We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option with easy access to central Barcelona!”
Review of AC Hotel Som

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Som
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the AC Som with Marriott Rewards points post-cruise and were pleased with our choice. Yes, this hotel is not in central Barcelona and all of the tourist sites, but there is easy access through the nearby Ildefons Cerda metro stop and a short ride and transfer to everything in your guidebook. In exchange for having a little inconvience by not being in the middle of Barcelona, the rates at this hotel are excellent and our rooms were large (even by American standards) and stylish. A large upscale shopping mall (GranVia 2) with a Carrefours grocery and IKEA are within a reasonable walking distance.

Our two connecting rooms on the 9th floor were large, clean, and quiet. (Another reviewer noted the small size of their room, but our standard rooms were very spacious and had large, well-equiped bathrooms with tub/shower combos). The entire property has a hip boutique hotel vibe and the staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby offers a free wifi connection-- if you need to use the business center computer in the lobby, there is a small fee. The guest services staff were friendly and and fluent in English for non-Spanish speaking travelers. Marta, in particular, was very helpful with our early arrival and baggage storage until our connecting rooms were available later in the day.

A highly recommended hotel for those who need to be in the Fira area, or who would like to have an enjoyable and stylish stay for less money and only a short train ride away from all that Barcelona has to offer!

Room Tip: Rooms 904-905 have a connecting door and are on the top floor-- very quiet and spacious rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfitzger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your nice words about your stay at AC SOM by Marriott, we are glad you have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona.

Specially for those about the kindness and efficiency of our staff.

Hope we can welcome you back in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 554 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you take the bus from the airport, get off when you see a big mall called Granvia and from there it is a easy short walk to the hotel.

First the complains. I had booked my room through a third party. After that I wanted to know if i could drop my bags off and my numerous emails to Marriott gave me no answers and when I got the hotel's direct email and I emailed them in both English and Spanish, I still did not get an answer. Another thing they should do is have a garbage bin in the lobby so after people eat their stuff there is somewhere for them to throw their rubbish.

The hotel however made up for their non response to my email by allowing me to check in early which was a really good first face to face contact. I arrived at 9 am and asked the person at the counter if I could leave my bags with them,. Her response is.. well let me see if i have a room for you to check in early. Bonus points!. I did and was able to take a shower and freshen up before heading into the city.

Rooms were nice and tasteful and the floor was hardwood/laminate. Free wifi in the lobby. Location of hotel is near a mall so very convenient to get food from restautants or supermarket. It is also close to Ildefons Cerda (metro stop) There is a telly, fridge, safe, window that opens, and a washroom with shampoo etc. I enjoyed my stay here and I would return an recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ichinensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your nice words about your stay at the AC SOM by Marriott.

We feel very sorry for the inconvenience with your previous email, it seems (and I don't know why) as if we had not received it.

About the garbage bin, there's a small one close to the Bar, the stilish Hall does not allow us to place a biger one in other place.

We hope that you will keep your word, and come back again. It will be our pleasure to wellcome back to AC Som by Marriott!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed one night before a cruise, staff was friendly upon check in and room was ready.

Room was very clean and modern, but extremely small. This is my 6th trip to Europe, so I know what room sizes are but I still consider this very small.

Room had a good shower, beds very small. Very tight fir for 2.

Overall no issues, for the price it is right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your nice comments about your stay at the AC SOM by Marriott.

All our modern and stilish, rooms are Standard with a similar size.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed one night at the AC Som after the Catalunya Grand Prix; it's ideally situated a 20 minute bus ride from Barcelona airport. Friendly service, clean room with a lovely bathroom and very comfortable king sized bed. Free Wifi in the downstairs lounge and pay Wifi in rooms. Would certainly stay again. The area is not particularly buzzing, though a short cab ride takes you to restaurants and cafes. A bit too far out for a tourist trip to Barcelona, but great for business or other trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your high scoring and nice words about the AC SOM by Marriott, most of all for those about our friendly staff!

We are two trin stops far from Plaza España, that's 20' to Plaza Cataluña, the city's main touristic area.

Hope we can wellcome you back in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lovely rooms and very modern hotel with nice staff. Be aware if you are wanting to use the metro to get into town that you have to take the train ( 2 Euros each ) just to get to the first metro station.We did walk it a few times and it took about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: A higher room suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thanks so much for your nice words about the AC SOM by Marriott!

We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to Barcelona, and hope we can welcome you back the next time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the suburb of Barcelona with very good transport links, if you are visiting the city you will take some time to commute but the hotel has comfortable rooms close to a huge shopping centre Grand Via 2. Caring and friendly staff certainly make this hotel a good place. Thanks to Marta and Suzzana.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Mambol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your nice words about the AC SOM by Marriott, most of all for those about the staff (Marta and Susana will be delighted with them!)

we are glad you've enjoyed your visit to Barcelona, and we hope so welcome back you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel with modern décor within walking distance of the conference hotel. Staff were pleasant. Only criticism is that there is no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms - thought there would be as it is a Marriott hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IgnacioArias, Director General at AC Hotel Som, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks so much for your nice words about the AC SOM by Marriott.

We are close to Fira Gran Via, but also to City center and the Airport...

We write down your suggestion of a coffee/tea tray in the room. It is not a standard at AC Hotels by Marriott, but we are always ready to improve...

best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these L'Hospitalet de Llobregat hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Madanis Liceo
Hotel Madanis Liceo
#7 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Som

Address: Arquitectura 1-3, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain (Formerly Minotel Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#5 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range: $54 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Som 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Som Hotel has an ideal location for all guests, especially for those who come to Barcelona, either for leisure or for work, finding a few minutes from downtown and the airport. This modern and functional hotel is located in the new trade fair area of Barcelona, at the Fira 2 and within walking distance of some of the most famous museums and cathedrals of the city. In the surrounding area has a wide range of shops and restaurants by the mall near the Gran Via 2El Hotel AC Som cuenta con una localización idónea para todos sus huéspedes, en especial para aquellos que llegan a Barcelona, ya sea por ocio o motivos de trabajo, al encontrarse a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad y del aeropuerto.Este moderno y funcional hotel está ubicado en la nueva zona ferial de Barcelona, concretamente en La Fira 2 y a poca distancia de algunos de los museos y catedrales más famosos de la ciudad condal. En sus alrededores dispone de una ámplia oferta de tiendas y restauración por la proximidad del centro comercial Gran Via 2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your AC Hotel Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Som Barcelona
Ac Som Hotel Barcelona
AC Hotel Som Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing