We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

By far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and helpful plus they all speak good English which helps! The hotel facilities are lovely and the view from the rooftop pool is amazing. It's extremely clean and smells beautiful. The rooms are pristine and the designs are modern. The palm tree effect on the windows are very cool and the beds extremely comfy. The showers are powerful and relaxing. The maids come in everyday and even fold your pjs (definitely earned they're tip). There is free wifi which we used everyday. Not only all this but we got this hotel at such a reasonable cost. It's a 10 min ride on the bus which is opposite the hotel at €2 and a 5 min ride by metro to the city centre. Look into a T-10 card though, works out very cheap! Definitely go to this hotel, if I return I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    444
    101
    22
    17
See reviews for
216
620
45
378
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's far from town, a taxi to the clubs by the beach will cost you 20 euro. There are two types of rooms: white rooms and black rooms, we stayed in a black room. That means the walls, sheets, towels, and toilet were all black! In fact it was hard to locate the door to the toilet initially. lol The shower and sink were part of the bedroom, just a curtain separated them. From the sink you could see the person in the shower because the mirror was see through. The wall to the street was actually a type of sheer full length window, it's hard to explain. The hallways were open to fresh air so not an enclosed building.

The worst part was that the door to our room was hard to open! They really need to give instructions because we had a heck of time getting it to open. I finally figured out I would have to throw my entire hip into the door to open it.

The rooftop pool and bar is very nice. However the pool is painted black so who knows how clean it is. They do provide free pool towels easily accessible on the roof which is nice. The indoor pool felt more like a sauna and the floor dangerously slippery covered in water.

They provided free water in our room which was nice. The iron in the closet did not require water and it was so hot it burned a hole right into my shirt. Free wifi in the rooms!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank edgycoolness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well we chose this because of the looks and reviews, there is no doubt that this hotel is stunning but sadly we had a catalog of problems right from the start.
The good : breakfast, roof top pool, views, links to city / airport, general interior,
The bad : efficiency of staff at reception, condition of rooms ( we ended up changing 3 times,)
Upon checking in we were given a 22nd floor room, air con didn't work, dirty marks on walls.
Moved to 23rd floor this required re-decoration they shouldn't of offered it really.
Finally 8th floor, air con struggling, various dirk marks on walls etc, dirty window on the outside could hardly see out, damage to door lock. The front staff we're not interested they basically said that's all we have so get on with it. Bar up rooting we stayed and made the most of the good bits.

Room Tip: Check everything before you un-pack
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tog1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just ended a 5 day stay. At Reception I thought that I had made the wrong choice, they were totally disinterested that I had a Marriott Silver Elite card and when I finally got a room after a wait of over three hours none of my room requests had been met. Things then got better and better the room was ultra modern, shower room with a rain shower and hand shower, everything bright white, flush doors etc. Restaurant very pleasant and good choices of food. Pool on 27th floor had superb single and double sun beds and a wonderful all round view and top class bar men. This is not city centre but that is reached in 15 mins. I will definitely stay here again and hopefully reception will have been sorted.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CraicBrentwood_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at a variety of hotels in Barcelona. Last year at the Ritz Carlton Hotel Arts. The year prior to that we made a long stay Hilton's Diagonal Mar. Both were very nice and extraordinarily costly for what we got.

This year we opted to try the other side of the City and stayed at the Renaissance Fira in the L'Hospital de Llobregat (the area between Plaza Espanya and the Airport).

The hotel is a completely distinct piece of architecture with 300 palm trees in a vertical forest between two 27 story hotel towers. There is a great restaurant connecting (bridging) the towers on the 14th floor. The tallest rooftop hotel pool in Europe is on the 27th floor (with stunning views). There is also a small indoor pool (and fitness center) on 26.

Here's the good stuff. Bus 46 takes you directly from El Prat Airport to the hotel. Just jump off the bus at the big Ikea Store (the hotel is right across the street.) Cost 2E.

The rooms are unlike any you will ever stay in (and I felt) very nice. My kids had a spacious double which was finished in shades of grey and offered a mountain view. I had a white on white king room. Both rooms were immaculate and had great bathrooms. Mine had a tree shaped window that offered a sunrise view over Montjuc.

When the vault like room doors were shut I could not hear a thing from outside. I slept very well here.

Staff was young, friendly and helpful - offering clear directions to Metro etc.

The breakfast buffet is pretty wonderful and the Internet was fast.

There is a large mall (Gran Via 2) just a few steps away with a food court, great last minute shopping, and huge supermarket.

There is a Metro stop literally right out the door. From it you are two stops from Plaza Espanya (the Magic Fountain) and connections to all of Barcelona's main TMB Metro lines. The train lines from the Fira station (going the other way) can take you for a wonderful day trip to Montserrat.

There are some large construction projects going on nearby and the plaza areas at the base of the hotel are kind of odd and vacuous.

But if you want a clean, modern, quiet and striking hotel with remarkably fair room rates, this might be a good choice for you.

If you want to be in the heart of La Ramblas with Barcelona's street scene (and noise) right out your front door, this is not the hotel for you.

As for me, I've found my favorite hotel in Barcelona.

Room Tip: I loved my 24th floor view facing Montjuc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed one night following a cruise. Had to get 2 rooms since we could not get a room with 2 beds (not sure if that is even possible after talking to the front desk). Rooms are large, white, and very clean. Modern industrial/contemporary look around the hotel. Pool areas are nice though small. The view from floor 27 is fantastic. Restaurant is nice with prices ranging from 16-30 Euro. Breakfast Buffet is awesome and will cost 24 Euro for adults and 12 Euro for kids. A bit pricey but was very nice. I saw a few other kids around but can't really say its a hotel for kids. Stairwells are open areas with minimally obstructed views (i.e., if afraid of heights, be warned). Door to bathroom is a very large movable mirror wall. Never seen anything like it. Shower is large with frameless glass door. Wi-fi is free and worked well. Gym was small but had everything you might need.

Room Tip: Go up for better views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank befrank1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As others have already said, this is a wonderful hotel, and we really enjoyed our 4 night stay. We were told the hotel is less than a year old and it's modern and innovative design reflects this. Our room on the 21st floor was a contemporary design in all white with a unique palm outline window. It was clean, of good size, with a very comfy bed. The air conditioning worked great and the empty little refrigerator was a good place to store liquids and treats. The staff we came across were both helpful and pleasant.
Although the hotel is not centrally located, it is easy to get into town. The subway stop, Europa Fira, is just an easy and quiet 5 minute walk from the hotel, and it has both escalators and an elevator if you need a little help (I had a foot in a cast!) We were able to use the subway to get to all the sights we had an interest in seeing. La Rambla/ Gothic area, Parc Guell, the Magic Fountains and museum and so much more. Just buy a T10 ticket and that will last you for quite few trips back and forth. If you are arriving here by taxi from the airport it cost us 27€, which we found out to be about right. There are also always taxis in front of the hotel if you prefer to get into town that way.
One of the highlights of this hotel is the rooftop pool and bar area. It is on the 27th floor and has an amazing view both day and even better at night. There is also a small indoor pool and a small gym, but we did not use these. What we did enjoy was a starlit night cap at the bar. It has a wonderful ambience and perfect on a late summer night. We had 2 glasses of wine and it was only 6€! What a treat for a hotel bar not to gouge you!
Breakfast for us was included, so not sure of the cost, but we really enjoyed it. It is buffet style and served on the 14th floor in a bright and tropical setting. There is a large variety of tasty foods and also a chef to freshly prepare eggs any way you want them. Service is good, but if you hit it at rush hour (usually around 10 am) there can be a line and service and food replacement can be slow. Just wake up a little earlier and it's much better experience!
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We would definitely stay again on future trips to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snormy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,122 reviews
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,258 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#175 of 512 in Barcelona
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#123 of 512 in Barcelona
2,479 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel

Property: Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Address: Plaza Europa, 50-52, 08902 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#1 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing