We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the centre of Barcelona. Good facilities.”
Review of AC Hotel Som

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AC Hotel Som
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Near the centre of Barcelona. Good facilities.”
Reviewed April 22, 2011

It was not to expensive compared with other hotels ands hostels in the center of Barcelona, cause i get a promotion for a 6 days stay. The Hotel is near a metro and bus station that takes you to the Pl. Espanya and Pl.Catalunia - 15 minutes to the center. It has a great supermarket - Carrefour - a few meters of distance, and a cheap "indian" pizza and kebab shop right in front of it. You can eat cheap here instead of going to the center and expend all the euros on the expensive restaurants! The Hotel was cleaned every days, with a great service. They had a free mini-bar that was really great at the end of the day when you came back from your adventures in Barcelona. Air conditioned, several tv channels in spanish/catalan. The Hotel was a little noisy cause they've put us in a room right above the restaurant, when we asked for a high room, but it was ok, we didn't ask to move. The price of the breackfeast was 12 euros, too much. I've payed 460 euros for 6 days but it was ok compared with other hotels and hostels that were asking for 250-300 euros but with no personal bathroom and better facilities. If you're not thinking to go to a poor, miserable, and cheap hostel - to save all of you're euros - then you got here one of the best and cheapest Hotels in Barcelona!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRAVELLER666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    262
    84
    20
    12
See reviews for
110
194
21
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed at the AC Som for four nights while visiting Barcelona. The hotel was in a very convenient location from the airport and from the Ramblas shopping area. There is a Metro stop and a bus stop within five minutes walk from the hotel. It was four subway stops to the Ramblas area and a 20 minute bus ride to the airport. The hotel staff speak very good English and were very helpful in giving directions and answering all of our questions. Our room was well laid out with great amenities. There was a shopping center near by as well as two or three good restaurants. Be sure you buy the T10 (10 ride pass) for the subway rather than the individual tickets as there are two different companies and the single tickets do not work for both.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I read the reviews of this hotel and was a little worried about getting around. However, we found the location to be very convienent and easy. The cost of these rooms are a steal compared to others closer into the city center and it took us only 10 or so minutes to get to Pl Espana which is close to some of the major attractions such as the Montjuic fountain show, and from there you can get anywhere you need to see all the sights. You can easily pay $600 a night at other hotels to be able to walk out your door to the main area, save your money for other things and stay at this great hotel. The buses come right in front of a mall Gran Via 2 which is about 100 yards away. The night busses also run to this location. I had no problems paying 1.40 for the bus in and then another $1.40 to get on another bus if needed. We found the schedules easy to read and had no issues. Rooms were always clean and the free minibar is nice. We took a drink with us out each day and when we came back it was restocked. Other than the mall nothing else is in walking distance but like I said the night bus runs basically all night long and we always felt save coming back to this area and to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glbspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel embodies the modern flair and quality accomodations of the Hotel AC chain, but has the folly of being tucked away in an out-of-the way sleepy Barcelona suburb. Not much surrounds this hotel in terms of attractions, shopping, or restaurants due to its...at least within convenient walking distance. Although seemingly close to the airport and Sants train station, the dichotomous Barcelona metro system makes traveling to the city a unnecessary headache and wallet nuisance.

The hotel is within 2 blocks of the Ildefons Cerda metro station, which is part of the FGC metro line. Unfortunately this metro line will take you to Espanya station where you must get off and transfer to the TMB metro system thus requiring you to pay double fares if you are planning to go anywhere in Barcelona via metro. This applies to the airport too which would require you to travel the FGC and Renfe lines which do not operate at regular intervals during early morning and evening hours.

The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean with very nice modern rooms, however the inconvenient location for tourists and business travelers will single-handedly make or break your trip to Barcelona. If you are considering this hotel I would first take into account how you plan to get around the city to get where you are going because there are much more convenient options located in central Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canopyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

AC Som is located inbetween BCN Airport and Barcelona city centre (10min each way), which makes it an ideal location for a transit stopover or quick business trip
The surrounding area around the hotel is pretty uninteresting (think Ikea etc) but a short taxi ride and you are on La Rambla and the buzz of the catalan capital.
Hotel has recently been referbished and the hotel throughout has been done in a very funky minamalistic decor which I liked.
Rooms are compact, but again very cool and well designed as is the bathroom which was very clean.
Hotel seemes to be pretty quite when I was there and there were not many staff around.(receptionist was also the barman and waiter).
Overall a modern, solid hotel offering good value and transport links for a business traveller.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jevoIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Very good quality on the services offered, good balance between value for money. Excelent to have a free minibar in the rooms. Locations is just perfect for both business and pleasure.
Only one observation, the noise in the early morning for the rooms facing the neibor building under construction. However nothing related to the hotel itself or under their control. Just choose one room in the other side and that's it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiliLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#123 of 512 in Barcelona
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Som? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Som

Property: AC Hotel Som
Address: Arquitectura 1-3, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain (Formerly Minotel Capital)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#5 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Som 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Som Hotel has an ideal location for all guests, especially for those who come to Barcelona, either for leisure or for work, finding a few minutes from downtown and the airport. This modern and functional hotel is located in the new trade fair area of Barcelona, at the Fira 2 and within walking distance of some of the most famous museums and cathedrals of the city. In the surrounding area has a wide range of shops and restaurants by the mall near the Gran Via 2El Hotel AC Som cuenta con una localización idónea para todos sus huéspedes, en especial para aquellos que llegan a Barcelona, ya sea por ocio o motivos de trabajo, al encontrarse a pocos minutos del centro de la ciudad y del aeropuerto.Este moderno y funcional hotel está ubicado en la nueva zona ferial de Barcelona, concretamente en La Fira 2 y a poca distancia de algunos de los museos y catedrales más famosos de la ciudad condal. En sus alrededores dispone de una ámplia oferta de tiendas y restauración por la proximidad del centro comercial Gran Via 2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Som reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Som Barcelona
Ac Som Hotel Barcelona
AC Hotel Som Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing