We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Cinnamon Lodge is an amazing place set in wonderful surroundings. My husband and I spent a week there and felt our stay was far too short. The food was just amazing, something there for everyone. We were lucky to have had a tour of the kitchens, which I must say were spotless and a credit to everyone who works there. The 'naughty room', as we called it, where all the desserts were displayed in a chilled atmosphere, is just out of this world, the puddings are to die for!, I became addicted to the chocolate truffles!! Compliments to Nimal and his team for producing such works of art. Indeed, compliments to all the Executive Chefs and all their staff for producing such fabulous food.
The accommodation was spotless, spacious and comfortable and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Cinnamon Lodge is ideally located for the cultural triangle.
I can't praise this place enough. We would certainly love to return to Cinnamon Lodge where we had a very special time and will certainly recommend it to all our friends.
Thank you to everyone at Cinnamon Lodge for giving us such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review & all of us at the Cinnamon Lodge wish you had stayed with us longer too. We are glad you enjoyed the culinary offerings, the tour of the kitchen & ofcourse the naughty room which is a description of our designated room for desserts by many a reviewer.

Nimal our Pastry Chef who won a silver medal for his creations at the World Culinary Olympics in Germany last year takes great pride in his sweet offerings in the naughty room, your comments have been passed on to him.

We look forward for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,606 - 1,612 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cinnamon Lodge for 3 nights at the start of our tour of Sri Lanka (March 2013).
Accomodation/outlook:
We had a "superior" room on the upper level, with double bed. The upper level room meant we had a high vaulted ceiling. We specifically asked for this in advance through our travel agent and got exactly what we wanted. The room was located not far from the swimming pool and main hotel building. The grounds are huge and we would recommend being precise about what you want and tring to request this in advance. The superior room was the entry level room type, spacious, spotless, well equipped and really confortable with a verandah front and back. It was more than adequate for our needs. No bath but good spacious shower. As we were going to spend most our time out for 3 days visiting the cultural sights it didnt seem worth getting the next level of room (de luxe)

Monkeys everywhere and exotoc birds. Great to watch. The grounds and swimming pool really well kept and tended. Beautiful outlook set in natural surroundings.

Food/restautrants

You really are confined to eating at the hotel. There is notning directly outside. We were on b and b. There is a large main restaurant, a smaller one called the verandah , a la carte and a fine dining section.

Breakfast was excellent with enormouis choice. The smaller a la carte restaurant "The verandah" was not open in the evening which was disappointing which meant that we had to eat in the large restuarant which served a buffet. This could get noisy and busy and we didnt want a buffet dinner or fine dining. This limited our choice. We could have the verandah menu served in the main restaurant which we did but the menu was a bit limited and did not include local sri lankan food/curry. Overall the the food was very good, excellent value and the service first class.We had really good lunches out when touring so this was not too much of an issue.

Staff: Superb, Very friendly and helpful.

Overall: A really lovely place to stay. Really pleased we chose this hotel

Room Tip: Entry level is "superior". Not worth upgrading to De lux if touring. Try get upper fllor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are truly glad you chose the Cinnamon Lodge for your holiday & enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment pertaining to Sri Lankan cuisine on the menu at the Verandah which has now been included.

The team of the Cinnamon Lodge thanks you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have just spent a week at Cinnamon Lodge.Wow.This is an excellent hotel set in a unique location. You can commune with nature (trees/birds/butterflies/monkeys/chipmunks/tree squirells/monitor lizards/iguanas) without leaving your hotel grounds all before breakfast. Ideally located to walk into Habarana. Don't book trips every day or you'll wish you had spent more time at the hotel enjoying the ambience. The staff were excellent our room (112) spacious and quiet with the most cheerfull and efficient roomboy we've experienced in many years of travel. The food is superb and the sweets in particular an artistic triumph.
We loved Cinnamon Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boybilly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We more than pleased by your comment that you loved your stay at the Cinnamon Lodge, we are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay.

The 138 species of birds, over 2000 trees, the monkeys & other wild life which have made the Cinnamon Lodge their home is an aspect which enhances ones holiday experience & we are glad you took the time to enjoy this rich biodiversity.

Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything you expect from a Cinnamon brand hotel. Beautiful setting, luxurious accommodation, delightful and efficient service, and a sumptuous buffet each and every day for both breakfast and dinner. The staff were unfailingly cheery, warm and efficient. It was a delight to return to the hotel after a long, hot day of sightseeing. The little touches of massage balms left on the first night there, to the cheery message in flowers in the room wishing us "Good Luck" in our travels on our last night added to the feeling of being pampered and cared for. I could not end however without remarking on what a delight it was to have encountered Eranga from our check in to our check out. She embodied the smiling hospitality of Sri Lanka.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We thank you for your review & glad that the Cinnamon brand lived up to your expectations at the Cinnamon Lodge.

We do endeavour to constantly review & include the little touches as described by you to enhance the experience of you our guest, thank you for highlighting this in your review.

We look forward to your return when you visit this part of Sri Lanka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge for a couple of nights during our visit to Sri Lanka. It is a great place with excellent food, good rooms and a great ambience. The service is great as well. The well maintained grounds with lush greenery lead to wonderful natural lake. There are plenty of birds, butteflies, monkeys and squirrels.. if you are lucky, you might have monkeys or a giant squirrel drop by to share your meal.

Habarana is in the fringes of forests and there are plenty of elephants around. An elephant ride is a great expereince..especially for kids.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review & Thank you for staying with us

We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Cinnamon Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent three nights at Cinnamon Lodge at the start of our holiday in Sri Lanka and think it definitely deserves a 5* rating. The grounds are beautiful - really spacious and well laid out. The lake, birds, butterflies and troupes of monkeys are all a bonus! Lovely big pool.
Our (superior deluxe) room was large and super-comfortable - great bed, shower, lovely and plentiful toileteries. It felt really private and overlooked the lake which we enjoyed. Having a sun-downer on the balcony was a treat!
The staff are really friendly, helpful and professional. We felt very well looked -after from the moment we arrived and were met with a cool drink and cold flannel to freshen up with.
The hotel is very well placed as a base for visiting sites in the Cultural Triangle and it was a cool and peaceful oasis to come home to at the end of the day.
The breakfasts were excellent - huge range of food to choose from, all super-fresh, masses of fruit and lots of Sri Lankan options. We ate in the a la carte one evening and one of the dishes was incomplete - really impressed that when we commented about this on our feedback form (filled in during breakfast on the last morning) - before we left a manager came and apologised for the omission and told us he already knew about it! That's what I call customer service and attention to detail.
A highlight was an hour's boat trip on the Lake at the end of the afternoon when the bird-life was spectacular. We also enjoyed walking on the lake-side path in the early morning.
All-in-all highly recommended - Cinnamon Lodge is a really special place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwdebbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

All of us, the team of the Cinnamon Lodge thanks you for staying us, we are truly glad that the food, service, nature & serenity of our resort left a positive impression in your mind.

We thank you for your review & look forward to your return when you visit our part of the world the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Perfect setting
Nice lake full of birds
Lovely garden full of colourful butterfly
Attentive staff
Good food
Pleasant accommodation set up in a peaceful garden
Good guidance for excursions fron natyre trail office
That was a pecfect mix for 4 days break

Room Tip: Do not hesitate and stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We are truly glad you enjoyed the offerings of the Cinnamon Lodge, the tranquil spaces, bird life & nature that we are privileged to be guardians of is in our opinion the very soul of the resort, we are pleased that this enhanced your holiday experience with us.

Thank you for your review & Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,532 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,664 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $57 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing