We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip in Barcelona” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Business Trip in Barcelona”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Last November (2013) I had another business trip in Barcelona and opted for the Hotel Porta Fira as it was nearby the conference I was attending.

Nice design hotel and great location just in front of the "Fira Barcelona" trade fair. 5 min, walk to the nearest metro station.

Negative comments:
The room was very minimalist not worth the price level for that hotel. This means the overall price was too high for what one gets.
The hotel restaurant was OK if you just eat there one night or two at max.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDX65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirportafira, Manager at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion about Hotel Porta Fira.
We really appreciate your comments about the Hotel design and our Spiral Restaurant.
Regarding the rooms, we have different room categories distributed in 24 floors. Each category has different size and different design depending on the floor.
If you give us the opportunity to welcome you again I am sure that your new experience will cover your expectations.
Thank you very much again for your opinion, that is the best way we have to improve our services and facilities.
Best regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    461
    90
    18
    8
See reviews for
129
353
56
372
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Towering over its neighbors, the Porta Fira is an architectural wonder - tall, bright red and oddly shaped. It certainly makes finding it easy to say the least.

The Porta Fira is a very modern and well run hotel. The rooms are large and airy. The beds firm but very comfortable. The shower is a room unto itself - as large as my entire bathroom at home!! Hot water and water pressure abound.

If you book through their webside wifi is free. The wifi is better on some floors than others and always strong in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet is good but expensive. For a cheaper option go to the small bar next door where coffee and a good sandwich will set you back less than 5 Euros. If you need dinner and don't want to go into town there is a great shopping centre across the street with over 20 options for food, not to mention good shopping.

Right on the metro and a short taxi ride from the airport this is a great location. Made even better if you are in town for a trade show at the Fira Barcelona which is just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at the Porta Fira hotel last weekend. It is an impressive looking building and the interior is immaculate. Although out of the city centre, transport into the city and to the airport is easy and cheap (see below for my own transport guide). The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The rooms are lovely with great views of the city outskirts. We were on the 13th floor. The corridors are very quiet and there was next to no noise from the roads outside. We had no problem sleeping. Breakfast was excellent!! Great choice! A few wonky table legs though so watch for that.

The only issue for me was that the toilet/shower area in the room is only boxed in by frosted glass panel. It is not in its own room (like a usual an en suite). As a result, there is next to no privacy when using the toilet or having a shower. There are also gaps in the glass panel so even with the doors closed over, there is no privacy. I wouldn't share a room with anyone other than my partner put it that way! Also, no kettle, tea/coffee or complimentary water in the room which is always a bug bears of mine.

To get around follow my guide: When leaving the airport terminal take a right along the walkway until you reach the bus stance for service '46 Barcelona'. It's 2 euro and get off at the stop directly outside IKEA on the main road (should take 15 minutes). The hotel is just round the corner from IKEA. To get into the city use the 'Europa Fira' Metro Station. Come out the hotel, turn left, cross the road and you'll see the stairs leading down to the Metro. Use the ticket machine (which can be read in different languages). Buy a T10 ticket at 9.90 Euro. This will give you 10 trips on the Metro. Each trip is considered as 75 minutes. So for 75 minutes you can use the metro's as much as you want and only lose 1 trip from your ticket. It should last you a while and is great value. You will have to get off at 'Espanya' stop and transfer to another metro line to get into the city centre 'Catalunya'. This will only take you around 20 minutes in total. To get back at night, just reverse the process. The metro is really simple and the hotel has metro maps. To get back to the airport, cross over the main road at IKEA and there is a bus stop. Get the service '46 Airport' which arrives every 25 minutes.

We did loads in Barcelona including the football, so any questions give me a shout.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Urabanrodeo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Location is 10min wants to shopping mall. Train station is near too. It was very safe to walk even late at night. The road was quiet but very safe even if you walk alone.

Walking distance to McDonald which is open 24 hours.

Breakfast spread was awesome. F&B manager and staff are friendly. Lift was a little confusing. Staffs are friendly. didn't move because we pressed a wrong button without realizing that it was for fire.

Room aid condition is off during winter. Not used to it as it can be stuffy. It was difficult to sleep. I suppose all Aircon across Europe are switch off during winter.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonrocky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night prior to catching a cruise. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, the food was good although the hot drinks at the breakfast buffet were somewhat tepid. We enjoyed free underground car parking for a week whilst away cruising, which is a great saving in Barcelona. The rooms are modern and very comfortable with a wet room shower and free wifi. Will use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times while attending exhibitions at the Fira (opposite) since it first opened. By taxi it is about 17 minutes from Barcelona airport (approx 25 euros with tip). There is a shopping centre very close to the hotel, with a huge supermarket, shops and fairly basic restaurants.

Remember this is not a city centre hotel. If you want to go to the centre, there is a metro (L'Hospitalet de Llobregat) a few minutes walk away, with trains to Placa Espanya (approx 8 minutes transfer time) from where you change to numerous metro lines (there is also a shopping centre with a good selection of restaurants here if you cannot be bothered to hike into town)

Purchase a ticket for 10 journeys if you are staying a few days or there is a group of you (we purchased a T-10 zone 1 multi person ticket for 9.80 euros the tickets and just handed the tickets on to each other as we travelled) The nearest station to the hotel and the city centre metros are in Zone 1. If you want to go to the city centre by taxi an average cost would be approx. 12 euros without a tip – depending on traffic this can take from about 15 minutes to 30 minutes.

The hotel reception/bar area is large and airy. The bar does get busy while exhibitions are on. Wine, beer and soft drinks are reasonable but the cost of spirits seem high about 14 euros, but the measures are enormous!

Rooms are bright and very clean. The bathroom is glass (modesty glass panelled) and very well lit, with a large mirror - great for putting your makeup on! Good range of channels on TV (including main news channels) and free wifi. Rooms on the upper floors get some good views back to the city if you are facing that way.

Downside - no kettle - I now take my own, but if you like an early morning coffee/tea you are disappointed. I did not have room service this time, but in the past this has been fine.

Breakfast is ok, although the hot food is not always hot - this has been a recurring problem, but there is a good selection, and the early start time 6.30 for breakfast is good if you need to be at the exhibition venue early.

Food served in the bar area is fine and reasonably priced. The restaurant does more formal eating, again not used this time, but have done so in the past when the who tabled opted for a set menu which was good.

Staff at the hotel are polite and friendly.

Like anywhere always ensure your bag is with at all times, a bag was stolen in the bar, and on a previous visit a bag was stolen at breakfast time. Just don’t give thieves a chance – they are very professional and this could happen anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We (me and my wife) stayed at the weekend in Oct 2013.The hotel is nice. Breakfast is very expensive. Rooms are lovely and have a modern feel. The view from upper floor rooms is great.
We arrived late on Friday and were allocated a twin room in spite of booking a double. The next day , when we requested they changed us to a double room but we were charged extra 15 euros. Make sure before checking in to confirm whether your room is twin or double.

While changing from twin to double room we lost a bag and brought this to the attention of reception. The staff initially could not find our booking and told us we never stayed in the twin room! Later they told us to wait & they will check with house keeping. We waited for 1 hour and they ignored us and kept serving other customers. Finally we went to the reception and asked them if they found our bag they simply told us they haven't found any & kept doing their work!

In general the hotel rooms are great but reception staff are rude and lack manners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukdoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirportafira, Director General at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing the Porta Fira Hotel for your last stay in Barcelona.
We really appreciate your comments because they are the best way for us to improve our level of service.
We have been analysing your incident and we have seen that you made your reservation without any requirements about having a double bed.
The next morning when you required a change to a Urban Room with a double bed, we could not offer you this possibility because the hotel was fully booked for Urban rooms and that is why we offered you a special price of 15€ for an upgrade to a Privilege Room with double bed. We looked on our system and also double checked with the housekeeping manager to verify if there was something left on the room you had the first night, as you mention here in your comments, unfortunately we did not find anything in our database.
On the other hand we would like to sincerely apologize if the treatment of our reception desk did not meet your expectations and for surely we will take note about your comments.
We will appreciate if you visit us again in the future and give us the opportunity to show you that our level of service fulfills our guest’s expectations.
We remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely,

THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hesperia Tower
Hesperia Tower
#117 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Som
AC Hotel Som
#4 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Property: Hotel Porta Fira
Address: Plaza Europa 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing