We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the first hotel as part of our honeymoon tour around Sri lanka. Great hotel, villa was great with all modern facilities. Great food with lots of choice of Sri lankan cuisine with different theme nights. Staff really helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: Villa opposite the lake has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W2B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    714
    170
    32
    21
See reviews for
637
1,161
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were really excited to come and stay at this hotel after reading the reviews. We booked a Superior Double Room and stayed for two nights, much to our regret.

When we checked in we were provided with a room with two single beds. We are informed that the hotel has 150 rooms but that only 20 of the rooms are doubles. After a 7 hour drive the last thing we wanted was debate about our room and just wanted to have what we booked. We are informed that double beds are reserved for couples on their honeymoon, other couples have to have single beds if the double rooms are already occupied. After complaining we were moved to a double room.

The air-conditioning machine in the room was broken and we asked a number of members of staff to please fix it. They were unable to fix it and the next day they offered to move us to another room, which also suffered from a broken air-conditioning machine. When we complained to our travel company the Front of House Manager, Mr Hillary, lied to our travel company and told the company that the air-conditioning machine was fixed on our first night and that the error was ours as the guests for not knowing how to use it. This is not true.

A hotel of this supposed calibre should also offer a 'turn down' service (i.e. making up the room in the evening) and for both of the nights we stayed no one attended our room to clean it in the evening. I also asked the staff to please spray the room to kill mosquitoes (because I have very bad reactions to the bites) and they did not attend on either evening. I was bitten one night whilst sleeping (there are no nets in the room) and had an adverse reaction, causing my leg to swell badly. I complained to Mr Hillary and the management and they acknowledged that the room had not been sprayed. After checking out I complained to my travel company and they spoke with the hotel and Mr Hillary lied to them and told them that the room was sprayed.

The hotel have put together a written report to address the concerns raised in our complaint and it is untrue and fraudulent.

Putting our personal troubles aside, we would still not recommend this hotel. On our first night there was a trouble with the plumbing and the bathroom smelt of blocked drains. There was no natural light in the bedroom and even during the day it was necessary to have all of the lights on in the room to see properly - far removed from the photographs shown on the website. The view which we were so excited about seeing was not over the lake of lush gardens as we had hoped but was over a road to the back of the room.

Several members of staff speak very poor English and having even a basic conversation was at times extremely tiresome. Others have no interest whatsoever in customer service. The gentlemen who dropped our bags off to our room was clearly disappointed with the amount of tip we gave him (which we thought was actually rather good) and made his annoyance rather clear. The fact that the cleaning staff ignored our request to spray our room is additional evidence in itself that some of the staff simply do not care.

The only thing which we cannot fault is the food which was very nice. We had a buffet dinner on two evenings.

Room Tip: Management inform us that out of 150 rooms only 20 of these have a double bed. It seems that booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Public Relations at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Tip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay.
We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the service of our staff and associates, did not meet your expectations.
While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Cinnamon Lodge is a great place to base yourself while visiting the sites of the cultural triangle. It's based in the small village of Habarana which has a handful of local shops but not much more. The Hotel itself is set in large grounds on the edge of a lake. The rooms are all located in the grounds, usually with 4 rooms per unit. I couldn't fault the rooms one bit. They were a lovely size, with a comfortable bed, separate seating area and vanity table and with all conveniences such as an ironing board, free WIFI, TV, and minibar. The shower room was modern with an excellent shower.

There are three eating options at the hotel, the bar which serves up typical bar snacks of wraps, burgers, salads etc (about 800rps or £4 for a burger), the main restaurant which is a large buffet style for breakfast, lunch and dinner (about £15 for dinner) and then the a la carte restaurant. The food options were wide and varied, plenty of curry and international options and although good - the standard of the food could have been a tiny bit higher.

The service throughout the hotel was exceptional and the staff always had a smile for you, some tips for what to do and see and a genuine interest in your welfare.

The hotel also has a spa on site, which is a lovely little haven in itself. It has a full range of treatments, which although a bit pricey (£30 for 1 hr massage), I can highly recommend. The treatment rooms are wonderful and the service extremely professional - from the medical form, the lovely ginger and honey teas, to the paper knickers!

If you are a birdwatcher or wildlife lover the Cinnamon Lodge is a real treat. The hotel has masses of resident monkeys (Grey Langers I think), the cutest little squirrels and plenty of monitor lizards hanging around in the sun. There are also bird watching/sunset watching spots around the lake and the variety of birds from egrets to kingfishers if fantastic.

Room Tip: We only had a standard room (RM93) which was more than adequate and I can't imagine what additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBomb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I chose this hotel as I had stayed there 17 years ago and to be honest, it was better than I remember. A wonderful welcome by the staff with a lovely cold drink and cold towels - we had got straight off the plane and visited the Pinewala Elephant Orphange, so we were tired and hot! We had a deluxe room by the lake, which was spacious and grand. Dinner was a buffet - we had a choice of that, snacks or fine dining, but we were not disappointed as there was plenty of choice and we ate our fill. There are good choices for wine and the waiter even offered to keep any remaining wine with our name on it for the next evening, should we not drink it all that night, which was a great idea. The following day was spent at Pollonaruwa and the one after at Sigiriya - this is a great location for visiting most cultural sights in the area. Our driver for the duration of our stay in Sri Lanka had been booked through Genuine Sri Lankans, so there was no issue with booking tours as Koshala did it all for us. The grounds to the hotel are fantastic and we managed a long walk around the lake area and saw lots of different birds, iguanas, monkeys, chipmunks, etc. Binoculars are a good idea here. Everywhere you look there is a gorgeous view! Check out two days later was easy and efficient...yes, this hotel is not cheap, but it is relevant to the service and standards set by the well trained staff - in other words you get what you pay for - I can highly recommend this hotel for peace and quiet in tranquil surroundings - just what you need when you have been trudging around the cultural sights in the heat!

Room Tip: I booked all our hotels for this trip with Agoda.com - research your hotels first on Trip Advisor be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annlou53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The lodge is a quality hotel that has withstood the test of time. We stayed along with a group of 10 friends. The rooms are spacious, recently redecorated and comfortable, although some of the fittings in the bathroom were past their use by date. Very tranquil setting. Staff are professional and friendly. Food is of a high standard and the buffet has a very large selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Cinnamon lodge. It is in the perfect positiom to see all the surrounding area incl sigiria, minneriya, ritigala and Polonnaruwa, all of which we enjoyed. The grounds are lovely. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well equipped and clean. Our only complaint is that the hotel was expensive for drinking and even water. Organised tours are more expensive and transfers also if you arrange through the hotel so I recommend walking up the street and organising these independently. Otherwise we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hufuf, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 nights, and I wish it was even longer. The check in was very quick and the staff were very friendly. The ''welcome drink'' was a special part of their service. The resort is an adventure in itself. We enjoyed the lake view at the sunrise and sunset. The out-door restaurant was next to the great pool which made it great for breakfast time to watch the birds and squirrels. Every dinner was special as you can enjoy the band singing. The room was spacious and facilities are great

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,492 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,592 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
46 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing