We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All basics covered well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chingola
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All basics covered well”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. The food was good despite the limited menu.
Wifi was a little unreliable but definitely good enough to use.
Well recommended for anyone looking for a place to stay in Chingola.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinoWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear SinoWino,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola. We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and that you enjoyed the food.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chingola again soon.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chingola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Protea is Tops!
I stayed at the Protea Chingola & was again very happy.
The hotel is unfortunatley a bit out of the way for most business but this is only due to horrible road infrastucture and on going road works.

The staff are Protea friendly!
The breakfast food was great, and I had dinner at the hotel & it was equally good.
Free WiFi was very helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Colm,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola and for scoring us a 5 out of 5! We are delighted to receive your compliments about the STAFF being friendly and the food being great. We will definitely congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chingola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A good hotel, considering the others in the area. Staff are friendly and helpful.
The Wifi is included, but sporadic at times.
Could improve on the television variety.
Meals served are decent, and relatively well priced.
A gym would be a welcome addition, seeing that it is mainly a business hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Pieter,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola and for scoring us a 4 out of 5. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chingola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was a nice hotel with an excellent service, excellent food (breakfast, lunch and dinner as well) and very fine possibilities to sleep deep, no noices - and also possibilities to swim a bit... nice experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Per W,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola and for scoring us 4 out of 5. We are delighted to receive your feedback regarding the excellent service and excellent food and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chingola again.

Kind regards,

Alison Hart

General Manager

Protea Hotel Chingola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Compared to the Protea at Arcades in Lusaka the Chingola version is a real let down. Rooms are clean, but service is very slow from restuarant. Breakfast was good. Internet comes and goes. During my stay the bar had no packets of chips or even peunuts. Staff sometimes battle do understand simple requests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir/ madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

We are concerned with your feedback regarding the service in the restaurant, the STAFF and the internet. We would really appreciate further feedback in order for us to investigate your comments further. Kindly contact me directly on marketing@proteahotels.co.zm.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced. Your experience by no means reflects the high standard of service that Protea Hotel Chingola is usually proud to offer.

Your interest and concern are much appreciated and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special for the price you pay but you won't get anything better in Chingola. restaurant food is good! Never received refills of coffee in the room. Toilets need some major attention as they very outdated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis-seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Luis,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

We have taken notes of your comments regarding the bathrooms and the coffee sachets being replenished. We apologise for the inconvenience this caused to you.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly valuable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally on, marketing@proteahotels.co.zm, for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chingola and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What an oasis in the mining town. Spacious and well laid out with a nice pool area and general ambiance.

Room was spacious with all the expected features. The DSTV boquet is the norm at all hotels in Africa.

Unfortunatley we did not dine or have breakfast.

I will stay there when I return

Room Tip: Away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Chingola, we are delighted to receive your compliments.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Chingola and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chingola
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Ndola
Protea Hotel Ndola
#2 of 4 in Ndola
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mokorro Hotel
Mokorro Hotel
#1 of 6 in Chingola
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icon Hotel
Icon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chingola
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Samfred Garden Lodge
Samfred Garden Lodge
#2 of 6 in Chingola
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola
Address: Kabundi Road, Chingola 50100, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Copperbelt Province > Chingola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chingola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Chingola - Affordable Luxury in the heart of Zambia's Copperbelt. Chingola, the most picturesque of the Copperbelt towns, is where Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Chingola offers a choice of 40 well-appointed, air-conditioned and en-suite rooms with tea/coffee making facilities, hairdryer, telephone, DSTV and free wireless internet access. The Restaurant offers a mouth-watering selection of meals, while the pub has a delightful variety of cocktails and drinks for a relaxed social get-together. After a long day, you can unwind and relax over sundowners on the terrace, next to the swimming pool. Conference and banqueting facilities are available for up to 120 delegates, while the gardens make an ideal venue for weddings, private parties and banquets.Sport and leisure activities include golf, fishing and swimming. The Business Centre will help with all office and secretarial services that the international businessman may require. Travel arrangements and car hire can be arranged at Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Chingola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing