We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, handy for Elephant orphanage, Sigiriya and Pollonaruwa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, handy for Elephant orphanage, Sigiriya and Pollonaruwa”
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Had we realised, I think we would have headed straight here from airport, as about same time as to the Mount Lavinia, but this is in great location to start your tour. Rooms are roomy bungalows in extensive grounds with much wildlife and birds. Good restaurant, (buffet style with great selection) and , overall, very comfortable. Good for a couple of days while taking in the sights

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llahsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    689
    162
    28
    20
See reviews for
603
1,129
48
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cinnamon Lodge. It is a very attractive hotel set in extensive, beautiful grounds with an amazing pool area. The various members of staff were all friendly, helpful, courteous & efficient, our accommodation was spacious, very comfortable & clean and our room boy,Samah Chandana was a gem who could not have done more to ensure our every comfort. The hotel was busy during our three nights' stay, which is good for business, though we found the bustle & noise at mealtimes rather detracted from the beauty of the restaurant's setting which overlooked the magnificent pool area.The hotel is within reasonable travelling distance to the Cultural Triangle while both elephant & jeep safaris are closeby. All-in-all our three night stay proved to be a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Recently I travelled to Sri Lanka on a business trip. My partners, from Cleansol, hooked me up into the hotel Cinnamon. As we drove from the airport to the hotel, I could see my host's apprehension on whether they had made a good choice. I will the truth ..... I was expecting a shabby hotel based on the overcrowded city that our car crawled through. Alas, when we got to our destination, the Grandeur and beauty of the hotel far exceeded my expectation. The staff were superb, hotel very clean and lively. The prices for a 6* is unbelievably low at $ 70 per night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HACCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights on a tour of Sri Lanka, and we were quite blown away when we were shown to our superior room (I've still never stayed in anything like this since!). The bed was lovely, there was a pillow menu, the room itself was very stylish with dark wood everywhere.
We had a room cleaner who was so lovely and helpful leaving beautiful towel art and flower designs every day.
The buffet was amazing (they had a walk in refrigerated room for deserts!!!).
It is a perfect location for touring to the different cultural triangle sites.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton_Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2009

I've learnt through experience now that although a place can get very good reviews, this means very little if the people writing the reviews have different expectations to you (no offence intended at all - I'm just making the point that we don't always compare 'apples with apples').

We stayed for 5 nights at Cinammon Lodge recently at the start of our honeymoon, and then 5 nights at Ceylon Tea Trails. Although Cinammon Lodge had nothing wrong with it - food fine, room lovely, grounds nice etc, it lacked a 'wow' factor for us. The buildings look pretty run down from the outside (wonder whether there had been a storm recently? or whether it's just the monkeys?!), the room was lovely inside though.

I found there to be too many staff being too eager to help, particularly at dinner time, when we would frequently be asked the same question by a number of different waiters - we got the feeling they were simply all competing for a tip.

I would recommend the hotel because as I say, there wasn't anything wrong with it - but I certainly feel we did things the best way round as had we been to tea trails first and then here, the huge drop in standards would have been a big shock to the system!

So - great mid-range hotel, but not the place to stay for out and out luxury and indulgence.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The over-enthusiastic service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wemaybesometime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

This was our second hotel on our tour in Sri Lanka and although it wasn't as modern and updated as the first on, we loved it. The grounds were huge and it was by the lake.The rooms are in little vilas all around the hotel grounds.Our room was nice, not very modern and maybe in need of updating,mainly bathroom,but it was cosy and comfortable.We absolutely loved the pool which was big and you got your towel by the pool as well.The restaurant was open air and massive and the buffet was really nice with huge choice of food: two kinds of soups and different starters, italian meal, indian, chinese, european and of course sri lankan.Desserts were separately in a cold room and they had big choice as well.The staff was realy friendly, sometimes a bit over friendly and they would do anything for you. The hotel has its own running track and a little botanical garden.You can book various trips in the hotel and elephant ride as well.It's a great base for lots of trips like sygiria rock.If you want to ride an elephant,it's cheaper outside the hotel,we did it nearby the sygiria rock.You can see wild elephants as well.Our driver took us just five minutes from the hotel and we did few stops on the road to anuradhapura and watched wild elephants and probably saw the same as in a safari jeep.
We were leaving the hotel at one o'clock in the morning and they gave us a paked breakfast to take with us.
I really cannot fault this hotel and loved every second of our stay.

  • Liked — the pool and the food
  • Disliked — our baathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed for three days here during a two week tour of Sri Lanka over Christmas in 2008.
For us, it was Christmas Eve at this place that was the highlight of our holiday. The amount of work that went into the evening by the staff, was terrific. All of the staff made a genuine effort to make the night special, and it worked.
From the carole service by local children, to Father Christmas arriving on an elephant, to the rest of the entertainment - the whole evening was most memorable. The range and quality of food was outstanding, and the kitchen and waiting-on staff first rate.
The only downside to the stay was the typical Sri Lankan hard mattresses - but even this was cured after I mentioned it to the reception staff.
A great place to base yourself when touring the cultural triangle in Sri Lanka. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Great pool, large beds, friendly staff,
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsitch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,497 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,365 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing