We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

You won't be disappointed. We were there in Aug. 2012 when the lake was empty, but still had a great experience here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole place had a sense of being relaxed and chilled whilst still being efficiently run. Food was surprisingly superb (I say surprising as the reviews here suggested otherwise and let's face it, it's a buffet). It turns out that a buffet is a great chance to taste things you might not normally order. Enough said about the chilled desert room already here. Good location to visit all the sites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for the appreciative review on Cinnamon Lodge Habarana. Your comments on the Food and the staff will be conveyed to our dedicated team.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,521 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff, grounds, room and food were all amazingly good. We were treated like princesses. The staff were very attentive but discreet. The Room was huge. We had 2 double beds. Bathroom immaculate. The food was resonably priced and delicious. The swimming pool was just gorgeous. Really good location. Felt so comforable and at home. The grounds were lovely to walk around.Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your encouraging review. We're glad that you were “Treated like a Princess” during your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you soon at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Definitely the best hotel we stayed in on our Sri Lankan trip, and also in the best area for the cultural triangle. The hotel is in a vast area next to Habarana lake with plenty of wildlife in the grounds. Very helpful staff and the ubiquitous Sri Lankan Buffet Dinner was excellent with plenty of choice and, once you learn the ropes, additional dishes cooked to order. We had a problem with our room on the second night and within 30 minutes we were in a new room! The usual Sri Lankan problem of lack of maintenance showed up in the rusty, stiff, un-oiled bicycles.

The only down side was the unbelieveably bad music played badly and loudly by local entertainers, every night in the restaurant. Oh for a bit of peace and quiet to enjoy the fantastic peaceful surroundings!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that Cinnamon Lodge Habarana was “Definitely the Best” during your stay in Sri Lanka. We look forward to having you with us when you visit Sri Lanka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a hotel that we booked online for 2 nights, as we were visiting the Cultural Triangle. The rooms were average, and on the small side - watch out for the bathroom/ensuite doors, which are impossible to keep open (or for little children to open in the first place).

Food at the main restaurant was OK - breakfast was plentiful, but dinner was very average. Service was very poor - had to look around & wave, hoping to catch the eye of a waiter if you wanted wanted something to drink, or a napkin.

We went to the Lotus Restaurant on our second night & it was a disappointing experience, especially as it is meant to be 'fine dining', but was a bit like going out to a local 'wannabe' restaurant at home. The lobster was clearly not fresh but defrosted, watery and bland. My Thai curry was the best meal out of 3 mains. Felt sorry for the waiter, who had to fetch drinks from the distant bar (on the other side of the large pool), and had difficulty understanding English.

We also had difficulty bookings in the spa, which appears to be out of the grounds of the hotel, with 1 contact person that you had to virtually 'hunt down' via reception.

Redeeming factors - the pool was the highlight of our stay, especially as it had a big shallow part for children, and the grounds are stunning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical although upstairs rooms seem to have better layout. There is nowhere to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Cinnamon Lodge Habarana. Measures would be taken for improvements on the aspects highlighted.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to our Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Previous comments say it all. Great lodges detached from main Hotel. We expected lakeside at adj hotel, and company had moved us here. But weren't provided with this, so had some aggro on arrival.
Having looked at hotel adjacent, we should have paid the extra for Cinnamon anyway.
If there's an event on - we were there Christmas eve - Lodges near Hotel are not sound proofed, so noisy.

Room Tip: If you want to see more wildlife ask for near water - but if you're there just one or two nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiffsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us.
The Christmas Eve Gala dinner was held at the “Ehela” Restaurant which is centrally located and convenient. We took responsible measures to minimalize the disturbance throughout the festive season.
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana awaits your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed as a family of four over the New Year period. The rooms are of a good standard and the service is good. We ate both a la carte and at the buffet. The hotel put on a good gala dinner and entertainment. The grounds and pool are clean and well kept. The kids loved the monkeys, lizards and birdlife which are abundant around the hotel. The central location makes this a great base for the cultural triangle althought we felt that the room rates the hotel charge for the new year period were astronomical compared to other periods of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuelJames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for the review on your stay over New Year’s Eve at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana. We are indeed privileged to have a great and a central location.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Amazing hotel, great food and service.. we stayed 2 nights here visiting here from NYC during our holiday in Sri Lanka. Very pleasant hotel, fantastic staff and great food.
They have a very good buffet dinner with many options and same with breakfirst. their sri lankan cuisne is very tasty.

Rooms are very clean, well kept and spacious.. Definitely would stay here when i visit habarana again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nycnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana. We are pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again. Your comments on Food and Service will be shared with our enthusiastic team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,734 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,694 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,670 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $58 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing