We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable and not very satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Madanis Liceo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and not very satisfactory”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Air conditioning was very poor in the room. Extractor fan in the bathroom was also poor. When using shower water flowed out on to floor and also toilet seat got wet also causing warer stains on bathroom walls. Never mentioned shops closed on Sundays on website. Not having hotel reception desk in the building makes you feel isolated.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iAmDoonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
I very much regret the problem that arose during your stay in relation to air conditioning and shower water. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this most certainly caused you.
I can assure you that I have personally investigated the matter you mention in order to make sure such incidents do not happen again in the future. Despite our many efforts to keep our appliances working at all times, it seems that the incident you mention could not be handled by our maintenance team immediately.
I hope you will give us a second opportunity in your next visit to Barcelona. I am convinced that you will be fully satisfied with the hotel's atmosphere and the quality of its service.
In this case, do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next stay in Barcelona so that we can better accommodate your needs.

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    76
    29
    8
    8
See reviews for
35
98
19
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a great stay at the Madanis Liceo. It's simply the BEST cost/benefit you will find in Barcelona. I paid something like 50 euros/night on a 4-star hotel, including a small breakfast. The staff were always very kind and helpful. The hotel also has a great location, since it is located on a walkable distance from the Camp Nou Stadium and there is a metro station just across the street. I spent 10 days there and if I ever come back to Barcelona I WILL stay at the Madanis Liceo once again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielq2w3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your wonderful review. It is a great satisfaction for me to know that our clients appreciate the constant efforts that we make in order to offer them a perfect stay in our hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you among us and we will be very happy if you chose us again.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next stay in Barcelona so that we can better accommodate your needs.

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just got back from a 2day break here and already going to save to go back. If you want a rooftop swimming pool, luxury spa etc dont stay here but then why go to a city as beautiful as barcelona to stay inside a hotel all day!? This hotel couldn't have been more perfect for us, we had tickets to supercopa final and arrived at hotel really early am, so dropped bags off and bought tickets for big red bus for 2days. This hotels in perfect location you literally walk down the road and are at the camp nou, walk through there and the bus stop is there so easy to get to and from hotel and around the city. When we got back late afternoon our bags had already been walked from main reception to the room. Cannot praise reception staff highly enough, in my ignorance my Spanish is poor but their English possibly better than mine too! They explain everything about the city, provide tickets if requested and remembered me by name when I went back in reception next day! Fantastic :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamonemofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your generosity and kindness with us. It's such a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services !
Thank you especially for your kind comments about our Reception team. I will definitely let the staff know about them. They are very professional and love their job and I feel really proud of them.
Please, contact us directly for your next visit to Barcelona, we will do our best to offer you the best conditions. You know now that Madanis is your home in Barcelona.
Kind regards.
Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Madanis Hotel for a great weekend in July. The rooms were clean and spacious with a big bed, dressing table, bathroom (sadly no bath but a big walk in shower), double wardrobe, and a mini bar.

The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. Upon arrival the lady at the desk gave us a map of Barcelona and explained where we were and where the nearest metro was and what tourist sights were near. We booked a bus tour of Barcelona and a tour of the camp nou through the hotel which we were given a discounted price and they fully explained how to use the hop off and on bus tour and what routes there were.

In the lobby there is a bar and seating area, and a seating area outside the hotel which is kept clean and tidy. Breakfast could be better, not the kind of breakfast you have in England, hot food are things such as salami and ham which arent to my taste but there are pastries, fruit, bread/toast, and cereals to eat so I didn't starve!

The only downfall is the location of the hotel as it is far out, however camp nou is right around the corner. Also the metro is just a few minutes away so you can get places with ease. The bus stop for the tour of barcelona is right outside camp nou so is very close to get to. Have a walk around and you will find shops such as Zara and mango for clothes, and their are plenty of supermarkets around.

We were quite unsure which restaurants to go to as they all looked pretty much the same but the hotel has a list of restaurants they recommend so definitely ask for one on arrival.

We both had a fantastic weekend at this hotel, and would definitely return again when visiting barcelona as it is worth every penny. Even thinking of returning next year with my friends! I would definitely recommend staying here (however if you're wanting to sit by a pool then this isn't the hotel for you, but there are nice beaches you can go to if you get the bus)!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cej95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for such a complete review about Madanis Liceo. Even us, couldn't have written it better!
As you said Madanis is a very clever option, not pool, not garden but a very clean and comfortable urban Hotel with the Metro Station just in front the entrance, the Camp Nou some minutes far and all the standards of a 4* with a very attractive price. It's true that Barcelona has very nice beaches which really deserve a visit and the bus which takes you there has its stop just in front of Madanis!
We hope you will come soon again, don't hesitate to contact us in order to have the chance to prepare specially for you the best offer.
See you soon!

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week during a trip to Barcelona. It's very modern, clean and in an excellent location (within a 1min walk of Collblanc metro station on line L5). The pictures on their website and here on TA are exactly what the rooms look like. It's about 25mins by metro to the centre and within 10mins of the Camp Nou (Barcelona FC). The metro service is very frequent (every 5 mins up to late evening). We didn't use the reception other than to check-in. The hotel also has computer access and wi-fi available. Down the road about 10mins away is the Carrefour supermarket. We'd recommend buying goods (e.g. water) from here as it's cheaper and stocks a wide variety of goods. The supermarket is beside Badal station. One thing the room lacked was a fridge. In the heat of the summer we really could have done with a fridge to keep our drinks cold. Come on owners, get fridges in the rooms. Overall great value for money, handy for the metro and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_c99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and the detailed description you give of our facilities. The information you provide about the hotel's location and services will no doubt be very useful to future guests.
It's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Hotel met your expectations.
As for the fridges, we took the option no to put them to let the room more free, but, of course, we'll consider your suggestion.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next stay in Barcelona so that we can better accommodate your needs.

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We got home from a 4 night stay at the madanis liceo last night and have to say, we were impressed! The appearance of the hotel is very smart with good facilities. The bed was very comfy after a full day of exploring and the big shower was fab. The rooms were really clean, with a maid service daily. Towels, hairdryer, a good sized safe and a few basic toieltries are all provided free of charge. Wifi was free and could be used in the room, you just had to log yourself in each time you used it (diff code per device). And the air con was very welcomed! I am a very light sleeper and wasn't woken once by outside noise from the streets, which is unusual for me on a city break. There are several metro stations nearby making it perfect for location if you want to get around the city. We'd recommend getting this from the airport if you are thinking to use the metro during your stay as it makes sense to get the day tickets. The hotel is then really easy to find. We didnt use the reception much but on check in and out the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were several food places nearby, which although not the best meals we had in Barca, were convenient. I'd recommend heading to other areas for better food though personally. Along Carrer de Sants were plenty of options for breakfast including a lovely place we found doing fresh croissants 3 for €1.50! There's also a carrefour (supermarket) along there, amongst other things. We used badal metro daily and went to these places on our way there. This hotel really was perfect for our city break and much nicer than my hotel in many of the European cities i have stopped before. Our only comment would be that it could do with a fridge in the room to keep your bottled water cool over night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatieJayyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and the detailed description you give of our facilities. The information you provide about the hotel's location and services will no doubt be very useful to future guests.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next stay in Barcelona so that we can better accommodate your needs.

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights (July 3-6). It was the first leg of our three-week Europe trip, and we were not sure what to expect of hotels in general on this side of the Atlantic. We were pleasantly surprised!

From the airport we took the metro to the hotel and although we took the farther exit about a block and a half away, it was still easy to find! If you get out of the proper exit, you will find yourself at the doorstep to the hotel. Check-in was around the block at the reception for Hotel Madanis but it was quick and efficient, and we had help carrying our luggage around the block and up the flight of stairs to reach the lift on the first floor. Great service right off the bat, we were given a walking map of the city with the main sights pointed out, and a quick explanation of the metro.

The room was not huge but comfortable enough for the two of us, we each had a suitcase + carry-on backpack and we didn't find space to be an issue. The bed was comfortable, TV had a couple of English channels, air conditioning was perhaps weak when you first turn it on but once it gets going, nice and cool especially at night. The electronic safe in the closet was very useful to store our valuables when away. A downside for us was that there was no mini-fridge but I'm not sure if there are more expensive rooms that would be equipped with these. Also, no pool, but we would probably have had to pay more to stay in a hotel with one.

We were up on the 3rd floor and it was nice and quiet. Bathroom was huge! The shower was also the largest one we saw on the trip, though it has no door or curtain (European style, as we quickly learned) so we just had to be mindful of not getting water everywhere.

Location-wise, it was fantastic. As mentioned, steps from the Collblanc metro station (side note - Barcelona's metro was the best we encountered on our trip, clean and air conditioned!). Mcdonald's also right in front of the hotel for quick eats, but there are also several restaurants within a couple blocks of the hotel, ranging from tapas to Italian to this bakery just up the street that smelled heavenly when you walk past. There's also some shopping to be done, from smaller local stores to a Mango and a Zara outlet just across the street. If you are a Barca fan then this is an excellent place to stay if you're watching a match or just visiting Camp Nou, it was no more than 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. We didn't get to do much sight-seeing (suffering from jetlag during those few days) but with the metro so close by it was easy to get to places we DID see - Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, and the shopping at Passeig de Gracia.

In summary: great hotel, modern facilities, very well-located. Most importantly, the price was just right, especially for the quality of our stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chewy929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehuguet, Gerente at Hotel Madanis Liceo, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your detailed review about our premises and services. We couldn't have done it better! Be sure that all the information you provide will be very useful for future travellers.
We are very happy to have been your first place in Europe.
You are very kind to mention our staff, they are excellent professionals and their first aim is to please our guests.
If you visit again Barcelona, we will be very happy to welcome you at Madanis. Don't hesitate to contact us to let us offer you a special offer with the best conditions.
Kind regards from Barcelona.

Madanis Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Madanis Hotel
#256 of 512 in Barcelona
471 reviews
Les Corts
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
Senator Barcelona Spa Hotel
#275 of 512 in Barcelona
1,363 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Stadium
NH Barcelona Stadium
#201 of 512 in Barcelona
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,745 reviews
Aparthotel Atenea
#223 of 512 in Barcelona
615 reviews
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madanis Liceo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madanis Liceo

Property: Hotel Madanis Liceo
Address: Francesc Layret, No 2, 08903 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madanis Liceo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Liceo is a great option to enjoy the comfort and atmosphere of the Madanis Group at very affordable prices. Madanis Liceo is part of a trend-setting group of hotels whose goal is to offer their clients the services of a high-end hotel at the lowest possible price.Located just steps away from the Camp Nou in a residential but lively area, Madanis Liceo is just in front of the Metro Station of Collblanc and served by several bus lines that will take you to the city center within minutes. The Turistic Bus line is also next to the Hotel. All the rooms are equipped with a hair dryer, air conditioning, a full-equipped bathroom and a safety box. In addition, the hotel offers free wifi in all the rooms and two business points with two computers connected to the internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Madanis Liceo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madanis Liceo Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing