived from airport in less than 15 mins . via the free shuttle bus from hotel . they were quickly checked in and off we were to eat at near-by gran via 2 shopping /eateries . there is a nice lounge bar area and a outside area for drinking relaxing . my grandaughter just loved the jacuzzi . a L94/5 bus stop at top of road will take right into barca universitat . centre . the staff at hotel were very helpfull and polite . a must hotel to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bynack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

10 minutes from the airport. for a one night stay it's ok. nice and clean. but.....
the shuttle service - from the airport to the hotel came only after one hour !!!!
air condition - when we came at 14:00 it didn't work. we were told to check the windows and put the electricity's card so it will start working.we came back from town at 22:30 to find out the room was so hot that we waited for the service man outside the room.after 2 minutes he said he fixed it while he did exactly what we did. of course it wasn't working. we went down to chang the room and told that ac will start only after 20 min. this is how the system works. we had to move our bagaes and clothes by ourselves at 23:00.
mulfunctioned ac can occur but the staff dealt with it in an unappropriate way to a 4 star hotel
even not an apology !!!!! what a shame !!!!!

Room Tip: before getting into the room check ac is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelyTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We planned a girlie trip, and got an amazing deal, 3 nights in a 4 star hotel, after having 10 hotels rejected as they were fully booked or not included in the deal, we found Congress and booked. Once we arrived at Barcelona airport, we phoned the number on the booking details, we spoke to the receptionist who spoke perfect English, and advised to wait at a certain place (very clearly signposted) and within 10 minutes the minibus arrived, clean and cool and the driver extremely polite. Within 10 minutes we were at the hotel (should have been the first warning sign) the hotel was very modern, clean and the receptionist was extremely welcoming and helpful. As it was 8.30 on Saturday night we wanted to explore, but where advised that the metro and the night bus stop was some distance away (and we were warned to only take the very basic needs with us) which worried us, so we asked about a taxi to take us to the heart of the city, Port Olympic, but at 25euros each way we thought this was far too expensive, so we spent the evening sitting in the outside bar - the bar staff were AMAZING! The drinks extremely reasonably priced but not the same as being in the heart of Barcelona. The following morning we took the free shuttle to Place Espania and joined the official city bus tour - fantastic. Then that afternoon the hotel stopped being so wonderful...... our safe in the room was broken and we were promised it would be fixed, by the time we left on Tuesday night the safe was still broken the alternative to carrying around our passports etc was not on, so the reception offered to put our money etc in their drawer in the main desk (not a great alternative) The reception staff (different shift) were rude and extremely unhelpful when we tried to book the shuttle, and just in general. There is a spa, which was lovely was free to residents and was a bonus.

The major plus to the hotel: free transfer to and from hotel/aiport, 4 bus shuttles a day (free), free mini bar (water only), check out is at 12.00, breakfast was lovely, bar prices very reasonable, even after check out the spa was available to us to use and to shower before our journey to the airport.

Downside: Hotel is situated in an empty industrial estate and situated a long way from the heart of the city, some staff extremely rude and slow to serve.

Room Tip: the hotel is in an industrial area and first thing in the morning the roads are very busy and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had to stay an extra night and our air line put us up here. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bar was great and the staff helpful. But the restaurant food only fair.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florabella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Barcelona Fira
Travelodge Barcelona Fira
#352 of 518 in Barcelona
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,652 reviews
3.7 mi away
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fira Congress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fira Congress

Address: C. de Jose Agustin Goytisolo, 9-11, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range: $79 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fira Congress 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fira Congress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prestige Congress
Hotel Fira Congress Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing