We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galkadawala Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The owners made a great effort of combining luxury and comfort with nature and recycling. Food is excellent (900 per meal per person) and served at your own house.
Beds are great and with the clamboo there is no discomfort from the fact that there are almost no walls...:-)
The view from the top terrace, where you can sleep if you want, is amazing and very peacefull. We skipped Annaradapura, just to stay another day here.

You live in the nature, albeit with enough comfort, what more do you want.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonasdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    19
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
victoria BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This eco lodge and its owner Maulie were the highlight of our 3 week trip to Sri Lanka. Maulie's vision of sustainable tourism was an inspiration to us. Galkadawala is built entirely of re-cycled material, and embraces the jungle setting with open-air rooms and viewing deck. The property is an oasis of peace and tranquility, wonderful meals and delightful, lovely staff. Our sunrise and sunset walks, accompanied by Brownie the rescue dog and her companion, along the embankment of the tank (reservoir) were magical. We were befriended by some of the villagers who offered us tea when we needed a rest and met the milkman delivering milk on his bike. We also met a wonderful young man building his house and a farmer's family who showed us their elephant platform used to spot elephants raiding the crops. The numerous birds, butterflies and wildlife added to our experience. Galdadawala is an excellent location very near the cultural triangle and elephant rich Minneriya reserve. Sigiriya, Polannaruwa and Ritigala Forest sancturary are also nearby and well worth visiting. Go and experience monkeys swinging off your balcony and be utterly charmed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

this is the best eco-lodge I stayed during my visit. felt like a part of the nature with birds flying through the place. mosquitoes were the only problem

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melburn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This tree-house designed eco lodge is a real ‘back to nature’ experience, off the beaten track 4.5km down a quiet, partially metalled lane. The house is open plan with no glass in the windows or balcony making the most of any breeze. Just a 2-minute walk away you can view the local wildlife at the ‘tank’ (reservoir), which the house backs onto. The best times for seeing the wildlife are sunrise and sunset. I have to admit, when we arrived I wasn’t comfortable with the tree frogs sharing our room but they are harmless and by the end of our stay, I was leaving bowls of water out for them!
Half board (vegetarian) is available and worth doing. The service was homely, welcoming and attentive.
If you’re here at the end of the dry season, Minneriya is nearby and well worth doing a safari to see the wild elephants, birds, monkeys etc coming down to the water to drink and wash. We were really pleased Red Dot Tours suggested building this into our itinerary. Galkadalwala Lodge is also well situated to visit other places of interest in the Cultural Triangle such as Sigiriya Rock fortress, Polnnaruwa and Ritigala Forest sanctuary. George, our driver, also took us to a local spa where we had a traditional herbal massage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Galkadawala is a beautiful, peaceful eco hotel hidden away in a small village far from the usual tourist spots. From the construction of the lodge to the fresh glass of juice in the morning everything was very well thought out and served with love and pride. The staff were extremely polite and caring of us and of the environment. The vegetarian based food was absolutely delicious and you could tell that a lot of time was taken over every dish. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and we loved being able to hear nature all around us even at night - the monkeys swinging from the branches and elephants trumpeting near the tank. It was great to be able to go for walks around the tank and explore for ourselves the surrounding area. An absolutely amazing experience, that we were very sad to leave when it was all over.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at Galkadawala for one week and made trips to the surrounding ancient sites either by bus, by taxi or by rented motor bike. We enjoyed the surrounding nature and all the birds immensly, one can feel very close to the nature because the structure of the house is so open. After long hot days in the cultural triangle we enjoyed swimming in the nearby lake. The owner Maulie, who has built this house in a very creative and innovative way using wood, recycled materials and clay, gave us lots of information about Sri Lank culture. She has created a place with a very personal and unique atmosphere, the we ca highly recommend. Also the food, which was cooked on clay ovens, was very delicious - best place we found in 4 weeks in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our stay at this rustic forest lodge was one of our best travelling experiences so far. The food was more than wonderful, we loved what the cook Fernando made for us. The service was also great, they showed us the nice spots in the neighbourhood and organised transport to visit the Cultural Triangle. Manager Maulie was not around, but always available for questions and suggestions. The room is open air, you can suck in all the small sounds of the birds, monkeys and the occasional elephant. Really exciting.

We will definitely return! and recommend this lodge to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annegraumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
3.9 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
12.3 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Other Corner
The Other Corner
#1 of 49 in Habarana
330 reviews
4.0 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galkadawala Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galkadawala Forest Lodge

Property: Galkadawala Forest Lodge
Address: Galkadawala | Palugaswewa, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquility that surrounds Galkadawala Forest Lodge is an ideal setting to experience Ayurveda Therapy in a traditionally authentic way. Mahinda, the owner of Athreya Ayurveda Spa in Habarana would be present with staff for daily consultation and treatment for resident guests only at Galkadawala Forest Lodge. This is our new venture to have special Ayurveda programmes for 7, 14, and 21 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Galkadawala Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing