We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas - at a price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent six nights here taking in the Christmas Eve dinner which was a spectacular evening all round although being a Brit they don't quite manage the Turkey and trimmings - so eat like the locals and you will not be disappointed. We did find that being tourists we were charged THREE times the local rate for the same event which we found frustrating. We made this point to hotel staff but suppose we must get used to it, seems to be par for the course in Sri Lanka in both hotels and at Tourist sites. I hope they don't price themselves out of the market.

Our deluxe room was overlooking the lake, as requested, and was a bit tired. Although spacious it had most of the 'bits' but as another contributor mentioned, slippers would have been a nice touch. Room was dusty on arrival but this was quickly addressed. We found all the staff helpful and attentive, room service for a late supper after a long day out was quickly served and was delicious.

The site is large and rustic and you are close to wildlife - monkeys, birds and squirrels. There was a great deal of rain and lake was flooded during our stay - it became quite exciting watching the water level rise and fall. Umbrellas provided but we just accepted that our feet would be wet walking in to supper in the evening.

We enjoyed a good meal in the a la carte restaurant. This could do with being advertised more with the menu on display.

The pool looked inviting but we must try that next time - it was too wet for us!

Room Tip: Lake view is good and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annakintoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us your thoughts regarding your recent experience at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana and we are pleased that you had a wonderful Christmas Eve. We appreciate your constructive feedback, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,640 - 1,646 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

Habarana is a great base to travel around the cultural triangle area (mainly Sigiriya and Polonnawura). Nice colonila style and beatiful grounds. Bedrooms ara huge and well decorated. Swimming poll area amazing and we were very surprised by the quality of the food!!
We have half board included and we found the choice and the quality of the buffet amazing!! We stayed for two nights, one being Christmas's eve and they organized a very funny party, including Santa arriving in elephant!! My niece was so happy!! and we were too.

Worth a stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Begoaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

While our experience was perhaps colored by higher pricing and stretched staff given the peak season, this hotel was disappointing.

The floor on arrival was dirty and it took several hours and calls to have it cleaned (after 2 hours and 3 calls we cleaned it ourselves).

The lodge style means the rooms are spread out, which gives privacy but also means a long walk through the rain to the restaurants and reception. Furthermore, these paths flood when it rains heavily. Again this was during the rainy season and it is a lodge, but it's worth noting. For the right traveler, the lake, rustic paths, and monkeys on the balconies will be appreciated.

Also worth noting that the travel centre seemed particularly expensive compared to previous hotels (including cinnamon citadel) and other providers in the area (the price rose around 50% from one day to the next), but again this may be due to peak season

Overall, this hotel offers a good base for sightseeing with reasonable but dated rooms and good buffets. The service staff were clearly stretched (eg. on arrival our room wasn't clean and on departure a mistake was made with our bill so we were overcharged by 60% - both corrected afterwards on our request) but there were good interactions (a decorative arrangement of flowers and leaves on our last day was a lovely touch) and perhaps this gets better in non-peak times.

Overall this seemed like a better place for families rather than couples and for eco-inspired travelers rather those looking for creature comforts (cleanliness and convenience).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banana_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback. The weather has been against us during your stay at the resort and it may have impacted your vacation. With reference to the Travel Centre our prices are fixed as such will not vary from day to day. The prices of excursions at the other hotel you have mentioned will be different since the excursions are location based & and clearly different as such a price comparison is not applicable. Further price of other providers in the area being cheaper is due to the fact that Insurance, Safety and Qualitative aspects may not apply to those sources. Thank you once more for your comments which we have taken note for corrective action where possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

At first sight the hotel looked lovely. Big grounds, colonial style. It went downhill thereafter. Our room was small, dark, in need of refurbishment, had a hard uncomfy bed and worst of all the whole room smelt damp and musty. The walls outside the room had not been swept and it felt unloved and unkempt. The pool area was nice and the grounds lovely. We couldn't sit at a nice table for dinner as there was a big party of Americans who we felt were regarded as more important than us who had been allocated or commandeered the good tables. Interestingly they mostly remained vacant for the evening. The food, buffet style was very good. The service varied. Excellent to hopeless. There were lots of trainees, all very sweet, but this was supposed to be a 5 star hotel. We had 6 boys trying to uncork our wine with us directing, not what one expects... When we checked out we were behind the Americans and barely got a thank you. We will not be back and would not recommend on the grounds of stinky room and the indifference/ second class status as their guests.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pjh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Aspects highlighted by you have been investigated in detail. We regret that some elements of your stay with us were not to your satisfaction. Your positive comment on our food has also been noted.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Ghazzali Mohideen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in a superior room at this wonderful hotel. We arrived late in the day and we were greeted by the most friendliest of people who smiled all the time. We were quickly taken to our room which was spacious but basic with an excellent large bathroom and shower but the water pressure was a let down. Dinner that night was wonderful. We sat on the verandah overlooking the wonderful pool and listened to laughing children and their families as they swam in the dark surrounded by Christmas lights hung in the trees. Although it was often raining it was not a problem as all rooms had umbrellas and the warmth made everything dry quickly. The highlight of our stay was Christmas Eve dinner when we could eat food from every continent. All hot and freshly prepared to our personal taste. The desserts cold room was fit for the gods and we kept popping back to cool down and try something else. Santa arrived on an elephant and
we all dashed out to see him and his elves. I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful Christmas experience and a marvellous hotel to use as a base for your tour of the region.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us especially considering the fact that your Christmas Eve was up to your heart’s content though being celebrated away from home. Our dessert room has always been a favorite amongst our guests and your comments will be conveyed to the dedicated team behind it. We hope to have the privilege and pleasure of welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas. The grounds and setting of the hotel are just beautiful...lakes, hugs trees lots of animals (monkeys, squirrels, mongoose...). The lobby,pool and restaurant are also very nice. The rooms are pretty basic, but nice. Ours had an older TV and didn't have some basics like slippers/robes...that one is used to having. But it was adequate. The breakfast buffet was simply great, lots of options and everything very good.
We were there for the CHristmas Eve dinner and that was varied and good.
The staff all spoke decent English.

Some cons:
When we arrived, there was a huge cockroach in the bathroom and lots of debris from outside (there is only a net on the window), so even though the room had been cleaned, it should be freshened up before guests arrive. Also, we had a triple, but the extra bed only had a sheet, no comforter (it took 3 calls before they brought us one). We only had 2 glasses...basically, they simply threw a foldaway bed and called it a triple.
On one night we were out of hot water for 2 hours. The workers turned the boiler on and told us to wait 20 mins...then 30...finally, we demanded to shower somewhere else and had to walk 9in the torrential rain) to another room. In the meantime we had missed dinner, so they gave us free room service (appreciated).
Those are the reasons why I'm not giving it a 5. Otherwise, we had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We used the Cinnamon Lodge for 3 nights as our base whilst visiting the Cultural Triangle. The hotel has a lovely location by a lake, wildlife surrounds you, and the resident monkeys and chipmunks provide excellent entertainment. We stayed in the superior rooms, which were very spacious and well maintained by great room staff. We were on half board, which was buffet breakfast and buffet evening meal. The choice and standard was food fantastic, especially the 'cold room' ,which is a dessertaholics dream! The hotel grows and rears a lot of organic food and cattle, the organic curd was the best we had on our travels. The pool is a lovely and an excellent way to end the day after all the travelling and climbing! Staff were very attentive and cheerful, all of whom said they loved working here.......we loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,682 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 16 in Dambulla
3,638 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
62 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $53 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing