We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay”
Review of AC Hotel Som

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AC Hotel Som
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, friendly helpful staff, close to train station( 5 min walk). Close to supermarket Carrefour and Mall (Gran Via 2) Free Wifi available in lounge. Breakfast was good with a choiceof hot and cold food. A Kebab/pizza shop close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramypott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for sharing your good experience at the AC SOM by Marriott. We are glad tou have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    264
    85
    20
    12
See reviews for
110
195
22
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC Area
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The AC Hotel SOM is a reasonably priced, attractive, post-modern structure in a nearby residential area of Barcelona. It's very convenient to the airport by bus (the 46) and commuter rail. Rooms are "compact" with minimalist furniture (no storage at all: no drawers, no closet, no armoire). Thus, you must live out of your suitcase. There's free WiFi in the lobby (slow, but usable), and outrageously priced WiFi in the rooms (1€/hour). Breakfast is also outrageously priced; 16€ , when you can get breakfast at any cafe in the city for under 5€. On the plus side, the staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful with advice on local travel and events. The city center at Pl Espana is 2 stops (about 5 minute away on RENFE commuter rail subway; the walk to the station is about 5 minutes. So the location is better than it might seem. Still not as good as a hotel in the city center, but close enough to be a reasonable alternative to much higher priced center city hotels.

The neighborhood is fine, but is almost exclusively residential and offices (as well as law courts), so there really isn't much in the way of local food or entertainment. Plan on taking the RENFE/Metro for all meals and other activities. As you can get to most desirable locations in 15-20 minutes this is not a serious handicap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your comments about your stay at the AC SOM by Marriott.

Our stylish minimalist rooms all have a wardrobe with different kind of hangers, a couple of drawers the extra blanket and even the safe deposit box inside.

Obviously you can also get a 5€ breakfast at our restaurant, if you just ask for a coffee and a pastry, but what we mainly offer is our buffet with a large selection of quality products.

The charge for the internet use in the rooms is a chain standard, what we have recently made is improve our service and now you only pay for the hors you want to use, and becomes cheaper by increasing the use.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

AC Hotel Som is not in the heart of Las Ramblas but taking the train allows accessibility to all parts of the city. Modern in every way with a bar and breakfast room adjacent to reception. The room is large by European standards with a modern bathroom containing amenities and a wonderful working shower and tub. Actually a quiet neighborhood with restaurants, cafes, and Carrefors within walking distance. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful with information about the city and the hotel's location. Just be careful if you use taxi service---may take advantage and jack up the rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your nice comments about your stay at the AC SOm by Marriott.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona, and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and whilst i was please with its location (given its close proximity to the Fiera where an expo was being held) and room quality, the staff leave much to be desired. The Hotel is located quite close to the Fiera and also a tube stop is close by. There is also a shopping complex nearby with a number of different restaurants. There is free wi-fi in the lobby whilst it costs 12 Euros for wi-fi in the rooms. Breakfast is a huge let down, in particular when one pays 16.50 Euros and most of the food has not been replenished. Every time I had breakfast it took ages for the staff to replace the empty plates, or bring clean glasses. Moreover the bar in the reception was rarely manned, especially during the day, hence making it an almost impossible task to order a drink or some food. With regards to the receptionists these tried their best however even ordering a taxi in the evening was sometimes a hassle.
Would I stay again? I think so since the hotel is very comfortable and clean, however I truly hope that the quality of the staff improves.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience at the AC SOM by Marriott. It's relly important for us.

It is surprising that you've found our staff unproffesional, as you can read in almost all the previous reviews they allmark them as specially helpful and friendly.

Our brakfast time starts at 7 and ends at 11 o'clock, but sometimes most of our guests have the service at almost the same time, and that makes difficulties in replenishing the variaty of dishes offered.

Also thanks so much for your kind words about the cleanliness and confort of our rooms.

I hope we can welcome you back in your next visit to Barcelona, I'm sure you'll appreciate our efforts to improve every single day.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Even as MC Gold Rewards, was not provided complementary breakfast as with other Marriott brands globally. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and had a take what you want mini bar stocked with soda and water included. Quick walk to the shopping mall, restaurants and a super market. Commuter train access to Barcelona is a few blocks away. Again, had to reserve 2 rooms as there is a 2 person per room limit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveI1302JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your comments about your stay at the AC SOM by Marriott Hotel.

As a Chain standard we don't have breakfast included as a reward's benefit, other marriott's brand do.

We are glad you enjoy the visit yo the city of Barcelona, and hope we can welcome youback soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ok hotel for short buiness stay, not so much for couples. Good location close to the fair. Rooms a bit too dark. Clean, good size of the room. Breakfast should be bigger, not enough replenishment. Staff ok. Would recommend for shorter stay very good for business people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvette79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your nice review.

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at the AC SOm by Marriott and your visit to Barcelona.

We are thinking about increasing the space for the brakfast buffet, for our guests to enjoy the variety and quality of our products.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we had a lovely stay in this hotel, the receptionist were all very helpful, the breakfast staff were so lovely, we had booked in for breakfast, which was so inviting and so many things to tryand you could go in anytime from 7-11, the bar staff in the bar/lounge area were always on hand. the room was spacious and clean, we felt really comfortable here, we visited Barcelona via the metro with help and advice from receptionist, we visited the mall that was local, we went to a beach via the bus another good experince.
i would recommend this hotel, book breakfast in advance when you book.

Room Tip: our room was third floor and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your nice words about the AC SOM by Marriott!

It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona...and our breakfast buffet too!

Hope we can welcome you back soon

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
656 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Som

Property: AC Hotel Som
Address: Arquitectura 1-3, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain (Formerly Minotel Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#5 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Som 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Som Hotel has an ideal location for all guests, especially for those who come to Barcelona, either for leisure or for work, finding a few minutes from downtown and the airport. This modern and functional hotel is located in the new trade fair area of Barcelona, at the Fira 2 and within walking distance of some of the most famous museums and cathedrals of the city. In the surrounding area has a wide range of shops and restaurants by the mall near the Gran Via 2El Hotel AC Som cuenta con una localización idónea para todos sus huéspedes, en especial para aquellos que llegan a Barcelona, ya sea por ocio o motivos de trabajo, al encontrarse a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad y del aeropuerto.Este moderno y funcional hotel está ubicado en la nueva zona ferial de Barcelona, concretamente en La Fira 2 y a poca distancia de algunos de los museos y catedrales más famosos de la ciudad condal. En sus alrededores dispone de una ámplia oferta de tiendas y restauración por la proximidad del centro comercial Gran Via 2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Som Barcelona
Ac Som Hotel Barcelona
AC Hotel Som Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing