We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location friendly staff loads wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed many places probably best location nice apartments set tastefully in grounds .
Loads of wildlife monkeys , squirrels even the large one ,kingfishers nesting and lake that the will row you around for 300 rupees.
Evening buffet fantastic , staff very friendly although bar staff a little slow ,but I think that just a Sri Lanka thing.
We stayed 3 nights and had our own guide who had his own room on site so only a phone call away.
Lots of produce all produced in the hotel grounds including bees.

Word of advice don't book the jungle elephant trip ,we did 30 dollars each to walk up the side of a lake biggest rip off ever and guide spent whole time telling us if we paid more we would get nice trip ,when told him only wanted what paid for he turned elephant around and was hitting it to get back quick. Watched him extort 2000 rupees from a young couple for bananas the elephant had eat on their trip.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank asmith907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

The 138 species of birds & other fauna that have made their Cinnamon Lodge their home & our farm with its dairy & vegetable produce are aspects that have enhanced the holiday experience of many of our guest & we are glad you enjoyed it too.

Thank you for your review & for having stayed with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have been visiting Sri-Lanka for over 20 years and usually we stay in the South however we decided to do a trip with our friends from Australia. When we arrived at this hotel the room was basic and dark. I requested more pillows and soap as there was 5 in my family, the pillows were delivered to the wrong room and I never got the soap. The staffs English knowledge is poor which is unusual in Srilanka and the staff often ignored you as they did not understand I had to ask my husband to translate! The food was poor and we all ended up with stomach problems as food was not kept at correct temperatures. It needs to send staff to Kandalama hotel for training. There is no gym or spa only a swimming pool! A great disappointment after the Hilton.

Room Tip: no spa no facilities at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katugampola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review & we do regret that certain aspects of your stay with us was not to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A real oasis. Good public areas, grouped around the pool which was large but never seemed noisy. Outstanding buffet breakfast - the best selection of hoppers we found anywhere. Dinner in the fine dining restaurant was excellent - and imaginative range of local and imported cuisines and foods.
The rooms were well distributed around the extensive site, a little disappointed that the superior rooms which we stayed in (two per "villa" one above the other) were arranged in a grid so that the terraces or balconies of one looked directly across to the corresponding spaces in the next "villa". The rooms were large and well equipped but with little storage space and best advantage did not seem to have been made of the space available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hoppers at breakfast & other culinary offerings.

Thank you for having stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel...staff were very friendly and helpful , letting us check in a bit earlier as we arrived sooner than anticipated. We had a nice welcome drink and fruit bowls in the bedroom...Rooms were nice, beautiful views of the lakeside, comfortable beds, but the bathrooms were a bit dated which was a slight let down (hair dryer wiring needs a good clean as was dusty)...I think this needs to be sorted in order to call this a 5 star hotel... Overall very pleased and would definitely revisit this hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank 994Dil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are glad that you were pleased overall with our services & facilities, we also thank you for your constructive feed back.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

IT was a very good experience there. Very good rooms although there are some broken items. The lodge is very good and in the location were all tours start. There is a lot of wildlife in and around the lodge.

BUT BEWARE!!! AT AROUND EVENING, THERE WILL BE LOT OF MONKEYS IN THE LODGE!! CLOSE YOUR WINDOWS AND DON'T DARE TO STEP OUT! THEY ATTACK IN GROUPS AND ARE VERY DANGEROUS!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review & we are glad that your experience of the facilities was to your expectations.

The resort is situated in a natural habitat with many species of birds & other fauna that have made the Cinnamon Lodge their home. We have not had any instances of monkeys attacking people but they do get disturbed & tend to be noisy if they perceive aggressiveness directed at them especially when they are with young ones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Magnificent grounds give this hotel an unworldly atmosphere. Our room was in a bungalow some distance from the main hotel building - across the lake and through the gardens - which were often occupied by visiting monkeys. The hotel revolves around a large buffet style restaurant area adjacent to the pool. There's also a smaller and more private a la carte restaurant (expensive) or there's a cheaper coffee bar/veranda which serves a selection of well presented snacks. If you're staying here you are a long way from alternatives so it's good to have choice! A fabulous place to stay, our only quibble would be the extra charges and taxes that inevitably end up inflating the price that you pay - expect an extra 25% on top of the headline prices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very popular so you may struggle to get a choice of room. Book as far in advance as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location of the resort that is central & in close proximity to the heritage sites & wild life parks is a feature often commented by our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We loved several things about the property. Large lawns and wild areas on the lake. Open restaurant on nice pool. Good loungers. Wifi ok. Breakfast was good. Other meals we ordered alacarte and there were always some issues with many items unavailable and long waits for meals. Food standards seemed good. In particular we were impressed with the services of waiter Kohsun and front desk Yohan. They seemed to really care and always went out of their way and particular followed up on requested we made had been done properly. I commend both of these young men for trying to better our stay. It's always the little things! Good spot to stay for the local attractions safari and Sigiryi.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments on two members of our team has been passed on to them & they are glad that they made a difference.

Thank you for having stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,814 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#4 of 19 in Dambulla
3,816 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
77 reviews
2.8 mi away
Water Garden Sigiriya
Water Garden Sigiriya
#1 of 21 in Sigiriya
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $102 - $1,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing