We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for visiting Sigiriya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Magnificent grounds give this hotel an unworldly atmosphere. Our room was in a bungalow some distance from the main hotel building - across the lake and through the gardens - which were often occupied by visiting monkeys. The hotel revolves around a large buffet style restaurant area adjacent to the pool. There's also a smaller and more private a la carte restaurant (expensive) or there's a cheaper coffee bar/veranda which serves a selection of well presented snacks. If you're staying here you are a long way from alternatives so it's good to have choice! A fabulous place to stay, our only quibble would be the extra charges and taxes that inevitably end up inflating the price that you pay - expect an extra 25% on top of the headline prices.

Room Tip: The hotel seems very popular so you may struggle to get a choice of room. Book as far in advance as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location of the resort that is central & in close proximity to the heritage sites & wild life parks is a feature often commented by our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,509 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We loved several things about the property. Large lawns and wild areas on the lake. Open restaurant on nice pool. Good loungers. Wifi ok. Breakfast was good. Other meals we ordered alacarte and there were always some issues with many items unavailable and long waits for meals. Food standards seemed good. In particular we were impressed with the services of waiter Kohsun and front desk Yohan. They seemed to really care and always went out of their way and particular followed up on requested we made had been done properly. I commend both of these young men for trying to better our stay. It's always the little things! Good spot to stay for the local attractions safari and Sigiryi.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Muskoka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, your comments on two members of our team has been passed on to them & they are glad that they made a difference.

Thank you for having stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in Cinnamon Lodge (deluxe suite) for a night recently and the experience was good. It is a large lavish resort with a lake and lots of flora/ fauna within the resort. We took a 1 hr walk in the morning and it was tranquil. The buffet spread (dinner) was huge but was priced a bit high ($22) and the breakfast spread was equally good. Limited options for vegetarians if not opting for the buffet as the fine dine restaurant has limited options and so coffee shop remains the only place left. We did not opt for the safari jeep from the hotel as it was priced higher as expected but took it from outside the resort. The pool is large but it was not heated so slightly chilly in Dec weather. The rooms are very basic though, TV is the old 21" CRT instead of flat screen, bathroom has no tub, checkout was painful as they took ages to get our luggage out etc. It is a great base to cover Minneriya, Sigriya and Dambulla as covering them from Kandy is tedious and tiring. The resort is rated very highly on TA and we sure liked it but it is worth only if the price is right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charu_Akash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for having stayed with us & we are pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of our stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

So - our journey continued and we spent 2 nights at this hotel on our tour.
Check in was professional and fast, the room was a delight, furnished well with space and a lovely bathroom. The pool was big and the area surrounding the hotel was beautiful.
What we found staggering at this and other Cinnamon Hotels was the lack of choice of tea! In a tea growing nation it was impossible to have a cup of Earl Grey tea - my husbands tipple! The only choice of tea was Breakfast or Green!
The service was overall very good other than on our second night the restaurant service was not great!
All that said this hotel is situated in a haven of its own and worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Newkneebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review & for having stayed with us, your constructive feed back on the choice of tea is appreciated & duly noted for rectification.

We are delighted that you found the Cinnamon Lodge to be a peaceful haven & we look forward to having you with us soon again to enjoy our serene spaces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was a highlight of our trip to the Sigiriya region. The facilities are beautiful and the rooms are very good. It is well spaced out and has a very nice feel to it.

The staff are all very pleasant but service is S-L-O-W. But, it gives you a chance to relax and enjoy the stay, unless you are rushing, like we were, to a game drive in one of the nearby national parks. There was also a lack of empowerment that the staff seemed to have with best intentions being unable to solve simple guest problems.

Rooms are terrific. The grounds worth visiting almost as an attraction. Food is good. The pool is great, and we would certainly stay there again,

Room Tip: Our kids LOVED the playground and tree house on the grounds of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review & we are glad that you intend staying with us again..

Thank you for your constructive feedback which will definitely help us in serving you our guest better.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stunning hotel with fantastic service and staff. Incredible bar and pool, surprisingly delicious buffet (dinner and breakfast). We ate at the smaller "fine dining" restaurant and it was delicious and cost about $100 USD for 4 people.
The staff were sweet and checked us in very promptly. There was free wifi in the rooms which I was surprised by.
Perfect hotel and a perfect place to stay while visiting Sigriya and the surrounding locations.
I also purchased a stunning set of earrings from the jewelry store in the hotel which was an excellent buy. The little excursion shop set us up with an excellent 3 hour safari to see elephants which was truly fantastic (at only $30USD per person it was a great deal). The whole place is magical!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bezoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review & we are delighted that all aspects of your stay with us enhanced your holiday experience.

We are glad indeed that you chose to stay with us.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, but we experienced a number of service / quality issues that really need to be ironed out.

As others have said, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds. And there are lots of fairly friendly monkeys and cute chipmunks running around. The room was a good size, comfortable and well serviced, but also felt a little dark and was quite a distance from the restaurant.

Food and service in the restaurant was good but not exceptional. There is probably something for everyone’s taste but some things looked decidedly unappetising – like the plate of dried up cheese slices at dinner (they looked somewhat fresher at breakfast). The food overall didn’t feel like great value.

Our worst service experience came as a result of having no umbrella in the room. It was hammering down with rain and we needed to cross the resort to go to dinner. We called reception to ask if there was an umbrella in the room. Despite suggesting a number of places to look, there wasn’t one in the room. So the receptionist suggested we collect one from the lobby… (10 minutes walk in the open air). We asked them if they could bring one, they said they would. Nothing for 15 minutes, so we rang and asked again.

Five more minutes, still nothing, so we asked to speak to a manager, and eventually an umbrella was delivered. This kind of rain is fairly common in Sri Lanka, so we can’t have been the first guests to find ourselves in this position, but we ended up eating quite late that night.

One other issue was that crossing the resort at night is the darkness – a torch would have been handy as path lighting is limited. This became a particular issue as they had been repairing the path during the day and sections were off limits. However, the way it was marked off limits was often simply by a grey few bricks placed in the path – very easily kicked in the dark, and quite painful if you only have flip flops on I am sure…

Also don’t expect to be offered drinks if you are lounging by the pool – you’ll need to go to the bar to order. This might appeal to some as there is no pressure to buy, but at this kind of resort I would expect a pool drinks service.

Despite the imperfections it is still a good option as it is a charming setting and reasonably priced, but it could have been better if they just tweaked a few simple things.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mundii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Our sincere apologies for the service short falls & thank you for your constructive comments, it is candid feedback of this nature that help us in our quest of serving you our guest better.

Thank you for your review & we are glad that the overall stay with us was a good one.

Best wishes for 2014 from all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,520 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
548 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $62 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing