We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Whilst well out of the city area it is only a couple of minutes walk to the train station. Staff most obliging, in fact they are a real credit to management. Bed excellent, rooms large and spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very clean room and very attractive. Hotel has gym and sauna and staff is very helpful. I recommend that hotel to all the travelers

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgeAntoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in august,this hotel is so new,so clean,so modern and comfy! rooms were fantastic,beds were very comfy and everything very new and clean! they have free wifi, the staff are very helpful and friendly! The hotel is quite aways from downtown and all the sights but transportaion is easy to get too from here and there is a little mall with shops and restaurants just steps away! I would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chany O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We wanted a convenient location for the airport and underground, so this was a suitable choice. Modernistic architectural design with no sign of eco-friendly input - no solar panels, for example - and no-one who saw my photos thought it particularly attractive. Just functional and characterless. Reception was friendly and staff mostly spoke English, but there was a distinct lack of décor and ambience - it felt a little like a car showroom. Emerging from the lift, the corridors were stiflingly hot and filled with a dank, musty smell, as was the bedroom. The strangely-designed glass door to the toilet (mentioned in other reviews) folds onto the shower door to make a separate area, but it doesn't work as a design concept. We stayed overnight on two occasions - a week apart - and on both visits, the soapdish was filthy and the toilet door broken in both rooms we stayed in! Decided the charge for breakfast was excessive, and we ate for less than half the price elsewhere. Free wi-fi was a bonus, and the beds were very comfortable, but would need a better reason to return.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you want style or character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelessantos, Director General at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, thank you very much four your comments. Our guests' opinion is the best way than we have to improve our services and facilities.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to show you our improvements and would be a pleasure to visit with you our solar panels system.

Best regards.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We hold a conference for 25 peeps at this hotel and the service was amazing. Staff was really friendly and made always things possible in a really short amount of time. The rooms are clean, very modern, the view amazing...if you close the curtains u can sleep forever in the rooms as it is going to be pitch-black dark. It is really quiet as well, you dont hear your neighbours :)

I can totally recommend this hotel for either couples who'd liek to stay in a fancy hotel for a couple of days, for companies who'd like to hold a conference or for business meetings. It is wonderful!!!!!

I'd go back there at any time!

Room Tip: it is a red tower u can't chose the wrong room, maybe don't pick the ones with view at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innerimpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed one night here on the 3rd September. We choose the hotel as we were arriving in late to the airport and thought it would be a good mid way stop on our 1st night in barcelona between the city and the Airport. We were pleasantly pleased by the standard of the hotel, it is very new of course so that helps. Our room was a privilidge one and was reasonably spacious, beds and pillows were really comfortable if you like a medium to soft mattress. Shower was seperate to WC and sink was in the room. I actually would have preferred the grey colour scheme of the cheaper bedroom but thats just me.They provided slippers and bathrobe.There was a sofa and coffee table and work desk in the room with chair and wine fridge. The lobby/bar area was cool in an architectural way. The gym is small but gret views over the city and they have a steam room or sauna which if you give them 30 min notice they will turn on. My only gripe is for a hotel in barcelona and one of that height it really should have a roof terrance and a pool.
I would definately stay again i believe there is a train station close but we didnt find it. We got a taxi the next day into the city and it cost us under 20 Euro. The breakfast was expensive so we just had coffee and cossiants in the lobby the next morning from the bar. Tip the hotel is next to IKEA (and little else its a corporate business area) and if they are like any other ikeas theyll have a restaurant and are reasonable it was closed sunday though when we were there. There is a nice lookign cafe/restaurant round the side of the hotel but it was closed on a sunday also. We walked around the area next am but couldnt find any cafes except for the one in the adjacent building which was closed. There is a petrol station accross the road.Otherwise it was quiet rooms were very clean and cosy and staff were friendly.

Room Tip: We were in a high floor room overlooking the side looking towards the airport would have been nice i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Just 2 minutes walk from the metro station 'Europa/Fira', this modern hotel is absolutely comfortable, clean and convenient. Myself and my wife paid a bit extra to stay in a Privilege Room which has a lovely bath and shower room with a separate toilet. The staff at the front desk speak fluent English and were all willing to help. There is a large shopping mall called Gran Via 2 near the hotel. We had a lovely dinner in one of the restaurants. You can get almost everything without going to the city centre. Although the location of the hotel does not seem to be the best, actually we found it easy to get to the centre by metro. When you get out of the hotel, take the left and cross the first pedestrian crossing to your right and you will see the metro entrance.( which does not look like one! ) Unfortunately we didin't have a chance to use the fitness centre so next time if we can go back to Barcelona, we would like to stay longer in order to experience more of the hotel facilities. We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuppina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 518 in Barcelona
3,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#136 of 518 in Barcelona
2,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Address: Plaza Europa, 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range: $103 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hoteles Santos , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing