We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOES NOT HAVE BAR AND CANNOT SELL ALCOHOL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canvas Hotel Shymkent
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Shymkent
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“DOES NOT HAVE BAR AND CANNOT SELL ALCOHOL”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

OK, got that out of the way. It pretends to have a bar, in fact "Bootleg Bar" is written on the front of the hotel and described in the book in the room......but it doesn't exist. On the website it says "coming soon" and has for some time from what I can gather.

But....not one to be defeated, and liking a beer, if you go right out of the hotel to the first big junction, turn right, at the bottom hang a right past the bus stop on your right will be a big modern building. In there is a decent sized grocery store/supermarket that sells all manner of alcohol. Simply take it back to you room and put it in the minibar. Invite your friends, problem solved. There are also a bunch of eating places and even bars in walking distance, but I was only there one night. The Uzbek place the hotel suggests is very good (again right, straight past the first big junction and on other side of road) But only takes cash and doesn't seem to do change. Tashkent is only a short distance after all.

To be honest, I think the hotel is aimed largely at Arabs, as I saw a number in robes and others who weren't. It even smelt like an arab hotel (not that I have a problem, I am often in the Middle East) so I wonder if the bar will ever open......

Anyway, just wanted to put that to bed. The rooms are midsized, and decently equipped, too hot as usual as is every hotel in the FSU dating back to the district heating days. There is a window you can open, but midges started to intrude (It is still warm in Shymkent in November). Decent beds, bathroom worked, one door was hanging off of the wardrobe, but this is Kazakhstan. In the basement (which is not underground) is a good size pool, 15m but a bit shallow at one end to swim lengths (according to my translator), a jacuzzi, a sauna (tried by another colleague, he seemed happy) and a gym, which looked well equipped for a small hotel gym with modern stuff from a company I didn't recognise.

There is a restaurant and breakfast was decent apparently according to my colleagues, but of course no alcohol (Not that I drink alcohol at breakfast......)

Anyway, I would stay there again if I am in Shymkent, but the lack of a bar means I cannot mark it more than three blobs. For the non-drinker it is a a good choice I think.

BTW, the hotel cannot change money. Except they would change a US$100 bill, but nothing else. No idea why, or about the exchange rate. There are places to change money about 10 or 15 mins walk away. The supermarket is about ten mins walk by the way, Uzbek place closer (but you have to cross the road....use the crossings, stay safe).

Hope that helps, send me a question if you want, but please give me a few days to answer, I travel a lot with work.

Thanks

Tony

Room Tip: I don't think it makes much difference to be honest. I wasn't asked what type of room I wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyGWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
6
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gander, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

You may not need to book your flight to Shymkent too far in advance, but you had better book your accommodation well in advance. There is a limited amount of accommodation here, and an extremely limited supply of good "western style" hotels. From my observations over a week, only one to be precise, The Canvas Hotel. Built in 2011 & centrally located the Canvas is basically a Marriott Courtyard standard. It's clean, quiet and comfortable. Cable Internet in your room & wifi in the lobby are both free & fast. The staff are friendly and speak good English which isn't that prevalent in this small city. Italian seems to be a popular second language. The hotel has a small well equipped gym and a beautiful, indoor 20m pool where complimentary towel, gown, slippers & mankini are provided. The beds are clean and comfortable. The hotel does not serve alcohol yet but the license has been applied for & the coffee shop has a very good Asian/Middle Eastern flavored menu for lunch & dinner. A good breakfast buffet is included in the room rate. There is only one place to stay in Shymkent unless you are on a nostalgic mission to sample the old Soviet accommodation style.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinnieNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel website and literature claims 'you are the one in control', and 'we anticipate the utmost needs of our guests'.
What a load of old marketing rubbish - the Bootleg Bar (open until 12 midnight), was being used as a private dining room. One of the diners rudely told us that it was closed.
When I asked at reception what was going on, I was told in an off hand manner by a girl who clearly couldnt care less they dont really have a bar as they dont actually have a license to serve alcohol.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonPDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I several times visited Shymkent by busyness trip. And my third visit hes been grate because i stayed in Canvas Hotel Shymkent, which is new one. There are many kind of services which allow enjoy me in full: kind treatment from staff,nice Arabic restaurant with different delicious food, comfortable clean rooms, and last one best service which i never seen in Shymkent city when i visited before. Thank you Canvas Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalfan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shymkent hotels
0.6 mi away
Rixos Khadisha Shymkent
Rixos Khadisha Shymkent
#1 of 15 in Shymkent
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shymkent
Hotel Shymkent
#4 of 15 in Shymkent
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sary Arka Hotel
Sary Arka Hotel
#9 of 15 in Shymkent
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Orbita Boutique Hotel
Orbita Boutique Hotel
#3 of 15 in Shymkent
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kainar Hotel
Kainar Hotel
#5 of 15 in Shymkent
11 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sapar Standart Hotel
Sapar Standart Hotel
#6 of 16 in Shymkent
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canvas Hotel Shymkent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canvas Hotel Shymkent

Property: Canvas Hotel Shymkent
Address: 43, B. Momyshuly Avenue | Проспект Б. Момышулы, 43, Shymkent 160000, Kazakhstan
Location: Kazakhstan > South Kazakhstan Province > Shymkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Shymkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Canvas Hotel Shymkent 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel of international standards where local Kazakhstan art and the feel of contemporary meet; where casual design combines with quality service. It is a place for business and leisure, with comfortable rooms, welcoming atmosphere and unforgettable dining experience. Located in the heart of a long-standing historical city of Shymkent with its museums, art galleries and rich night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Canvas Hotel Shymkent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing