We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but overpriced. You pay for exclusivity and location.”
Review of Slavyanskiy Bazar

Slavyanskiy Bazar
Ranked #3 of 508 Restaurants in Tomsk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: It takes more than exquisite cooking to make a memorable meal. We at Slavianski believe an intimate atmosphere in the right location, personal and attentive service and great company are what separates a delicious dinner from an unforgettable experience.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Upon arriving in Tomsk, we walked down to the river. Right next to us we spotted this restaurant/cafe/hotel (with a very practically placed information panel outside it indicating that Chekhov had once dined there, and found that "lunches are good"), and decided to go for a small meal. We were promptly served (it was a weekday afternoon, so not busy at all) by a friendly, English speaking waiter. The food we ordered (soup and a Muksun salad) was certainly tasty. However, although we might have ordered more dishes, the prices put us off. The location is ideal, however, with a very large, comfortable outdoor seating area, perfect for good weather. In addition, a young woman was providing some live music entertainment, though she did give the impression that it was more for the cash than anything else, which is fair enough. There were, including ourselves, a grand total of 5 guests present outside. This added to the impression that this venue is a little piece of the big cities (think Moscow seen and be seen in the right places) in terms of vibe and prices. Though I could, of course, be wrong. The interiors were all rather plush, with the goal of recreating the Chekhov epoch, and probably a great place for an evening if you choose to spend a bit more. For us, overall, the food was tasty but pricey, and the location lovely for a special occasion.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DanielB011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 134 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016

Known as most expensive restaurant in Tomsk by locals, and featured on an episode of Anthony Bourdain's show, this restaurant was definitely fancy.

The prices are highest in Tomsk, but with current exchange rate of 62 rubles to $1, the menu prices are very reasonable -- about $5 for appetizer, $10 for entree.

I will give a warning...I am not a foodie. If you are a foodie, you may appreciate this restaurant much more than I did.

The cuisine is a fancy version of traditional Russian. For example, instead of regular Borscht, they serve cold Borscht. I prefer traditional warm borscht.

Overall, the atmosphere and service is good. They try hard to make the food seem special. But if looking for a hearty meal, this may not be the best choice.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Padillalawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2016

I have a business lunch at this restaurant. The lunch menu was only in Russian and they brought an English menu that have a great variety of dishes but with dinner prices.
The food was tasty Russian traditional.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Славянский Б, Менеджер по обслуживанию клиентов at Slavyanskiy Bazar, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2016

benjaminModiinIsrael, thanks for your feedback!

Very nice for us that we have been able to leave a good impression about Russian cuisine for our foreign guests ! We will prepare a lunch menu in English .

You are welcome to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Attended a business lunch. Everything is delicious, with a soul. Even for a business lunch and it does not. It seems that you were waiting for a visit. Cozy bright room. Corresponds to the ratio of price and quality. But all the spoils near the monument to Chekhov .

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Natalya772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slavyanskiy Bazar also viewed

Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
 
Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
 
Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
Tomsk, Tomsk Oblast
 

Been to Slavyanskiy Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing