We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

It would be nitpicking in the extreme to find anything wrong with the Cinnamon Lodge. It is virtually perfect and one of the best hotels in Sri Lanka. The Superior lodges have everything you would expect (Free WiFi, sat TV, ironing board, robes etc.) plus much you would not (real flowers, umbrella, DVD player with full sound system, perfumed candles, aroma therapy oil etc.) they even provide a box of matches for the perfumed candles. Most hotels have free mini bottles of shampoo. The Lodge gives you over a dozen bathroom items, even a personal loofah! Don't like the pillows? Call for the pillow menu and choose the kind you like.

Food is buffet, but very nice quality. Mongoose, squirrel and monkeys wander near the open air (covered) restaurant as you eat. The squirrels and mongoose will eat from your hand, although the staff disapprove of this. The squirrels steal paper tubes of sugar from the tables and run up the trees. If you are lucky you will see someone get showered in sugar.

There is an old fellow who will paddle you around the lake for about 20 dollars US. Go at 06:00 am for the best experience. Mist and water lilies and mysterious looking trees. Lots of amazing bird life. Peacocks flying, sea eagles, king fishers and more. A really wonderful experience, even if you are not in to ornithology. You might also see elephant and crocodile if you are lucky.

The employees are fantastic, but please treat them like humans. So sad to see western tourists sticking their noses in the air and treating them like dirt. A kind word, a smile and a couple of dollars now and then and they will treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: Get a room near the lake.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ubnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,440)
There are newer reviews for Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2012

Lovely hotel, all rooms in gardens mostly 2 stoeies, none higher. Food all buffet but really good. Lovely puddings in an a/c room!! Large pool. Great bird watching in the gardens and around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Beautiful clean rooms with all the modern conveniences, and attention to detail, from the natural products in the bathrooms to the kind daily wishes (made with petals) left by the room staff.

Although the meals were buffet style, they were delicious with enough variety to please all; as well the station chefs would accommodate/customize your culinary wishes.

Amidst beautiful natural surroundings that are close to exploring the architectural/historical sites. A must stay in the north!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonderfulworld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

used the hotel as a base for 3 nights to tour the Cultural Triangle. it is large and caters for groups but the layout of the hotel is good and the staff are very helpful. we normally hate buffets but the one here was excellent with lots of cooking stations providing a wide variety of freshly cooked dishes. the grounds are extensive and private with lots of monkeys & squirrels. make sure you allow plenty of rest time at the hotel to take advantage of the brilliant pool

Room Tip: splash out on one of the lakeside villas
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorthiesHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge for 14 nights. This was unusual as most visitors are there for 2-4 nights on their tour of Sri Lanka.

Our decision proved to be a good one, we had time to both enjoy the marvellous local sites and also take advantage of the hotel's own extensive gardens and facilities.

The hotel is managed by the wonderful Mr Marlon. Despite dealing with around 270 guests every night there is a family-run feeling in the hotel. We were privileged to be asked to take part in the Independence Day ceremony on 4 February with the staff.

No complaints about the food, half board is more than enough for most people! Try and avoid meal times for the large groups when queues for the personally cooked dishes and the pudding room can build up.

All in all a wonderful two weeks. If we had any niggles, it would have been the lack of space in the bedroom cupboard to hang long clothes and being charged for bottled water at meals, but these are minor inconveniences.

If you have time to explore outside then ask for Mohan Raj at the art hut opposite the main entrance to the hotel. An independent guide with a wide-ranging knowledge of local birds and wildlife. Ask him to take you on a dawn boat ride, magical is the only word to describe it.

If you lack the time, just enjoy the hotel grounds. Huge water monitors, turtles, waterfowl, every conceivable egret, mongooses, chipmunks, giant squirrels, paradise flycatchers, many different herons, grey languors etc, etc. Be wary of the macaques, they aren't known to actually bite but will stand their ground when challenges and bare their teeth at you!

Please feel free to contact us for any other info which may be of use.

Room Tip: Try for one of the cottages - no neighbours!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Thank you for your review on Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, it is a pleasure to find that you explored the resort and its 27 acres of lush greenery. The resort personifies five star luxury and invites guests to enjoy its surroundings after a busy day of sightseeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Wonderful hotel. The accommodation is set in acres and acres of beautiful land in colonial type bungalows. Lovely lake area. Wonderful pool and surrounding area. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The wild life all around makes the places interesting and fascinating to all europeans like ourselves. Monkeys, squirrels etc all over the place. Great fun

Room Tip: All the rooms are away from the main hotel area ie., swimming pool, dining room so all the rooms are...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DARINABEESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge at the end of January, This was our first trip "long haul", and were therefore incredibly nervous and worried about what to expect.

The minute we arrives at Cinnamon Lodge our concerns were laid to rest. In the middle of an amazing setting the hotel is right next to a lake and hidden in lots of trees. Our Duluxe villa was exactly that - spacious with a balcony, huge bathroom and the biggest bed you have ever seen! And clean!

We stayed Full board and the food was simply amazing. Yes it was a buffet, but still some of the best food ever. Fresh fruit and locally made yoghurts for breakfast, alongside cooked breakfast, pastries and curries, A huge selection for lunch and evening meals. I think i have very high standards when it comes to food, but I cannot fault it here.

With every meal came another animal experience - some days we shared our meal with a chipmunk, others with a squirrel or two, Every so often a mongoose popped and monkeys were everywhere.

The staff were what really made this hotel special. Truely lovely. Yes, it helped to tip them, but hey, where doesnt it help to tip?? But, we never felt like the staff were were waiting to be tipped - they were helpful either way.

I have seen on some of the reviews that people complained it was dark. The hotel is in the middle of the jungle.... what did you expect??? And yes, it is a fair trek from the airport, but it is incredibly worth it. With Sigiryia and Dambulla less than an hour away, and elephant safaris and rides just round the corner, this is worth the trip.

I truely fell in love with Sri Lanka and Cinnamon Lodge played a huge role in this.

Without doubt i will be returning to Cinnamon Lodge,

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaS828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 15 in Dambulla
3,592 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,659 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#2 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,604 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
57 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#8 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: $59 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing