We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meteghan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Havre du Capitaine
Ranked #1 of 1 Meteghan B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My family..stayed for one night. Will definitely return.
Staff were very friendly, we were travelling with my two year old grandson. Monette got her guitar and played and sang children songs to him. He loved it...and her. We really enjoyed our time relaxing at the end of the day around the fireplace.
Breakfast was enjoyed by all.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostladyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Fresh and clean large room, we were in 17, and very friendly and accommodating staff! Right across the road from the bay, with beautiful sunset view. Close to all necessities. The community itself was very friendly, in fact one of the friendliest places we have stayed! Will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enirehtakca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our ladies golf group(4) decided to go to Clare golf club to play 18 and stay over and have dinner. Someone suggested this location to stay and weren't we lucky!!!! The service was terrific and the rooms SPOTLESS!!! Lots of antiques and homemade quilts...very nice. Also we had decided to go to a local restaurant for dinner and did not want to drive as we planned on having wine with dinner. The owner of Au Havre du Capitane drove us to the restaurant and returned later to pick us up!!!! SUPERB service and thank you Louise. We would easily recommend this location...true warm service!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfgroup2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We drove down to bring our son to the Université Sainte-Anne the 1st of September 2013.
So glad we stayed with these extremely generous people that run Au Havre du Capitaine. The owners when out of there way to help us when we experienced car trouble. It was so much appreciated as they treated us as if we were family.
I highly recommend this place because of the caring people that run it and plan to go again and stay there or sure.
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
Maria LeBlanc and Roger Vautour

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

And again, a great room furnished with antiques. Very clean, comfortable, this time we had a room off the front porch and with (again) a great view of the bay. See my other reviews for more details and pictures. Louise is wonderful as always and in our two days there we both enjoyed chats with her, as well as seeing some of the beautiful quilts she makes. Breakfast is not included, but we had excellent breakfasts there for very reasonable prices. I noted in my last review that Louise is putting less emphasis on the restaurant, now it is closed except for breakfast. There's the quite nice fully licensed Around the Bend a few minutes south, and the outstanding La Cuisine Robicheau (a successor to Cafe Chez Christophe) a minutes north. The latter is VERY popular, so it's a good idea to make reservations at least a day in advance, and you do have to bring your own wine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from spending two nights at the Au Havre du Capitaine and it was beautiful. The room we had was very clean, beds were very comfortable and the washroom was very clean as well. Our room had two queen size beds, table and chairs, electric fireplace, mini fridge and a rocking chair.

We never had the pleasure of having our meals there as we were on the road touring each day. This is a go to spot if you are ever passing this way. The ladies are very helpful and go out of their way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.

We will be back for sure!
PS- Beautiful sunsets each evening- a pleasure to sit on the deck and watch!

Room Tip: The ground level rooms have a beautiful deck for guests to sit out in the evenings to watch the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnanovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great spot.. very clean, nice beds, modern bathroom, good breakfast... nicely appointed lounge area.. Great host who is also super quilter-- great prices on really artistic quilts, wall hangings. Highly recommended place to stay in the heart of Acadia/Clare. Acadien Festival/art all around.

Room Tip: Some larger rooms available - ask Louise. If WIFI essential, ask about that as well... most rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Au Havre du Capitaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Havre du Capitaine

Address: P.O. Box 127, Meteghan, Municipality of Clare, Nova Scotia B0W 2J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Clare > Meteghan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meteghan
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing