We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Barcelona Gem”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Opted to stay at this Renaissance as it was closest to the port prior to our cruise and we are so glad we did. Our stay was for one night only but a real delight. The hotel itself is a 27 -story tower, very modernisitic in design with windows that have to be seen. We were comped with a "jr. suite" on the 21st floor with stunning views. The room is very modern, with white on white décor. The shower is large and has a rainfall fixture, a real luxury in any hotel. The rooftop has a small pool and full Barcelona views. Please try the hotel's Palmer restaurant for tapas. The biggest surprise yet. The mushroom croquettes and grilled calamari were exceptional. The breakfast buffet was possibly the best hotel buffet we ever had. While the hotel is a bit removed from central Barcelona (it is located on a metro line), a stay here will not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyb406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    429
    99
    22
    16
See reviews for
208
602
41
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was the most chic, modern hotel I have ever seen! Hallways to the rooms were very dark, but not in a creepy way, just modern and classy....although some folks may have a hard time getting around.....also doors had no handles and you could barely see where the door entry was! We stayed in a Junior suite which had the long, thin eye shaped window (can't think of the proper term for this shape!). Everything in the room was white or mirrors. Basically shower was in bedroom....not super functional (and kinda slippery) but tres' chic! A sliding mirrored wall divided bathroom/shower from bedroom.

We really enjoyed the pool on top deck and had the best sangria of our 9 night trip. Awesome views of the city from deck. Loved the pool deck bed loungers.

The elevators are glassed in and you can see outside and inside the hotel,,, very cool but gave hubby the quivers!

It was a short 10-15 minute ride to airport but it was not cheap....maybe because it was 4am, but cost nearly 40 euros.....maybe we got ripped off but we were too sleepy at that point to care!

The immediate area is very much office high rises, not much character. We did take the public bus across the street as directed by front desk.....it stopped frequently and we got off near plaza espana...I'd say 15 minutes away from hotel....

Bottom line, the quality of the hotel vs. the price was incredible. I think you could use it as a base for touring the city but it is not ideal. It seemed most guests staying there on the Saturday night I was there also had flights the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband was on an official visit to Barcelona and we got to stay in this hotel due to the proximity of the venue for MWC '13.

It's a fantastic hotel to stay in except for being located outside the core city area. Nonetheless it is connected well to the city by the metro with just 2 or 3 stops away from Plaza Espanya. The walk to the plaza from the hotel is enjoyable as well. The hotel has vertical landscape concept which is quite fresh. The breakfast buffet is quite sumptuous. Take time for it. Also there is a gymnasium an a small pool area with a good view to enjoy yourself in the evenings .

Room Tip: Room on a high floor to enjoy the lift ride :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilianfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at the Renaissance because the very few hotels close to the airport were all full. It has a great architectural design and some rooms have top notch views on the Monjuich hill and olympic complex. The rooms are what you expect from a Renaissance hotel in terms of comfort, cleanliness and amenities. The top floor poolside bar is a nice place to chill out. I also agree that the restaurant food has nothing to rave about and they also need a kids' menu. All in all at 110 euros a room, it's quite good value for money and very convenient if you need to catch a morning flight.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,959 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have stayed trice at this hotel and will come back again and again whenever in Barcelona whether for business or with my family as I did the last time in 2012. People are so, so wonderful, they truly strive to make your stay the best. I loved their tiny club lounge and the rooms at the club level. Rooms are comfy, clean and fully furnished, and they keep them upgraded year after year from what I saw.

Is located in El Prat de Llobregat, near to Barcelona Airport with a free shuttle back and forth. They also provide free shuttle round trip to Barcelona (main bay) as per schedules. I enjoyed their food at the restaurant and swimming in the outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: "is a circular building, you may want to look for a garden view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank idrovoviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If I was on my first ever trip to Barcelona, I probably wouldn't stay here, because the location, in my opinion, is a little far out to keep going back and forth to the obvious tourist sites.

This was my 4th trip to Barcelona, and as such, I'd already seen the Gaudi park/buildings, the montjuic fountains and the Ramblas several times. Therefore I didn't mind being a little further away from the centre.

The hotel isn't too far out. There is a station (Europa Fira) outside the hotel, which connects in Espanya, approximately 10 minutes away, which then links in to the other lines on the metro network. One great advantage is the distance from the airport is reduced to just 10 minutes by bus. Catch the no 46 for just 2 Euros and save the 30 Euro taxi fare each way.

The highlight of this hotel, in my opinion, is the roof top pool and terrace which gives you 360 degree views of Barcelona. You can have a quiet two hours sun bathing and pool time between 10 am and 12pm, before it gets busy, by which time you are probably cooked and want to go indoors for a while anyway. I also enjoyed returning in the evening to enjoy the night time view and have some drinks beside the pool. I found this to be far more relaxing than cramming onto the beach at Barcelonetta with a few thousand other people.

I was very pleased with the room at the hotel. It was easy to store everything away and keep the clean minimal look. The rain shower was also really nice. The bed was pretty comfortable, though the lack of headboard or cushions made it a bit uncomfortable when trying to watch TV etc. The air con worked without any problems.

There are several lifts in the hotel so I was never kept waiting more than 30 seconds to get where I needed to go.

Service was somewhat hit and miss. One of the reception staff was always very helpful. On other occasions when other staff were on shift, we would be ignored for a really long time whilst they talked to one another, which was very rude and unwelcoming. Cleaning was also inconsistent. Following cleaning, we would always have to call reception to ask for towels, or tea/coffee which had not been replaced, and sometimes we would return to find the same dirty mugs had been left in the room.

There is a large shopping centre across the street which includes a selection of restaurants, and a large supermarket where you can buy pretty much anything you might need. The website says open 10am - 10pm every day, but don't get caught out on a Sunday, when in fact the shops are closed and its just a few of the restaurants that are open.

Overall I loved my room and I loved the pool. I also liked being just a little distance away from the noise of the city centre, yet close enough to enjoy it whenever I wanted to. For the price I paid, the pool, and the convenience of the airport transfer, I am willing to overlook the issues with service, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U2fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Everything is great at this hotel, but what you really can not forget is the design.
Good food, great waitresses serving your breakfast ( all are helpful).
Good location close to Metro station, few minutes away from Plaza Espagna. The gentlemen at the reception are so professional and hospitable.

nice swimming pool at the roof top. Don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,105 reviews
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,225 reviews
Eixample
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Hotel
#159 of 513 in Barcelona
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,436 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel

Property: Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Address: Plaza Europa, 50-52, 08902 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#1 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 357
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing